We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It was a lovely place to end our month-long trip to Tuscany and Umbria”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Agriturismo Podere San Lorenzo
Ranked #11 of 100 Speciality Lodging in Volterra
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, D.C.
Level Contributor
288 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“It was a lovely place to end our month-long trip to Tuscany and Umbria”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

We rented one of Podere San Lorenzo's small apartment for four nights. We enjoyed the beautiful grounds and the spectacular Tuscan landscape from our terrace. It had turned hot by the time we arrived in early June and the pool was very welcome. The pool is a unique combination of conventional swimming pool and natural pond.
The high point of our stay was the cooking class. Marinella is a wonderful teacher and we will bring back some great recipes to share with our friends.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sptravelers5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    21
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
34
81
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

Shame on us for not posting this review before hand so many others can see it! We stayed at San Lorenzo in October 2013 -we had the most wonderful time! then we came back to reality our life in the States, without a moment to breathe and forgot about the happiness we had there. One day we found some of the Agriturismo's olive oil that we put away on the shelf. we tasted it and were instantly transported back to happier times -a week spent
with the marvelous Marinella and her staff. We took cooking lessons, are fabulous dinners and were so relaxed that we were crying when we left... literally crying. It was like leaving a family -they were wonderful. the grounds are so beautiful and we even were able to partake in the olive harvest.
Anytime room you get will be fine because the place is so magnificent. Do make the attempt to take the cooking class. I am a fairly good cook but in that two hour course, where we got the actual recipe book to take home, I learned more than you can ever imagine. I learned things that I still practice today. We took the book home and duplicated most of the recipes and they actually came out exactly like they did in the class. We feel that whenever we are in Italy we must stop by to say hello- even if it's just to stay one night to taste the wonderful food there, take in the fresh air and give a big hug to Marinella and her wonderful staff. Thank you for giving us such a wonderful vacation while we were there.
....we miss you all so
much. Don't forget to buy the olive oil -it's the best you've ever tasted in your life!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank divadouble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zell am See
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

First the owner, an older lady, is very nice and endevaoured.

The facility is very nice, especially the pool. We just got a very small room, with a tiny (and not so clean) bathroom without window. At the breakfast there was no ham, prosciutto or some other meat and no cheese at all and no fruits.

Maybe if we had a bigger room, it would have been better, but so I can't give more than three stars.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank kini86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

This agriturismo is great. There is no need to repeat the same details of how fantastic is everything, over and over, review after review. I can add that it would also be a good choice for the summer, because the location and the set-up would not allow your room to get too hot. The rooms were so cool, that in fact we were a bit cold in the spring. But, that is not a bad thing.
Don't think about this one too much, book it unless you are looking for luxurious accommodation; this is an agriturismo afterall.

Room Tip: We had the stand-alone apartment. Perhaps ask for it, if you would like extra privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mirage159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We visited agriturismo Podere San Lorenzo for one week in May with our son (14 months old). San Lorenzo is pretty easy to reach but we arrived during the Mille Miglia and had to step on the gas to get out of the way of beautiful speeding cars. Great welcome! The course would take us into the direction of Volterra where the drivers had their lunch. San Lorenzo is a turn right down a steep slope of approximately 300 meters. Although quite impressive at first site, very easy to decent and climb because the road is asphalted and there's hardly any other traffic. San Lorenzo's location is breathtaking… pictures hardly do it justice. There are two very convenient parking areas with plenty of room for guests. We never had an issue parking our car. The area is surrounded with olive trees, a beautiful garden and pond/swimming pool overlooking the Tuscany landscape. A 360 degrees painting would be the best way to describe it!

San Lorenzo is run by Marinella and her husband who takes great care of the garden and a very friendly staff; Gabriel, Simona, the gardener and cleaning lady. Very nice people that make a great team. They made us feel at home and relaxed.

Volterra and San Gimignano are nice to visit, as are the other small villages in the direct area. Be sure to also visit the Chianti area and the coastline. The Tuscany cities are easy to travel if you don't mind a short drive.

Breakfast was great with fresh local ham, cheese and marmalade. And eggs if you like an English/continental style breakfast. We also joined dinner every night in the old chapel where Marinella prepared a surprise menu with local delicacies. Highly recommended! Our baby phone worked in the Chappell :) Our son normally sleeps in at 7.30 – 8.00 pm so he struggled with the late Italian dinner. I prepared pasta in the kitchen of our apartment for our son, so we could enjoy dinner later that evening while he was asleep.

Our apartment (nr. 5) was spacious and clean with a private sitting area overlooking the Tuscany landscape. The kitchenette had everything we needed. The shower was as good as any other 3/4 star Italian hotels we've stayed. Towels we're changed every three days and the apartment cleaned weekly. You have to realize that San Lorenzo isn't a four star city hotel but a country house in the middle of nature.

This was one of the best locations we’ve stayed in Italy. What we’ll remember is the kindness of its owners and staff and for their enthusiasm towards our son.

Tips:
Stay of the main roads there's so much more to see.
Park your car at P1 at the entrance of Volterra.
Park your car at P3/P4 in San Gimignano. Just follow the signs.
Hold left on your way into Volterra and follow the COOP signs for a large supermarket.
Visit Bolgheri with its typical Tuscany roads and taste the local rose wine!
Follow the walking signs 500 meters up from San Lorenzo for a nice walk.
Try the olive oil with some bread from San Lorenzo's own olive trees, delicious!

Room Tip: Nr. 1 and 5 have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PaulAndKitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

This basic accommodation is set in a stunning location. Views from the patio are simply gorgeous. We had apartment 3. It was clean but rather small. Some basic items like salt, pepper, olive oil, etc., would have been nice for those of us who like to cook a meal or two in the apartment. However, all you have to do is ask and they will give you what you need, even coffee filters! Marianella is knowledgeable, pleasant and helpful, even driving us to and from town one night to celebrate a birthday. Her staff are friendly and hard-working. The only drawback to our stay there was a very noisy family with two young children who moved into the apartment above us for our last two days. The peaceful location was shattered by the sound of shrill crying and constantly scraping chairs. Since their outdoor balcony was just above our patio, this meant the end of our quiet morning coffees and glasses of wine at dusk. This was just our bad luck and no reflection on the quality of the place.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank DeeCee66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corvallis, Oregon
Level Contributor
55 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

It is hard to capture how beautiful this place is in a photo. It is set well off of the main road so that you have beautiful views in every direction. We loved to wander around the property and on the quiet roads past neighboring houses. We even went on a beautiful run over towards the flat mountain that you see from the back of the house. We stayed in Apartment #1, which was perfect. I loved looking out the window every morning from bed hearing the birds sing and looking out over the neighboring hills. The apartments are basic, but very clean and so perfectly charming.

We showed up late the night we arrived, too tired to go out for dinner and we just wanted to sit in our room and relax. Marinella brought us a bottle of wine and fruit to go with the sandwiches we had brought and it made for the perfect first evening! Thank you, Marinella!

Room Tip: We stayed in apartment #1 and loved it. I didn't see any other rooms, but I'm sure they are...
See more room tips
Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ToddyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Volterra hotels
3.7 mi away
Agrihotel Il Palagetto
Agrihotel Il Palagetto
#4 of 24 in Volterra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
4.1 mi away
Fattoria Lischeto
Fattoria Lischeto
#7 of 24 in Volterra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Foresteria Volterra
Hotel Foresteria Volterra
#10 of 24 in Volterra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Etruria
Hotel Etruria
#1 of 24 in Volterra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
1.5 mi away
Park Hotel le Fonti
Park Hotel le Fonti
#6 of 24 in Volterra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
6.7 mi away
Diacceroni
Diacceroni
#1 of 100 in Volterra
5.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agriturismo Podere San Lorenzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo Podere San Lorenzo

Property: Agriturismo Podere San Lorenzo
Address: Via Degli Allori 80 | Strada, 56048, Volterra, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Volterra
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 100 Speciality Lodging in Volterra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Agriturismo Podere San Lorenzo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agriturismo Podere San Lorenzo Hotel Volterra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing