We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just as great the second time around” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Le Ginepraie

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Volterra
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Villa Le Ginepraie
Certificate of Excellence
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Just as great the second time around”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

This was our second time visiting with Paola and Valerio. Since our last visit, they have welcomed a darling little girl named Viola. Both visits have been outstanding. The location is a perfect base for sightseeing if you have a car. There is plenty of room for parking the car at the Villa and it is a flat parking area as opposed to being perched on the side of hill praying that the emergency brake will hold as was our experience in some other areas. The paved roads around the villa are good but Americans used to driving larger cars would be well advised to rent smaller European models as the roads are hilly and winding and can narrow. You do have to drive a short distance into one of the nearby towns if you want a restaurant or grocery store but the views are so stunning, breath taking, and magnificent that this is a plus. You will feel like you are driving in a movie scene. In fact driving and just viewing the country side was a major pleasure during both trips. We would bring fruit, bottled water, Italian chocolate, and fresh homemade bread from one of many of the farmer's markets and stop by the side of the road to snack as we admired the bright red poppies and newly emerging grapevines. Traffic around the immediate vicinity of the villa is very light. Volterra, Florence, Siena, San Gimignano, Luca, Pisa, Monteriggioni are just a few of the interesting places in reasonable driving distance. This area just outside of Volterra is too far for the tour ship crowd to visit so it is particularly quiet and peaceful compared to some of the interesting historical sites that have more tourists than Italians. Be aware of the tour ship schedules and organize your side trips around when the tourists are returning to their ships if you want to avoid crowds. If you are history buffs like we are, you will be very impressed with the wealth of opportunity to explore Etruscan, Roman, and medieval sites.

Our hosts welcomed us back and made us feel like friends returning.They are always very helpful when you need them and yet very careful not to invade your privacy. Don't hesitate to ask their advice as they are very knowledgeable about the area and delight in pleasing their guests. We love their Sunflower suite. In the mornings, you can make your own Italian breakfasts in your private kitchen and watch the sun come up between the Italian cypress trees. During the day, you can go to the markets and bring back the ingredients to make a feast of fresh pasta, olives, and antipasto as the sun sets on the gorgeous Tuscan hills . For an even closer view, take advantage of picnicking on the wooden table at the back of the villa.

Even though the villa dates from the 17th century, the apartments are remodeled with all the luxuries of a modern day home. The bathroom and shower are first class and spacious. Plenty of hot water is available and the kitchen is well stocked with the normal items needed to cook and feed a family. Our apartment was spotless and in immaculate shape on both visits. We like having all of the historical atmosphere without having to sacrifice comfort.

On our first trip, we accidentally scheduled this as our last stay before departing back to the states. This time, we scheduled it last on purpose because we remembered the peaceful, quiet relaxed experience that let us return to our Iowa home feeling refreshed rather than drained. After our stay at Villa Le Ginepraie, we again returned rested and relaxed. As senior citizens who like to travel, we have had the opportunity to stay in many settings. This is our all time favorite. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pierglass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
58
27
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Concord, NC
Level Contributor
64 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

There's a very good reason that there are no reviews of this place less than "Very Good" - everything about it is perfect. I'm not sure i can say anything that hasn't already been said, but i would echo all of the comments about the natural beauty, the impeccable hospitality of Valerio and Paola, the amenities of the villa, etc. Our family stayed in the Alabaster Apartment along with the connecting Green Room and had a wonderful stay. From the moment we met the hosts, we felt like family house guests. They are so welcoming and accommodating of every request. The location is amazing, as we were able to day trip to Siena, San Gimignano, Volterra, Lucca and many other beautiful cities, and still come home to the peace and quiet of Le Genepraie and its amazing sunsets. We took an early morning yoga class with Valerio and made pasta and pesto with Paola, biked the hills and walked the fields. We were sad to leave, and felt like we were saying goodbye to family. We find ourselves wishing we were back at the Villa and look forward to the day when we can return.

Room Tip: The Alabaster and Green rooms are connected and perfect for a family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yadkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

We've just come back from a glorious week spent with friends at Villa Le Ginepraie. The hospitality shown by Paola and Valerio prior to our departure and whilst we were there was second to none (be it a fantastic 5 course Tuscan dinner cooked by Paola to helping with taxis to and from wedding venues). Villa Le Ginepraie is set within the Tuscan Hills with the pool having the most incredible views. The location means its easily accessible from both Pisa and Florence. Our highlights included having our own pizza night at the villa using the outdoor wood-fired pizza oven. As the night progressed our pizza making skills got better and better (or was that he great local wine!). Thank you for a wonderful time and we hope to see you again in the future. Rgds, Sam

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Samuel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

3 families, each with a baby under one, spent a week at Villa Le Ginepraie and it was utterly incredible. Paola and Valerio are the fantastic hosts, in the run up to the trip they were super helpful and then once we arrived, although they live on the property, a short walk from the Villa, they have mastered the art of discretion; we were not aware that they were around and yet if we needed anything they were there and went the extra mile to ensure our needs were met.


The setting of Villa Le Ginepraie is stunning, we felt like we had our own slice of Tuscany; rolling hills; big, blazing sunsets and endless blue skies by day. We were early in the season and so the pool was a little 'fresh' but we were still happy to take a dip. The location is perfect for day trips - we took in San Gimingano and Sienna and the local produce stores were great.

Highlights for us were the meals cooked by Paola - we had the joy of 3 nights at the Villa's private restaurant. Utterly delicious and unforgettable meals which were complimented by the warmth and hospitality of Valerio, Paola and their charming daughter Viola.

Valerio booked horse riding and accompanied the riders to the stable and booked a masseuse for massages, always incredibly helpful, he truly made us feel like nothing was too much trouble.

If you stay I would also highly recommend making use of the wood fired pizza oven - it was a highlight of our stay.

Incredibly good value for money and all 3 families have agreed that we will return again.

If I had to pick a fault I would say that the directions on the website could be improved.

Grazie Paola, Valerio & Viola!

Room Tip: The apartment to the left of the stairs is the warmest and to the right the coolest so pick accordin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank macandiLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

Our family of 2 adults and 2 children rented the farmhouse in mid-April for 10 days.

In the lead up to our holiday, our hosts were endlessly helpful and upon arrival Paola and Valerio continued to make our Tuscan adventure a seamless one.

The accommodation was spacious and comfortable, the kitchen well stocked with a surplus of crockery, cutlery and cookware, the bathrooms modern and the fireplace much used in the brisk April evenings.

The surrounding hilly outlook was like a postcard and exactly as we imagined Tuscany to be with days ending with blazing sunsets.

Villa Ginepraie is well located for day trips to Volterra and San Gimignano - driving around the winding roads of Tuscany for the uninitiated is... well... interesting.

Our stay was a little pre-season for Tuscany and Valerio went to great lengths to help us find an available Horse Riding stable that was open and that would accommodate our young children. He even drove there with us and served as translator which was immensely helpful.

Discovered too late was the delicious food that will be prepared by Paola on request in the restaurant adjacent to the villa. We only had lunch at Ginepraie once, it was our favourite meal of our stay -- the chocolate fondant was divinity on a plate!

The weather was not warm enough for the pool - it just sat there, taunting us, goading us to come back again some day at a warmer time. We might just do that!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bebhinn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

It’s our first time to stay in a farmhouse and we found that experience so special. You feel you have a small slope on your own & enjoy the space and open view of the farms & cypress. The host is very friendly & helpful, the breakfast is exceptionally good & prepared with heart. We enjoyed our stay very much & we miss the cat there. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lamhk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North of Toronto
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

Villa le Ginepraie is what all the others have already stated.
Val and Paola are so sincere and genuine that you feel like family. They do give you space so you feel like you have the whole place to yourself, but if you need to knock on their door they drop everything to assist you with your needs.
We had a private tour of the whole place, and every room is wonderful. The beds are very spacious (king size) and the rooms even bigger. All bathrooms are perfectly arranged and modern. The house is authentic Tuscan farm style, however everything is modern necessities. The feel of old (original ceilings, windows and doors) mixed with brand new counters, beds, showers, etc. So amazing!
The villa is out in the country side, so it is quiet and relaxing. Complete serenity. 5 mins drive is a little villa with a bottega and small bar but you can stop in and pick up necessities. Volterra and San Giminagno are within 20 min drive and they are beautiful!
My family (parents and husband) stayed for a week while traveling through Europe and we wish we had a least one more week to relax and enjoy.

Valerio and Paola are fantastic hosts! Stay here and you will find yourself writing a 5 star review in no time.

Room Tip: Main floor rooms have quick access to the loggia (sp) the large protected dining area, while easy ac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thewayIseeit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Volterra hotels
5.6 mi away
Hotel Etruria
Hotel Etruria
#1 of 24 in Volterra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
0.4 mi away
Borgo Pignano
Borgo Pignano
#3 of 100 in Volterra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
1.4 mi away
Relais Villa Sensano
Relais Villa Sensano
#2 of 100 in Volterra
5.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Agriturismo Villa Opera
Agriturismo Villa Opera
#21 of 100 in Volterra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
8.8 mi away
Diacceroni Agriturismo Biologico
5.8 mi away
Il Rifugio Dei Sogni
Il Rifugio Dei Sogni
#12 of 100 in Volterra
5.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Le Ginepraie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Le Ginepraie

Property: Villa Le Ginepraie
Address: Podere Le Ginepraie | Localita Pignano, 56048, Volterra, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Volterra
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 100 Speciality Lodging in Volterra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Le Ginepraie, a typical 17th century Tuscan farmhouse, with private chef and private restaurant only for the guest, stands on a knoll surrounded by hills, offering a superb panorama. Even though the location enjoys total tranquillity, it is in a strategic position between San Gimignano, Volterra, Colle Val d'Elsa, Siena, Florence and the sea, which can all be reached easily. The private swimming pool and large garden encourage relaxation, sunbathing and reading, while the surrounding countryside offers a number of pleasant walks. In other words, Villa Ginepraie offers itself as a unique place to spend a restful holiday with your friends and family, only a short distance from Tuscany's art, history and entertainment.The three roomy apartments and the two bedrooms that make up the Villa are elegant, but warm and welcoming at the same time. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing