We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1 STAR FOR SERVICE - UNHELPFUL, RUDE, INCOMPETENT STAFF”
Review of Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Palace Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Rooms and views in this hotel are nice but it is only 1 star for service.

Breakfast was not good, the worst out of all 5 hotels we stayed at during our trip to Italy. The glasses were dirty and the cutlery was filthy with baked on food, disgusting!!! Breakfast hot water machine for hot drinks was cold. Breakfast room was inside with a horrible atmosphere. Staff were surly.

The hotel manager was never available to talk.

The hotel restaurant is only open for breakfast. The hotel restaurant is CLOSED ALL DAY after breakfast but you are not allowed to bring any food into the hotel.

There are no restaurants near the hotel. The nearest town is about 2-3 miles from the hotel.

The hotel charges 15 Euro just for some ice for a drink in your room.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Travelsomewherenew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dirpal, Direttore at Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2015

Dear Madam,

I'm really displeased you had such a bad experience at the Palace Hotel.
The whole staff makes efforts to make every guest's stay as comfortable as possible.
It's a shame to know our guests do not have a good impression of the staff and the Hotel as well.
We will treasure your opinion to improve hotel services and comfort.
Many thanks for your comment,

Lara Righetti
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (658)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 658 reviews

Reviewed 12 November 2013

We stayed here as part of a North Italy driving tour,
Easy to find.
Hotel was not as expected...meaning the pictures you see on the internet makes rooms, views, location amazing! I would say good, but not amazing or great.

Partial view of lake is there, rooms are clean and hotel nice. Second thoughts after staying, we will try something different next time, if there is a next time in lake Garda!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RG1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We had a partial lake view which was exactly that - partial. The rest of the view was partly the pool, but mainly the car park of the shops opposite and the road, which the hotel is immediately next to - a definitely drawback of the hotel. Don't expect to sit quietly at the pool hearing the water lapping - it's more car engines and the odd siren. Still, the hotel is pretty, clean, has lovely decor, big rooms, and a great pool. There was one day we had to wait for a sun lounger (the weekend, which were much busier).

The main flaw of the hotel is where it is - neither Desenzano or Sirmione are walkable, so it's either an expensive taxi or booking onto the hotel shuttle, which isn't regular and is often booked up. Other issues we had were the unfriendliness of the staff, and the poor food menu in the cafe through the day.

Issues aside, it was an enjoyable holiday, although I wouldn't return.

Room Tip: Don't pay any more for a partial lake view - not worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PinkishRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

This was a one night stop as part of our tour which was too bad because we would have loved to stay longer...very clean with awesome staff...beautiful views from the balcony. We enjoyed two of our best meals there (both breakfast and supper) and the wait staff made it that much more enjoyable...great stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank margaret0077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Mark I
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Fantastic hotel, great value for money. All very modern and very clean. Staff were incredibly helpful and friendly, good knowledge of the area. Nothing seemed a problem for them and would do anything to help, especially when arrived at local train station and no taxis about!

Breakfast was all to a high standard and great choices on offer. Bar reasonably priced for standard of hotel, all in all one of the top hotels I've been to recently.

Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: All are garden or lake facing, no rooms to the back which would overlook other buildings. Higher the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brammers_81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013

Good place to stop as part of a local tour, although there may be cheaper options. Lack of a restaurant is a little odd, especially as breakfast was available and very nice too. The restaurant was closed mid-afternoon which was nice in a way because it forced us out to discover a little more of the local area. There are quality places to eat just 250m away, with a great view of the lake. The hotel and grounds are very tidy and the staff at the bar and reception were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichInOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Desenzano Del Garda
8.6 mi away
Hotel Caesius Thermae & Spa Resort
0.7 mi away
Hotel Acquaviva del Garda
Hotel Acquaviva del Garda
#10 of 41 in Desenzano Del Garda
811 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Bonotto
Hotel Bonotto
#6 of 41 in Desenzano Del Garda
820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hotel Sirmione
Hotel Sirmione
#17 of 67 in Sirmione
1,086 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Porto Azzurro
Hotel Porto Azzurro
#8 of 67 in Sirmione
771 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hotel Parchi del Garda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace Hotel

Address: Viale Francesco Agello 114/A, 25015, Desenzano Del Garda, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Desenzano Del Garda
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Desenzano Del Garda
Price Range: £71 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Hotel Desenzano Del Garda, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing