We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Secret Garden at Relais Il Giardino Segreto
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013

We spent four nights and were extremely satisfied. It is so well located to be able to get to Venice, Verona or just take a dive around the lake.

Madalena and her Mother are so very pleasant and helpful. The breakfasts were delicious and the surroundings very well taken care of. Car parking was so convenient.

A short walk brought you into the center of the town with many restaurants and shops.

We highly recommend this wonderful B&B.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dror B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    15
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
151
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carmel, California
Level Contributor
101 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2013

We stayed in the White room, the least expensive, I believe, and we were very pleased. It has its own little private patio with table and two chairs. The room was very clean, bed comfortable, and the bathroom had a "rain" shower. The property is very nicely decorated with attention to detail. The location was excellent being very close to the old town of Desenzano Del Garda, and not too far from the train station.(The walk to the train station is uphill. We chose to take a taxi since we had some heavy luggage.) This is a very quiet area, so this is not a place for those who like to party into the night. We did not have a car, but there is room to park one's car on the property, and the safety level is very good. The gate to the property including the cars is locked in the night time hours. There is a police station close by as well. We never felt unsafe in the town either. There are plenty of restaurants to walk to and the pier for the boats to other towns on the lake is very close. We visited Sirmione one day, and the town of Garda on another day. We would recommend both. If you have more time you could include Bardolino and Lazese as well. We had a good wifi connection in our room. The breakfasts are excellent. There are home made treats like quiche made with puff pastry, fruit cakes, and muffins. Also there were croissants, meat and cheeses, boiled eggs, oranges, apples, juice, yogurts from local farms, cereal, rolls, jam and butter, and even some very fresh walnuts from someone's tree. What a feast. The owner will give you good ideas of where to visit. I highly recommend the Relais, and you should stay at least two nights, if not more. It is very relaxing here.

Room Tip: There are only six rooms. Three are on the main level, and three on the second floor. I think they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zoelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Latina, Italy
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2013

Located quite next the bigger concurrent Hotel Nazionale, this cosy villa has nothing to envy to that hotel if you prefer a small luxury and quiet relais. Staff very gentle and helpful. Car parking comfortable and free. The limited number of rooms is a guarantee of privacy and relax. We stayed only 1 night and though we booked a standard bedroom they offered for free a superior double bedroom very spacious and elegant (each room has a different design, we stayed at "Lanterne Rosse" or "Red Lanters" suite). The secret garden - as the hotel's name - is really present in the backyard of the villa, and you can enjoy breakfast in patio placed in it.
Last but not least, just 3 min of walk and you are in main shopping ways of the Desenzano city center. Finally a place in which I will return with pleasure in future!

Room Tip: Superior rooms are really spacious and rich of design more similar to a junior suite (just miss the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luckytorino1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
136 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2012

This year we stayed for the 3rd time at the Giardino Segreto. It offers just a few rooms and by this benefits from its private atmosphere. Rooms are very clean and excellent maintained. We usually prefer the "Il grande blu" which lies away from the street and has a private terrace. Owners are always friendly and never hesitate to respond to whatever questions, concerns etc. you may have. We just love this B&B.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MiroSu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dorset uk
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2012

Maddalena and her Mother are both very friendly and extremely helpful. The accommodation is centrally located and the rooms are stylish and very clean. I felt it to be more like a small boutique hotel than a B&B. The breakfast was always a surprise and a real treat! We stayed for 3 nights and would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: We stayed in 'The Coral Room' which was very nice, spacious with a small courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jacquitony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2012

We almost always stay in B&Bs when we travel and this B&B certainly belongs to one of the best we've ever had! We were warmly welcomed after a long drive and with the heat in Italy end of August, we were more than happy to find aircondition in our room. The room was spotlessly clean and very nicely decorated (as was the whole B&B). We stayed in the "White Planet" which is one of the smallest and thus at 95€ per night one of the cheapest rooms. Still, we had enough space for two suitcases and all of our things for the whole week we stayed. The cleaning lady came every day which we found quite unusual for a B&B, and it was so nice to have a clean room and fresh towels every day. We really liked the location of the B&B as well - it only takes 5 minutes by foot into the old town and harbor of Desenzano with many nice restaurants and shops. Desenzano itself is not as touristy as many other towns at Lake Garda - we loved that! We would absolutely recommend this B&B and would certainly stay there again when in the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janine824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Düsseldorf
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012

just as the reviews promised: this is an adorable little B&B, the rooms are charming and freshly renovated, impeccably clean. Maddalena and her mother are lovely and gave us a warm welcome. Everything is prepared with love, even the pies and quiches for breakfast are homemade with organic ingredients from local farmers.
We will definately book it if we travel again to Lago di Garda.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Astrid_On_Holidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Desenzano Del Garda hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Nazionale
Hotel Nazionale
#1 of 40 in Desenzano Del Garda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Bonotto
Hotel Bonotto
#4 of 40 in Desenzano Del Garda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Piccola Vela
Hotel Piccola Vela
#7 of 40 in Desenzano Del Garda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Residence Il Sogno
Residence Il Sogno
#10 of 40 in Desenzano Del Garda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Piroscafo
Hotel Piroscafo
#13 of 40 in Desenzano Del Garda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#11 of 40 in Desenzano Del Garda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Secret Garden at Relais Il Giardino Segreto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Secret Garden at Relais Il Giardino Segreto

Property: The Secret Garden at Relais Il Giardino Segreto
Address: Via Eugenio Curiel 2, 25015, Desenzano Del Garda, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Desenzano Del Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Desenzano Del Garda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Priceline so you can book your The Secret Garden at Relais Il Giardino Segreto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Secret Garden At Relais Il Giardino Segreto Desenzano Del Garda, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing