We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“outstanding meal, great view, amazing service”

Ristorante Esplanade
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$95 - US$134
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: We like to think of our restaurant as a warm and elegant place, where you can feel part of our passion for food and wine .. ..to send you to an exciting experience, each time different.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
1,363 reviews
901 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 445 helpful votes
“outstanding meal, great view, amazing service”
Reviewed 15 May 2013

a real treat. we took visitors and the ywere amazed. a great day, sitting in fron t of the lake and we took the tasting menu, a fabulous experience

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nicolas s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,014 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    813
    144
    33
    8
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Excellent food in a fantastic setting”
Reviewed 2 May 2013

We were lucky as the weather was beautiful when we visited this marvellously positioned restaurant on the shore of lake Garda. The lake view is spectacular and we were given what we thought was the best table.
The excellent food was matched by friendly helpful service. We took the Euro75 'little' tasting menu which was enough for the largest appetite. Each course was beautifully presented. The pumpkin filled tortellini was a revelation. The one thing we weren't sure of was the 18 hour cooked pork - we found it slightly flabby. The dessert which was superbly ripe fruit with a crisp biscuit which matched perfectly.
When we asked for a wine recommendation we were pleasantly surprised when the sommelier steered us to the cheapest local white wine - which was delicious.
Go out of your way to get there - just go!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DJFLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superb!”
Reviewed 28 April 2013

My husband and I booked a table at the Esplanade for our last nights stay in Sirmione and we were not disappointed. We had the tasting menu which was absolutely delicious and the waiter recommended some local wines to try which went with the food perfectly. Each course brought to our table was beautifully presented and tasted so fresh and delicious. It was a real food experience which made it something special. The staff are very attentive, nothing is too much trouble. The setting was spectacular overlooking the lake with twinkling lights around the shoreside.
Our table was set with linen cloth, silverware, candlestick and an orchid. Linen covered comfortable chairs and the tables weren't too close together. The restaurant was full and is the place the Italians go, which is always a good sign. The atmosphere was buzzing and very enjoyable. We have eaten at many michelin star restaurants around the world and this place certainly deserves more than 1 star. Prices not overly expensive for the quality. Go and try it out!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chantry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Food Great, not such a great setting in the winter”
Reviewed 26 November 2012

We visited the restaurant in mid November 2012 and the setting although I am sure is something special in the summer was a little plain when the view out to the lake is not visible.

That said the food was very good, very rich and the tasting menu takes a big appetite to get from start to finish. The waiter serving us was good fun and very knowledgeable.
Finding it hard to rave about this place but the saving grace was the food.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jtmonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
466 reviews
280 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“AMAZING food and a fun staff”
Reviewed 3 October 2012

We decided to try this restaurant even though we knew it would be expensive because it has a Michelin star. If it were up to me, I'd give them more than one star. It was worth every euro! There were 4 of us and we had the 6 (or was it 7) course tasting menu. They have a rule that you can only have this menu if everyone at the table has it. That seemed a little draconian, but I suppose it would be difficult to serve everyone if you're not all eating the same number of courses. I'm not sure I would have ordered it had not everyone else at the table wanted it, and I'm really glad that happened. Each course was better than the last. Our waiter was a lot of fun, speaking 3 or 4 languages and able to joke in all of them. We had a table overlooking the water, which added to the ambience, but once the food arrived, we forgot everything else. We feared that the wines would be over the top in price, but they had several that were reasonably priced and still excellent. You could order just a couple of courses and wine and the meal wouldn't have been too outrageous in price and still delicious, but the full tasting menu is spectacular. This is definitely a restaurant I'd visit again if we're in Desenzano del Garda again.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Myrna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ristorante Esplanade also viewed

Desenzano Del Garda, Province of Brescia
Desenzano Del Garda, Province of Brescia
 
Desenzano Del Garda, Province of Brescia
Desenzano Del Garda, Province of Brescia
 
Desenzano Del Garda, Province of Brescia
San Martino della Battaglia, Desenzano Del Garda
 

Been to Ristorante Esplanade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing