We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed bag - not fullfilling potential”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Lido International
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
66 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Mixed bag - not fullfilling potential”
Reviewed 17 October 2011

Slightly run down property, in an otherwise good location. A shame really, 'cause this place has potential - but lacking from necessary investments.

We stayed in one of the rooms in the "basement", next to the pool. These rooms were somewhat dirty, moisty/mouldy, several stains on furniture and carpet. And spiders, quite a lot of them.

Common areas are OK, but not well kept - outside there are spiderwebs all over the place, and tiles etc not the leaving the freshest impresssion.

Breakfast also i mixed bag - quite a wide selection, however processed food used a lot. Also, if you arrive 30 minutes before they close breakfast, they're probale stouck out of bacon. Coffe is kinda cold also.

Don't bother ordering lunch, the pizza comes from the freexer and is microwaved. Ciabattas might be the better option.

On the bright side there is free WiFi in rooms. A/C in the room worked fine.

Will not stay here again.

Room Tip: Stay away from the rooms next to the pool (in the basement), at all cost!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank the_oslo_gooner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    64
    35
    16
    13
See reviews for
36
85
10
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

The hotel is very well positioned just outside the town centre but in easy walking distance. It serves breakfast and a snack lunch (which is OK) but for evening meal directs you to two nearby Restaurants. The building is on several levels and though there is a lift and a chair lift they only do some levels. You have to negotiate flights of steps to get to the pool and garden cafe.
Our superior sea view room had the most marvellous view which redeemed the downside. The balcony was splendid though the room itself was small.
The hotel booklet had a list of 'don't' reminiscent of a seaside landlady - no eating in room, dont put your own drinks in fridge, dont plug in your appliences.
It was also the most expensive hotel we stayed at and we felt did not really provide value for money.....having said all that I might still return for the view and the balcony!

Room Tip: Go for a superior room facing the sea with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarigoldLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norttinghamshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2011

The staff are very friendly and welcoming and is in a great location but the hotel is very tired and dated. The A/C in the rooms is ancient, noisy and inefficient. I had a tiny room at the front of the hotel facing the road, my bathroom was shabby, some bulbs not working, shower head was just hanging loose. Broken lamp shade by bed, stuck together with Elastpolast. No Wi Fi in the rooms as advertised. We complained on the first night, were told the hotel was full but they would see what they could do the next day, nothing more was mentioned. Vastly overpriced.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaxyNottinghamshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Desenzano Del Garda hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2011

Excellent location, friendly staff & clean hotel. However, the hotel is tired and needs updating; the website does not reflect reality. Bathrooms very poor, air conditioning poor & noisy. Breakfast overlooking the lake gorgeous but the quality of the breakfast is poor really. Very disappointed at 125 euros a night!!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CHRIS D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
138 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

Our family of 2 adults and 2 teens stayed at Hotel Lido for 3 nights in July 2011.
We had a lovely outlook from (2) top floor rooms, overlooking the magnificent Lake Garda. The balcony is ideal to watch the waves lap at the bottom of the property.
Rooms are very small, and could do with updating. Bathrooms clean. Reception staff were excellent. Town is a flat walk of about 10 minutes. We did not have a car, but found the access to town easy and pleasant. Lots of places to eat in town. We also ate very near the hotel, which was recommended by the staff, and it was very good, authentic Italian dishes. Best Gelato was at the "Vivaldi". We took a ferry ride to a couple of lakeside towns and really enjoyed the surrounding areas. We were out during the day and early evening, so did not use the hotel pool. Pleasant setting should you wish to use it. Not much for Teens to do otherwise. Breakfast included, with fresh ingredients, good variety, and will suit most tastes. Some off-street parking provided, but main street just outside to provide extra parking. Perhaps not the 4* rating as suggested, but a modest 3* which will suit most travellers wishing to enjoy the lake and environs.

Room Tip: Room on top floor with view of Lake, is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank triptip4you
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2011

This was a modern comfortable hotel. We had one of the larger rooms with a balcony and lovely views over the lake. Staff were friendly and helpful. A good continental breakfast was provided. The pool was clean. The gardens overlooked the lake and had a bar. Midges were a problem at times, but that was not the hotel's fault. The bar played music in the afternoon and evening but stopped promptly at 10pm so did not disturb sleeping. The room had a mini bar, but did not have a kettle. That was the only disadvantage for us.
Desanzano (5 minutes walk away), was very pleasant with lakeside walks, a marina and many restaurants and bars. Some restaurants were 2 mins away.
If you don't mind a very pleasant 20 minute stroll along the lake to the other side of town, the best meals we found were served at a restaurant actually on the lake side of the road, by the public Lido. Prices were reasonable and in line with other places there. We went there 3 times.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gyll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
170 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2011

The location of the hotel is excellent as is lakeside and only a short walk into Desanzano. The views from the hotel and front facing rooms are spectacular. However the hotel is in dire need of updating. The bathrooms are very small and outdated. The general quality of the bedrooms and public areas is more akin to a 2/3* hotel. The reception staff and the bar manager, Yassar, were very helpful. However the restaurant staff and the night manager were very unhelpful to the point of rudeness. Service was almost non-existent from them. There is no wi-fi in the bedrooms as advertised. We were very disappointed with the amenities and lack of service.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pollyallen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Desenzano Del Garda hotels
0.2 mi away
Estee Hotel
Estee Hotel
#16 of 40 in Desenzano Del Garda
179 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Piccola Vela
Hotel Piccola Vela
#6 of 40 in Desenzano Del Garda
307 reviews
0.6 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#2 of 40 in Desenzano Del Garda
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Aquila d'Oro
Aquila d'Oro
#17 of 40 in Desenzano Del Garda
179 reviews
0.4 mi away
Residence Il Sogno
Residence Il Sogno
#11 of 40 in Desenzano Del Garda
283 reviews
0.9 mi away
Enrichetta Hotel
Enrichetta Hotel
#27 of 40 in Desenzano Del Garda
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lido International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lido International

Property: Hotel Lido International
Address: Viale Tommaso Dal Molin 63, 25015, Desenzano Del Garda, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Desenzano Del Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Desenzano Del Garda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Lido International 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Lido International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lido International Hotel
Hotel Lido International Desenzano Del Garda, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing