We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Oliveto Lago di Garda - Desenzano
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Bonotto(Desenzano Del Garda)(Great Value!)
US$125
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Acquaviva del Garda(Desenzano Del Garda)
US$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Park Hotel(Desenzano Del Garda)
US$317
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$301
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Palace Hotel(Desenzano Del Garda)
US$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Europa(Desenzano Del Garda)
US$171
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$139
Hostelworld.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Rosa Hotel(Desenzano Del Garda)
US$206
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$197
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Admiral Hotel Villa Erme(Desenzano Del Garda)(Great Value!)
US$127
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$103
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Nazionale(Desenzano Del Garda)
US$214
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Vittorio(Desenzano Del Garda)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Villa Maria(Desenzano Del Garda)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (370)
Filter reviews
370 results
Traveller rating
70
123
97
44
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
70
123
97
44
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsminute walkbbc worldhead waiteroutdoor poolenglish languagelake viewpleasant resortwine list ishalf boardthree coursesplenty of hot watergood sizehotel is locatedbar pricesworked finequiet areafresh fruit
Filter
Updating list...
107 - 112 of 370 reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2013 via mobile

We have just spent two weeks in this lovely hotel.The staff service food and cleanliness were outstanding.We would have no hesitation in staying here again.It was quiet relaxing and had everything we needed.We walked the 20minutes to town most evenings for gelato and enjoyed the wonderful scenery.I just don't understand why anyone would write a negative review on this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alisonsweeney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We stayed here from the 3rd to the 10th August 13. After reading the reviews I was a little worried but was more than pleasantly surprised when we arrived. We paid a little extra for the lake view, this was worth every penny. A lovely large room for us and a teenage child. Décor was really nice, simple and elegant. The bathroom was also very clean and well decorated. This is a quiet hotel and therefore there is not a permanent member of staff at the bar, but you don't need one as the reception is just next door, just ask them for something and they are more than happy to serve or call someone to come and help. A member of staff is there in two ticks. The corridors are dark, but there is a light switch on every corner, it's simple enough to find, you don't need to fumble around in the dark unless you really want to just to be awkward?
We stayed half board. The breakfast is the usual continental breakfast offering cheese, ham, cereal, cake, pastries and a choice of eggs that are cooked to order. The evening meal is waiter service and you have a choice of three dishes for starters, mains and desert. There was always a vegetarian choice and plenty of variety during the week. We had roast chicken, Veggie Lasagne, Pork, Veal, Ravioli (delicious), veg and salad freely available and self service.
The pool area like the rest of the hotel was kept very clean and well maintained. Plenty of room on the grass under the olive trees as well as around the pool if you wish. The staff are very friendly and helpful but not in your face like some hotel staff can be in big resorts. We had to vacate the room at 10 am on the day we were leaving but the staff let us use the showers in the gym so we could continue to use the hotel pool until into the afternoon. This too was lovely and clean and very convenient.
The town itself is great lovely bars and restaurants, some where to chill and have the local drink of a spritz. It is a 15 minute walk but it you prefer the hotel can order a taxi - it cost 7 euros for a one way journey. The ferry port is great, jump on a ferry to Sirmione and you can be there in less than 15 minutes, well worth a visit for the shops and lovely architecture, cobbled streets and the castle.

All in all I give this hotel 10/10 if I did stay at the same place twice - which I don't - I would have no issues with booking this hotel again, we all loved it. It is a lovely hotel in a quiet end of town offering really good value for money. I can not knock anything at all.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for a lake view - your going somewhere beautiful, why not?
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank louise h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

I'v spend thre nights in the Hotel. For the locatin of the Hotel is very good. It takes you only 15-20 minutes to get to the noisy centre of Desenzano. Then you come back and have the rest and good sleep inthis quiet place. The Hotel is surrounded by private houses and villas; the trafic is not hard, the road you go to the centre is not noisy, with pines along the sides. The breakfast is continental, but dinner at the restraunt is very tasty and well serviced. My room faced the outdoor pool, but it was quiet even in day time. The beach is only 5 min from the hotel. The sun bed price is 6 euros per day. The beach is overcrowded, so better use the outdoor pool. The reception is very professional, helpful. The staff is very friendly. That's my opinion. I wish everyone good stay at the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank IraRussia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

As a family party of four (two daughters aged 21 and 18), we had a lovely time at hotel Oliveto with half-board.

The hotel is about 10 mins walk from the edge of town but this is NOT a problem as we regularly walked into town 3 or 4 times a day (e.g. to buy lunch, get an ice cream or use the pedalos).

The hotel is quiet with mainly English and German guests. It was very clean and everyone was very friendly at reception and in the restaurant. Guests tended to get into a routine, so you could predict the busier times for the hotel pool. (Note - the indoor pool is not open in summer).

The eating experience was enjoyed by all of us. The evening meal offered three starters (2 x pasta, 1 x soup), three main courses and two desserts (1 x ice cream). If you did not like anything, they would offer to prepare an alternative (e.g. pasta, pizza or even omelette) not that we did this as we all wanted to experience authentic meals. The cold buffet of salad and vegetables could be used as a fourth course or added to your main meal which was served with few if any vegetables. The waiting staff were excellent, particularly head waiter Mimmo and our waiter Pauscal (?).

We travelled with Thompson/Crystal Holidays. The whole Lake Tour by coach of four towns plus one ferry crossing (Riva - Limone) was an excellent way to see other towns where we spent 1-2 hours in each town. Other highlights included the Tuesday morning Desenzano market and the "White nights" Wednesday evening in Desenzano which included about eight live bands playing across town so you could pick your music and outside bar for your evening entertainment. We gravitated towards the bars around the harbour and the small bridge (e.g. Al Ponte).

Other local tips include: Allow plenty of time to buy your ferry tickets before the sailing time. The nearest small supermarkets are about 20-25 mins walk away and the best supermarket "Simply" is a 30-40 mins walk away. We used the minimarket Desinzanino about 10 mins away for our bottled water. We also noticed that the resort was not particularly cheap with most shops of a boutique nature - no wonder the markets are so popular!

There were a few improvements the hotel could make. The fridge in the room was "cool" at best but not able to chill anything. The wall mounted hairdryer was not particularly hot or flexible. The hotel bar was limited being based indoors although you could take a drink outside to a limited seating area).

I would thoroughly recommend the hotel, but I note it might have a more limited attraction for teenagers.

Room Tip: Our rooms 230 (shared balcony with stair access to pool) and 234 (own balcony without stair access to the pool) overlooked the pool so you could see if there were spare sun chairs. These rooms, however, are also near the stairwell, so subject to passing noise in the corridor.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David_B-Billericay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Just spent a week here on a last minute Thomsons Lakes & Mountains break and found it offered very good value for the money. Yes the location is a little way out from the downtown centre but nearing peak season in a lively resort we were grateful for its relative quiet seclusion.

Warm welcome and efficient check in. Room equipped with 'Superkingsize' bed (the usual two singles married together) was very comfortable and the air con coped heroically with the 30 degree plus temperatures without excessive noise. Bathroom had a shower that worked well and a good range of toiletries. Yes, the decor is showing its age and seemed a little faded but everything was kept spotless by the domestic staff.

Breakfast was the usual continental fare topped up frequently but in addition you could ask for eggs cooked to order to supplement. Evening meal menu was reasonably varied with some familiar favourites and also some local specialities. Many local wines were available to try and they averaged around 20 euros a bottle which seems like the standard 300% hotel mark up. Staff were very efficient and courteous in an almost old fashioned sort of way which I like.

One suggestion would be to upgrade the bar area which lacks a little atmosphere. When the town is a lengthy (albeit pleasant) 15 minute stroll in the evening a more appealing bar area should boost income and the enjoyment of residents.

Plenty on offer in the area for both cultural and sporty types as well as just plain sunseekers. Personally we took a train trip to Padova one day which seems to be an underpublicised destination compared to alternatives like Verona and Venice. Taxi to local station is 9 euro (bit too far to walk) and train fares are good value providing you use the 'Regionale' service (but no air con or frills). Viewing the famous Giotto frescos needs to be pre-booked more than a day in advance. Also the university there (the 3rd oldest in the world apparently behind Bologna and Paris) is worth seeing and gives guided tours to small groups.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GeoffH55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews