We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location..Poor Hotel”
Review of Hotel Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Plaza
Athlone, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Location..Poor Hotel”
Reviewed 31 July 2011

We stayed in this hotel one night on route to the northern part of the lake. It was reviewed pretty well on the hotel sites but we found it poor. The lights in the bedroom were very dim and one had a bulb not working. Very depressing if you were staying for more than one night. The breakfast room too was dull and "sad". On the up side the location is fantastic very close to the lake and the town centre. No private parking. Public carpark right across from hotel €25 per night !

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank threeline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    51
    21
    20
    31
See reviews for
34
51
8
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warwickshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2010

a very good and convenient place to stay for South Lake Garda. Hotel Plaza is on the Lake front and within a short walikng distance of the main square of the beutiful town of Desenzano. the train station which has trains to Milan and Venice and the regional towns is only 10min walk or a short taxi ride. The hotel has its own shuttle for the airport or shoping Mall and short excursions like Sirmioni town. although it does not have its own restaurant, the buffett breakfast is very good with plenty of variety and the Teatro restaurant just 50mtrs away is excelent for evening meals.
My wife and I and some other friends and family had a great time and will stay at the Hotel Plaza again.
Special thanks to Francesca, Bianca, Benito and family for looking after us so well.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MoseleyTVL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kfar Vradim, Israel
Level Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2009

This was our last stop on Italian trip - the place to relax. How naive we were!
Apartment on the ground floor in Casa Regina (property marketed by Hotel Plaza) met us with broken window - which was simply closed forever after we complained. The kids bunkbed was awfully old, unsafe and made a lot of noise so the one on the upper bed could not sleep and went to our place. In the room there was no place to put anything - broken wardrobe, no shelfs. But the "best" of all was bathroom - it was simply impossible to take a shower without flooding the entire apartment! We ended up cleaning the bathroom and the apartment by hand every time each of us went there - unpleasant experience for the tourist.
When we complained to Marianna, the receptionist, she seemed to agree and was silent - I believe we were not the only ones who fell into this trap. All we wanted is an apartment with kitchen - all we got is kitchen without a normal room. Bottom line - barn for animals, not people.

Be aware of this trap and read TripAdvisor carefully - do NOT RENT ANYTHING from this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Location
Helpful?
4 Thank leobor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Desenzano Del Garda hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2008

This is NOT a four stars hotel!
Our room was really small, has not a good smell and was quiet dirty.
Ops.. I forgot to say that all the hotel is soo sad!
I travel a lot and believe me..this is not a four stars hotel!!

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank unhappy34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2008

There is no way that Hotel Plaza deserves a four star rating.
The housekeeping is poor: in the bedrooms we had evidence of the previous occupants blonde hair on the carpet, balls of dust around the wardrobe and very dusty cobwebs in the bathroom. We took a second pillow out of the wardrobe only to find it had been used by a previous occupant and put away - obviously no one had checked it since. As we opened the door there was a nasty whiff of smelly feet which I believe came from the carpet (which in both the hall way and room definitely needed cleaning) and we had to open the window wide for some time. The small terrace had not been cleaned of either the cigarette butts from a previous occupant nor the birds deposits.
In addition the fixtures and fittings are cheap, old fashioned and in some cases just need replaced: the shower tray was cracked as was one of the floor tiles, there were cigarette burns in the toilet roll holder and the plastic bathroom fittings were like something out of the 70s. We could hear the fellow guests in their rooms having showers and flushing their toilets.
Breakfast was a very poor affair with coffee, juice etc out of a machine and packaged everything, except a fresh croissant. We would not have stayed only the Vin Italia fair was on in Verona and getting a room elsewhere was nigh impossible - I would not recommend this hotel to any one, the only good thing about it was the girls on reception who were charming and helpful.

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank KipperDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2007

I stayed in the apartments belonging to the hotel called 'Casa Regina' on via Annunciata for one month. The apartment itself was fine all the basics kitchenette,eating,area,balcony. There were 2 bathrooms, in one the shower had no shower curtain so we couldn't use it because when you turn it on the water drenches the whole bathroom-we explained this to the hotel but nothing was done, so we had to use the shower in the bath which forced you to sit down. Our electricity was cut off one evening and we went to the hotel to ask them to find out about the problem the receptionist(a man-don't remember his name) told us he would send someone at 10pm-the person never came. We were left without electricity for the night and we didn't get someone to the apartment until we went to the hotel AGAIN! Apart from this everything was fine but being young myself I wouldn't recommend this place to young people as it is in a residential area and they constantly complain about noise-perhaps thats why our elecricity was cut off! :0) But it is an exellent location at a great price and Roberta in reception is great!

  • Liked — The short walk to the beach and the bars!
  • Disliked — No airconditioning, no washing machine/dishwasher
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nivy26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Italy
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2006

Premium location, beautiful lakeside view and super-friendly staff- on the plus side. On the minus side: unpersonal rooms, careless housekeeping (floor wasn't very clean, shower so-so), no cappuccino for breakfast but stuff that comes out of a machine, orange juice made with those yucky artificial powders etc.
The twin beds are very narrow, both me and my friend almost fell out of them during the night. Air condition didn't work - Italian hotels sometimes switch off A/C after September 1, regardless of the actual weather...
Late check-out on Sunday morning was no problem, they were very nice and we could keep the room till 1 pm.
All in all, they should re-assess themselves to 3-star.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — cleanliness, ugly rooms
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoxanneV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Desenzano Del Garda hotels
0.2 mi away
Alessi Hotel
Alessi Hotel
#20 of 40 in Desenzano Del Garda
208 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mayer & Splendid
Hotel Mayer & Splendid
#10 of 40 in Desenzano Del Garda
282 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Giardinetto
Hotel Giardinetto
#23 of 40 in Desenzano Del Garda
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tripoli Hotel
Tripoli Hotel
#35 of 40 in Desenzano Del Garda
112 reviews
0.5 mi away
Astoria
Astoria
#29 of 40 in Desenzano Del Garda
134 reviews
0.1 mi away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#19 of 40 in Desenzano Del Garda
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza

Property: Hotel Plaza
Address: Via Angelo Anelli 24, 25015, Desenzano Del Garda, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Desenzano Del Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Desenzano Del Garda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Plaza Hotel is in the historic center of Desenzano del Garda, in front of the port and 200 m far from the promenade. Near the hotel: restaurant, pub, self service, bank, shops, pharmacy...All rooms are classically furnished with soft carpeted floors or parquet. Are provided with private bathroom with shower and hairdryer, minibar, safe, TV Sat, air conditioned.Free wi fi in rooms and in commons areasFrom this year new bike rental service with city bike, mountain bike, professional bike: all day or half day (free helmets and free locks)Parking: in front of the hotel and near the hotel's area 50 m far from the hotel: public bus and private bus, taxi, boat, train.In the zone there are many attractions: Aquaria Thermal bath, Gardaland, Moviland, Sigurtà Garden, Caneva World, Kart.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Hotel Desenzano Del Garda
Hotel Plaza Desenzano Del Garda, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing