We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic good value Hotel”
Review of Hotel Europa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Europa
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Basic good value Hotel”
Reviewed 13 June 2011

This hotel is in a fabulous location. The breakfast was very good and plentiful. The balcony in our family room was only fit for one person at a time so not really suitable for us but due to the mosquitoes in the evening the balcony was a place to be avoided!
The owners do not speak much English but the waitress had good English if you were stuck with anything. Basic Hotel, great location and suitable for a bargain break.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chriskee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    109
    35
    12
    2
See reviews for
86
99
16
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 February 2011

The hotel overlooking the lake, however not all rooms with lake view thought and about 5 to 10 mins walk to the pier. It managed by a family, most of them speak very little English, and I didn't really get any services at all. Overall, acceptable with its room rate.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sasa143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2010

We stopped for one night at this hotel on our drive down through the lakes to Venice. The hotel was in a great location a very short stroll along the lake foreshore to the humming restaurant strip and shopping. Brilliant shopping in this place, we were so surprised at how trendy the place was and had no idea what to expect a lakeside town.
The rooms were very basic but clean and the wifi internet downstairs in the lobby was ok too. Breakfast was nice, very typical of Italy and the service was ok. There was guest parking which I think was free.
This town was a pleasant surprise and we went to an amazing restaurant about a 2 minute walk from the hotel. What a great place to add to our adventure list!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank krispi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
1 review
Reviewed 25 August 2010

i would advise to stay clear the room we were offered
had a room with a view the view being a brick wall about
eight inches from window no escape if fire in corridor
fom unhappy glasgow

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank dancat100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 August 2010

This was our first time in Italy and what an experience. The hotel was far more than we could have expected and the staff were great...especially the breakfast staff who always had time to chat. Our holiday was the best we have ever had and I would go back in a min.
Hotel was very clean and food great....:)
We are already looking at booking again next year.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eve4169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2010

I booked stay in Hotel Europa but fro soem reason I was moved to hoel Aurora which is next door and most probably owned by the same person as even the staff was working in both hotels.
If this happens to you as well ,then do not eat breakfast in Aurora hotel but go to the Europa ( you can do it and the stafff will infotm, you about it on your arrival).
Aurora hotel is quite cozy and small ,Europa is more elgant and spacious. Both hotels are at the doorstep of the lake so you literally ONLY have to cross the street.
The centre is 10 mins walk.
ROOM: I had a triple room ,which was big and spacious with lakeview. Bathroom was also big and CLEAN. There was a TV however only Italian channels.
FOOD: In Aurora there was a liitle bit less variety than in Europa. In geenral Italain breakfast is sweet so you quite likely to leave hungry- jams,cereals/musli, nutella,crossaints, toasted bread, edam cheese, boiled eggs, biscuits,fruits, cakes.
STAFF: The staff was most probably the biggest advanatge of both hotels- very friendly, cheerful and helpful.

Would stay again
TIPS:
1.DO NOT rely on public transport- i should say it is not user-friendly but to be perfectly honest it is crap! Hire a scooter or a car- you will find many different leaflets in the hotel
2.There is a Hausbrandt restaurant right by the hotel , it is quite good for the price so you can laways eat something there. There is also a very small kebabish shop on Via Roma ,however, the kebab is REALLY NICE and you will not feel hungry after eating it (unlike italian food). I would AVOID: restaurant Steak HOuse Vivo Cafe in the centre near the port- the WORST STEAK HOUSEEVER! I mean it was not even a steak,it was fried so many times you could just chew it and was absolutely tasteless!!!!Also do not go to the Paninoteca right by the Train station- horrific staff!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lil_Miss_Dee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 2 August 2010

When we arrived we were disappointed with the general look of the hotel. Its very old and tired. Our room was really dark and there was no lake view. However, we asked the guy on reception if we could have a lake view and they moved us 20 metres up the road to the Hotel Aurora, where we got a room with a balcony overlooking the lake. The family run both hotels and are very friendly and helpful. The beach across the road is pebbly but the water was wonderful and you get to swim with ducks. You aren't allowed to sit in the beach bed area and so we sat on the end but it got a bit busy sometimes. Also, we had to move a couple of times to make way for the pedaloes. Overall, though, we really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lady_Hare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Desenzano Del Garda hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bonotto
Hotel Bonotto
#4 of 40 in Desenzano Del Garda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Nazionale
Hotel Nazionale
#1 of 40 in Desenzano Del Garda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Piroscafo
Hotel Piroscafo
#13 of 40 in Desenzano Del Garda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Villa Rosa Hotel
Villa Rosa Hotel
#2 of 40 in Desenzano Del Garda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Benaco
Hotel Benaco
#6 of 40 in Desenzano Del Garda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
0.2 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#3 of 40 in Desenzano Del Garda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Europa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Europa

Property: Hotel Europa
Address: Lungolago Cesare Battisti 71, 25015, Desenzano Del Garda, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Desenzano Del Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Desenzano Del Garda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Europa 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Europa hotel is located on the promenade of the beautiful Lake Garda, in front of the Desenzano beach and just a few minutes walk from the central shopping area of Desenzano. Many of the small, charming towns that surround the lake are easily accessible from the hotel by car or boat. The restaurant and most of the guest rooms offer magnificent views of the lake. The hotel has a TV room, bar and a restaurant with air conditioning serving Italian and international cuisine.The hotel's private parking area is free of charge for guests.Free Internet Point ( broadband ADSL ) Free Wi-fi service for ours guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Europa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europa Hotel Desenzano Del Garda
Hotel Europa Desenzano Del Garda, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing