We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel with a great location”
Review of Tripoli Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tripoli Hotel
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We stayed here recently using this hotel as a base for touring round the lake to the various towns and also a trip to Verona.
The location of the hotel is great being opposite the ferry port and in the middle of the town so was surrounded by the restaurants and bars which was perfect. In fact the bus stop for Verona was a two minute walk away.
The room we had was on the side of the hotel overlooking a narrow road and therefore didn't have a view of the lake which for us was not a problem. The size of the room was small and a look was a bit retro however the room was very clean and the bathroom whilst also very small had a great shower. Towels were changed every day and I would say that as we only used the room for sleeping as we were out all day the size was fine.
Staff were lovely and were very helpful with a good understanding of English and the included buffet breakfast was nice with a selection of cold meats, cheese, fruit, yoghurt rolls and croissants etc . There is a lovely outside area for drinks where you can watch the world go by whilst enjoying a drink.
Overall good value for money and with a brilliant location

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ian239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (124)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 124 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here September 2013 and were delighted that the cycle race start line was in Front of the hotel. It was very festive with all the cycle paraphanalia. We had a front row seat at breakfast for the cycle race. The location is very central for the lake ferry, great eateries and good shopping. Room was comfortable and quirky.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2050g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

When we turned up outside the hotel we were very pleased of the location right opposite the ferry port and lots of restaurants and a very nice location. Staff were very friendly and spoke good English. We stayed in room 220 and to be honest our first impression of the room was of slight disappointment. It was clean but our view was of the side of the building next door so felt very gloomy. I did ask if we could have a lake view but was told that this is another €50 per night. Once we opened the curtains and windows and looked around it was a nice room with a en-suite shower room. The shower was small but powerful and whole room was clean and new towels and the bed made everyday. Looking out of the window down the side we could see the lake and had a nice breeze. It also had very good air-conditioning which proved invaluable because at nights and the early hours of morning it can get noisy from the bar next door with music and people if you leave the window open, but we left it on all day and was lovely and cool coming back to the room.

Breakfast was lovely in morning. We were offered coffee or tea, there were three types of cereal to choose from, a range of different croissants, fruit, cheese and ham with rolls, jams, orange and carrot juice, cakes yogurts and lots more it was never boring. I like this hotel. Train is just up the hill and a 15 min walk and good connections to Milan and verona, very cheap and reliable network. There is no swimming pool but just up the road there is a Hotel called International Lido Hotel and for €15 each you can come and go for the day and use there pool and private beach (we spent a whole day there). For 2 at €700 for 7 nights this is a great hotel with a great location and we would stay again. No need for a car we used public transport.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dwestrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Very small, dark and smelly room. View over the wall of the next building. Rusty shower. Cleaning lady entered the room without knocking when we were changing and kept on insisting she needs to enter despite our protests. We moved our to other hotel after just one night although our reservation was non refundable, but it was totally worth it - we simply couldn't enjoy our holidays in Tripoli hotel.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Yulia E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

I liked this hotel because was so familiar the room was big. The view over the Lake Garda was wonderful and the location was perfect, in the city centre where in the evening the road gets closed for cars and everybody dances and sings. It was a lovely stay and I would repeat it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MadalinaSarca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We had a 2nd floor room which was clean and had a good view over the lake.. We received a warm welcome when we arrived. The hotel is in a central location easy access to the boats on Lake Garda Restaurants, bars and the town itself are all within easy walking distance. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff at this hotel and we would recommend this hotel to anyone thinking of going to Desenzano.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 28Jeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

It's all about the location. Directly opposite the area where all the boats arrive and depart to take you to all the different towns around the lake. Bars and restaurants right on the doorstep. Bus stop outside too. Our room could have done with a little sprucing up however, given the costs it was clean and adequate. Nice area outside hotel to sit and have drinks. Would return.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank carol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Desenzano Del Garda hotels
0 mi away
Hotel Mayer & Splendid
Hotel Mayer & Splendid
#10 of 41 in Desenzano Del Garda
323 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Nazionale
Hotel Nazionale
#1 of 41 in Desenzano Del Garda
670 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alessi Hotel
Alessi Hotel
#20 of 41 in Desenzano Del Garda
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#4 of 41 in Desenzano Del Garda
386 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Desenzano
Hotel Desenzano
#14 of 41 in Desenzano Del Garda
341 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Bonotto
Hotel Bonotto
#6 of 41 in Desenzano Del Garda
859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tripoli Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tripoli Hotel

Address: Piazza Giacomo Matteotti 18, 25015, Desenzano Del Garda, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Desenzano Del Garda
Amenities:
Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 41 Hotels in Desenzano Del Garda
Price Range: £106 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tripoli Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Tripoli Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tripoli Hotel Desenzano Del Garda, Lake Garda, Italy
Hotel Tripoli

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing