We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family trip”
Review of Residence Il Sogno

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Residence Il Sogno
Certificate of Excellence
Lumijoki, Oulu, Finland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Family trip”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Short distance to the city and the lake. Nice big apartments, nice pool. Good for families although they didn´t have a playing area for the kids outside. There was a large lawn but it wasn't for playing. Otherwise this was a really good place for us.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pirkko P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirezioneIlSogno, Segretario di ricevimento at Residence Il Sogno, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Dear Guest,
thank you very much for the time to spend your beautiful review.
We're glad that you enjoyed the apartment. We are waiting for the next holiday with us.
Best Regards. Salvatore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    183
    83
    12
    4
    2
See reviews for
142
72
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We stayed in the hotel in 2 close by apartments we were 5 adults and 3 children.
The apartments were very spacious leaving much space for the lugage, for toys area to the children and for cooking in their kitchen. The kitchen was equipped with everything needed for frying, boiling and microwave heating, plates, bowls and cutlery - all we had to take care of is the raw ingredients.
The hotel is located around 5-8 mintues walk from the historic pedestrian area and 1minute walk from the main street having super markets and delicisous restaurants and 5 minutes drive to the highway for further day trips.
The staff were very polite and helpful, breakfast served was reach.
Will sure stay there again in my next Garda lake visit with children.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yagil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirezioneIlSogno, Segretaria di ricevimento at Residence Il Sogno, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear Yagil,
Many thanks for the time you have dedicated to post this review, it's really difficult to find the right
words to express our happiness and gratitude for such beautiful description of your experience.
We really hope to welcome you back in the future.
Thank you! Best Regards Arianna &Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winterthur, Switzerland
Level Contributor
66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

This hotel is a perfect balance if you're going to the beautiful Desenzan del Garda - it's 5 minutes walk from the town centre, it has really well disigned appartment-like rooms and each room has a spacious balcony. We paid a little extra for the lakke view balcony and were very glad to have done so.
The staff are friendly (we ended up chatting to the night porter on our return from town each night. I can't coment on the breakfast because we opted against paying the extra cost for this.
In summary nice rooms, a great view of the lake, really good location oh and it has free and spacious parking.

Room Tip: Worth paying the extra for the lake view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sammy_A_78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirezioneIlSogno, Segretaria di ricevimento at Residence Il Sogno, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your positive comments about our Residence

It gives us great satisfaction in knowing that you appreciated our location, our decor, our apartments and our balcony.

Looking forward to your return to our Hotel! Best Regards
Arianna & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We stayed at the Il Sogno for four nights and my main memory of the residence is it smelled like raw sewage the whole time! The day we arrived there were trucks all over the street working on the sewers and our room smelled like raw sewage. We were surprised that no one apologized for the smell, so it may be normal? The next day the trucks were gone, but the sewage smell stuck around. We could always tell when we were getting close to the apartment by the smell! Other than the smell, the apartment was nice sized and clean and the location is close to the center of Desenzano and the train station, but it is not run like a four star property which is what they claim to be. Everything is extra -- breakfast is extra, cleaning is extra, towels are extra . . . not four star at all. Even though the temps were in the mid-70's, the air conditioning was not turned on which I was prepared for, but the only windows in the apartment are sliding doors to the balcony so we didn't feel comfortable leaving them open during the day while we were out or at night while we slept. They claim that they have free Wi-Fi, but we were never able to get it in our apartment. There were always people sitting near the front desk with their tablets or laptops, so I guess that is the only place on the property with Wi-Fi.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank floandzach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirezioneIlSogno, Segretaria di ricevimento at Residence Il Sogno, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear guests,
We thank you for the time dedicated to write this review.
We want make some clarifications :
- The truck that you saw in the street who worked to clean the sewers regular maintenance which is done twice a year at a time . The smell in the surrounding area that he felt the same day and the following days was due to a natural phenomenon concerning the decay of algae in the lake combined with the humidity that was in those days. It is a natural phenomenon that occurs a few times a year. For other customers who have requested clarification on we gave the right explanation.
- The rate that you have booked was in Formula Residence , the lowest , which includes only the weekly cleaning with the weekly change of bed linen and towels. It does not include daily cleaning and change towels every day . Everything else in this formula is subject to charges , as is clearly shown on our website and in the general conditions during the booking process . Upon your arrival, it was all written in the instructions delivered . The apartment , with residence formula, has the provision of towels and bed linen base , the only change of towels has a cost. ( For you, in very exceptional cases, we performed the change of both towels for the price of only one change ) The all-inclusive formula or the Formula Hotel include daily cleaning and towels change
- As for the wi-fi connection in the apartments actually there were problems in those days. The service was assured , however, in public areas. Customers who saw in reception was also a bar service .

Sorry for the misunderstanding that there may have been , and we hope to welcome you again.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

A lovely Spring stay at Residence Il Songo.

Apart from the weather on 2 days that is down to God not the hotel ;-), the stay was perfect, lovely clean, bright, spacious apartment, excellent location & all staff helpful.

The only suggestion I could make is place a chopping board / surface protector & small sharp knife in the kitchen, these would of been useful but apart that tiny want, everything was perfect.

We had a 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom, ground floor apartment & for 2 female friends it was all we could wish for, need & more.

We travelled independent, Bergamo, bus followed by train to Desenzano, used ferries & train for days out, the location of the hotel was perfect for this.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TM1235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirezioneIlSogno, Segretaria di ricevimento at Residence Il Sogno, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear guest,
We read with pleasure the comment you have written on your stay at Residence il Sogno and we thank you for letting us know your opinion about it.
It’s always important and rewarding at the same time to notice how a guest appreciates his experience by us. So, we thank you once again for your kind words and we hope to have you again as our guests in future! Thank you, again.
Arianna & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Wonderful place to stay in Desenzona. Great experience overall. Apartments are clean, spacious, comfortable. 5 min walk to city centre. Everyone is very friendly and helpful. Have a spacious garage as well. No restaurant though. Close to a number of restaurants in the city centre.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dinesh9702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirezioneIlSogno, Segretario di ricevimento at Residence Il Sogno, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Guest,
I wish you to thank you for your nice words and we really appreciate the time you spent to write this review. I hope to see you in the next future with all your family, will be my pleasure to welcome you back.

Best Regards.
Salvatore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
488 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 341 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We have travelled extensively this year from Turkey through Europe via Romania, Austria, Germany, France and Italy. Our reviews are based on these experiences in terms of facilities, locations and cost etc.
This booking was the first apartment we had booked on our 17 day travels, and before that, we were really struggling with the food and lack of vegetables. We were therefore extremely positive about our proposed stay at Il Sogno.
We travelled via train and the hotel was about 10 mins walk downhill from the station, quite easy to find. We were early but our room was ready and the check in was friendly and informative. We were given the Girasole apartment, which is on the first floor, directly above reception. The first impressions of the hotel overall, were that it was well kept, the gardens were pretty, the pool was still up and running, in mid-October, but we didn't even bother to dip a toe.
The room was spacious, 'shabby chic' in style, iron bed, distressed bedside table at either side. There was a table and the cooking facilities for us were excellent. Large fridge, and enough cutlery, crockery, pans to cook both breakfast AND meal with veg. TV was ok, no BBC. There was info in the room regarding recycling etc and local facilities. Clean bathroom and towels, shower was hot and powerful.
Balcony with seating and drying rack provided.
The supermarket around the corner was FAB, we bought alcohol, cheaper than previous purchases in Bologna, Padua and Venice. We bought chicken breast, pork, sausages, VEG, cheese, milk, bread etc at very reasonable prices.
The hotel is close to the centre and plentiful shops, restaurants, bars etc.
Negatives for us:
1: Location of our room over the reception increased the noise a little, eg: towel delivery in the morningn and early check out, but the noise was not excessive and security was improved.
2: There was an ashtry on the table on the balcony, which for me is a no no. I would prefer full no smoking area. Although the room did not smell.
3: No luggage rack - again a minor issue but it would prevent people placing cases on the nice bedding.
4: The biggest problem we encountered was the 10am check out. We did store our luggage, as out train did not leave until 1pm. On return to the hotel, we asked the receptionist if we could use a toilet, but she said there weren't any. I think this was more of a language problem, because when we went to the store room, we spoke to the lady who had actually checked us out (who was very pleasant) and she showed us where the toilet was, without a problem.
Positives:
1) Excellent location, facilities, clean, friendly - excellent for touring lake.
Cost = 190E + 4E city tax.
Would definitely recommend and would return, consider booking direct with hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joan t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirezioneIlSogno, Segretaria di ricevimento at Residence Il Sogno, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear guests,
It was a very big pleasure for all of us to receive your kind review and to be honest we were also a bit surprised that you dedicated to us so much attention and precision for describing our Residence.
Thanks again for the comments, critics and suggestions, we appreciate all of them.
We are very sorry for the problem you have had about the toilet. Unfortunately, the girl at the desk was doing an internship and she did not understand your request, the important thing is that everything is resolved.

We hope to have the possibility to welcome you here another time and we will glad if you will contact us directly.
Best Regards
Arianna & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Desenzano Del Garda hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Bonotto
Hotel Bonotto
#4 of 40 in Desenzano Del Garda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Nazionale
Hotel Nazionale
#1 of 40 in Desenzano Del Garda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Piccola Vela
Hotel Piccola Vela
#7 of 40 in Desenzano Del Garda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#3 of 40 in Desenzano Del Garda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Acquaviva del Garda
Hotel Acquaviva del Garda
#8 of 40 in Desenzano Del Garda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
0.8 mi away
Villa Rosa Hotel
Villa Rosa Hotel
#2 of 40 in Desenzano Del Garda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Il Sogno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Il Sogno

Property: Residence Il Sogno
Address: Via Bonvicino 2 A, 25015, Desenzano Del Garda, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Desenzano Del Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Desenzano Del Garda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Residence Il Sogno 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Residence Il Sogno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Il Sogno Hotel
Residence Il Sogno Desenzano Del Garda, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing