We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“second time just as good”
Review of Hotel Nazionale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Nazionale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Stayed here for a week in August 2014 and as last year we were extremely happy with the accommodation and services. The hotel is only 5/6 minutes from the main commercial area of the town and this has advantages as you do not get much noise at night. The room was spotless and all the staff were very helpful. The majority of staff we recognised from last year and I think this illustrates what a well run hotel this is.
One evening we could not leave the hotel but found a very clean carry out across the road which met our eating requirements for one night (Johns)
To Mario and all the staff thanks once again for a lovely holiday.

Room Tip: We chose a room facing the pool.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank coarmaghayes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (657)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Nazionale
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

153 - 159 of 657 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2014

We stayed here in mid July for 11 nights and I must said what a find this hotel is.
As every one says it is very very clean.
The staff were great, very polite and helpful and printing off time tables for the trains and recommendation for restaurants .
There was a party of 4 families staying here and I must say they were the most loud and noisy which spoilt the peace by the pool, the parents seemed unaware of the disruption that they caused, I know that children play but it was all the shouting and screaming.
The manager was very quick to sort out the noise.

I was a little concerned that the walk into town would be hilly ,but no problem at all in fact it was a 10 min walk at the maximum.
what a beautiful town it is ,we were told on the transfer that this is where the locals go for their summer breaks as yes the town at week-end was a busy place with all the locals parading the streets ,a great place for people watching.

A little note for anyone who uses the train its a walk up hill and please please allow yourself plenty of time for your train as the both times we used the train it took us at least 45 minutes to queue for a ticket ,as my husband said it was quicker queuing at Manchester airport !!
We visited Verona this is a must what a delightful town ---stunning .

We also went to Venice and decided to walk from the station to St Marks square it was only by good luck as we sat in a café that the owner told us there was only two bridges that crossed the Grand Canal from where we were. .
The walk was fantastic seeing all the small canals and houses, we much prefer this side of Venice than the very busy side of St Marks.
We ate some excellent food and we have to say the prices are very similar to home although the only alcohol that was cheap was the wine and we always asked for house white which was delicious
We had a lovely time in Italy and yes we hope to return and stay at this lovely hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maisysmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Having just spent 5 nights at this small hotel we didn't want to leave. The hotel is in a fantasic location just a short stroll fron the centre and the lake. Inside the hotel there is a calm atmosphere, the layout is very good and the staff are very pleasant and helpfull. After a few busy days (lots to do-boat on the lake, market day, Mount Baldo, Gardaland) we decided to have a day at the hotel pool. In the afternoon our piece was shattered by a couple of exited children (these were the only children in the hotel) the hotel management quickly spoke to the parents and piece was restored!
The rooms are very nice, as are the bathrooms, both were kept very clean by the daily room service.
Breakfast was better than I had expected it to be, they changed some of the options each day. Latte and cappachino coffee was also available if you asked for it and there was a UK newspaper every day.
Car parking is not an issue, there is plenty of parking available, 2 small car parks outside and an underground carpark all free of charge.
Don't waste your money booking a hotel with more stars there really is no need, this hotel ticks all the boxes. I would deffinately book again.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Stephen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We recently stayed here for 5 nights. Overall we thought the hotel was great. Positives were that it is really clean and modern, it has parking onsite and a short stroll into town. We like Desenzano a lot, though it might not have the wow factor of Sirmione, it has a lovely atmosphere with many restaurants and some shops. Even though we had our car with us, which was good to tour around, it is a place that you don't necessarily need a car as it's close to the ferry terminal too if you wish to explore the lake.

The only things slightly negative points is although most of the staff were good, a couple were a little frosty. The pool was nice, but the area around the pool is rather crowded in with sunbeds pretty close to each other due to lack of space. Probably worse as we were in the busiest peak season of August. We would return to this hotel again as it was on the whole very good.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank ekim_zus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

I have just spent 6 nights at this hotel . It is a modern well equipped medium sized hotel with a nice modern pool area . The staff are pleasant and friendly , the breakfast is delicious and it is a handy 5 minute walk from the town centre . There are also a great restaurant 2 minutes walk away . I would definitely stay here again .

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank paulineDerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

A very nice 7 y/o hotel with nice pool and public areas - would be perfect for small meetings or conferences. Room was spacious, comfy with a patio screened from the pool by flowering shrubs. Bath was roomy, with shelves, rain shower and hand-held. Excellent hot and cold breakfast with in or outdoor seating, well-staffed. Staff, overall, were friendly, helpful. Hotel is located about midway between the train station and the waterfront tourist/restaurant area. It is not well signed. From station, go straight down the hill, turn right at the round about, it is just past the VW dealer, sits back a bit on right.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Visited for a week ending 30 July with my daughter and her grandparents and can't fault this warm and friendly hotel. It's well located a short walk to the centre but also just 10 mims to the station to reach Verona (20m) and Venice (1h30h). The breakfasts are great with a wide choice of cold meats, cheese, fresh fruit, bread, yogurt or hot food but also cakes Nd a chocolate fountain(!) No restaurant but there are sandwiches, lovely salads and pasta dishes available all day. The bar snacks also go beyond crisps to a range of bigger 'nibbles' which is a nice touch.
The pool is nice and very clean, rooms spotless and the lounge/bar area welcoming to everyone. Would definitely recommend.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank CloudEP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Desenzano Del Garda
0.6 mi away
Hotel Bonotto
Hotel Bonotto
#6 of 41 in Desenzano Del Garda
815 reviews
0.4 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#2 of 41 in Desenzano Del Garda
549 reviews
0.8 mi away
Villa Rosa Hotel
Villa Rosa Hotel
#3 of 41 in Desenzano Del Garda
871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Piccola Vela
Hotel Piccola Vela
#4 of 41 in Desenzano Del Garda
336 reviews
2.2 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#7 of 41 in Desenzano Del Garda
645 reviews
8.0 mi away
Enjoy Garda Hotel
Enjoy Garda Hotel
#1 of 28 in Peschiera del Garda
936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nazionale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nazionale

Address: Via Marconi 23, 25015, Desenzano Del Garda, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Desenzano Del Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 41 Hotels in Desenzano Del Garda
Price Range: £84 - £259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Nazionale 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Nazionale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nazionale Hotel Desenzano Del Garda
Hotel Nazionale Desenzano Del Garda, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing