We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Piccola Vela
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Lido International(Desenzano Del Garda)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Estee Hotel(Desenzano Del Garda)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Plaza(Desenzano Del Garda)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Nazionale(Desenzano Del Garda)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Residence Il Sogno(Desenzano Del Garda)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
City Hotel(Desenzano Del Garda)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tripoli Hotel(Desenzano Del Garda)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Mayer & Splendid(Desenzano Del Garda)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Giardinetto(Desenzano Del Garda)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Piroscafo(Desenzano Del Garda)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (355)
Filter reviews
355 results
Traveller rating
227
101
23
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
227
101
23
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslemon gardenrear gardena lovely small hotellake gardaminute walk to the town centrepre dinner drinkstravelled with inghamshotel bikesfamily roomrisottoenjoyed the pool areakept immaculately cleanswimming poolstaff were all very helpfuldefinitely return to this hotela fairly busy roadplenty of loungers
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
135 - 140 of 355 reviews
Reviewed 21 July 2013

My wife and I have just spent a week at the Piccola Vela-and we cannot praise it enough.Facilties are first class,the rooms are roomy, and have everything you need and the hotel provides towels to use when out by the excellent swimming pool. We had only booked B/B but ended up having our evening meal in the hotel every night-no-the food is not cheap but the quality of is excellent with ,plenty of choice and we received a 15% reduction on listed prices. Nino and Glenda looked after us so well in the dinning room and all the staff were polite,respectful and really made you feel special.So all we can say is 'don't change anything-you have certainly got it right!!

Room Tip: We had room 25 -overlooking the garden-very quiet.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 602WRD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
piccolavela, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Piccola Vela, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2013

Dear customer, thank you for this detailed review. We are happy that the stay was nice. Nino and Glenda are thanked for their compliments. See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

This was our first visit to Desenzano, which was made all the more special by our stay at Piccola Vela. Only a short walk down a very slight hill to the water side. The staff couldn't do enough to help us make the most of our stay. The buffet style breakfast was lovely over looking the pool, our waiter Neno had a smile for us every morning and a good knowledge of the area, and the front of house staff were great too especially Dieago.
Our twin room had a balcony and a lake view, which was lovely, having previously stayed in Riva Del Garda in a rather small room, I was pleasantly surprised by the size of our room at Piccola Vela, with all the amenities you would expect from a hotel in the uk.
I cannot wait to return to Desenzano and intend on staying again at this hotel which provided peaceful and restful nights away from the nightlight in the centre of Desenzano

Room Tip: You could try sending an email in advance requesting a lake view, I did, and wasn't disappointed
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
piccolavela, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Piccola Vela, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2013

Dear Karen, thank you for your review so detailed and beautiful. Nino and Diego also thank you for the compliments. We are waiting again for a future stay. Bye

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

We have just returned from a week's stay in Desenzano on Lake Garda. It was our first visit to the Lakes and staying at the delightful Hotel Piccolo Vela was just the best first experience we could wish for. We had a lovely garden room which was spacious with a great en-suite bath and shower room and a lovely terrace overlooking the garden at the rear of the hotel.
The interior of the hotel is gracefully furnished and along with touches like umbrellas and plants by the entrance, books and sofas in what feels like a garden room since the doors open out on to the terrace and garden, the stylish salon bar leading into the elgant dining room and having breakfast overlooking the pool, all added up to not wanting to leave; we would have happily stayed on for a second week! Desenzano is just what you hope an Italian town will be with numerous restaurants and cafes, great ferry services out on to the Lake for trips out to other towns and even its own Venetian bridge over a little harbour. Definitely intending to return to Desenzano and the hotel Piccolo Vela.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the garden are away from the road at the front Mattresses are FIRM, but king-size beds are larger than UK No robes are provided so take your own
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank moviemaniac8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
piccolavela, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Piccola Vela, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2013

Dear guest, thank you, thank you and thank you for the wonderful review. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and in our city Desenzano. We wait again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

I recently spent 3 nights here with a friend. We wanted to visit Verona but decided to stay by the lake and travel in by train. The hotel is lovely, small and very tastefully decorated. It is 5 minutes walk from the lake and 20 mins from the railway station. The staff were friendly and helpful. The buffet breakfast was good and the view as we ate overlooked the pool and beyond the trees we could see the lake and mountains.No kettle in room to make drinks, however we asked for a tray of tea and coffee and it arrived including biscuits.

Room Tip: We were at the back overlooking the garden, very quiet and pretty.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rosemary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
piccolavela, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Piccola Vela, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2013

Dear Rosemary, thanks for the detailed review. Sorry for the boiler, unfortunately it is not very common in Italy but we are happy to have been able to remedy with the preparation of tea by our staff. goodbye

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights (May 4 -7th, 13) Hotel staff were exceptional, very helpful and pleasant. We ate in the Hotel restaurant one evening, the food was fantastic and reasonable priced. The breakfast was continental, with a range of cereals, fruit, cheeses and salami, again excellent.

A great base to explore the wonderful sites of Lake Garda. I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VickyP01275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
piccolavela, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Piccola Vela, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2013

Thanks Vicky for the wonderful review. We are looking forward to stay again in the Piccola Vela Hotel for a future stay. Bye

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews