We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Piccola Vela
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Desenzano(Desenzano Del Garda)
US$176
US$172
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Acquaviva del Garda(Desenzano Del Garda)
US$192
US$161
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Europa(Desenzano Del Garda)(Great Value!)
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Bonotto(Desenzano Del Garda)(Great Value!)
US$127
US$124
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Palace Hotel(Desenzano Del Garda)
US$193
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Park Hotel(Desenzano Del Garda)
US$292
US$280
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Villa Rosa Hotel(Desenzano Del Garda)
US$357
US$343
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Admiral Hotel Villa Erme(Desenzano Del Garda)(Great Value!)
US$114
US$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$139
US$122
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alessi Hotel(Desenzano Del Garda)(Great Value!)
US$111
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (355)
Filter reviews
355 results
Traveller rating
227
101
23
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
227
101
23
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslemon gardenrear gardena lovely small hotellake gardaminute walk to the town centrepre dinner drinkstravelled with inghamshotel bikesfamily roomrisottoenjoyed the pool areakept immaculately cleanswimming poolstaff were all very helpfuldefinitely return to this hotela fairly busy roadplenty of loungers
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
126 - 131 of 355 reviews
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We selected this hotel based solely upon the reviews within Trip Advisor, and I do not believe that we could have made a better choice. The Nazionale rated higher, but we preferred something less modern with more character, and the Piccola Vela is certainly that, it was simply outstanding. There was nothing I could find fault with. Our room, with a balcony overlooking the lake just a couple of hundred yards away, and with a beautiful red tiled bathroom, was superb and kept immaculately clean. The food was great, especially having breakfast each morning by the pool within a beautiful garden setting, and the excellent staff go out of their way to make your stay as pleasant as possible, nothing being too much trouble for them. This hotel just oozes class. Desenzano itself is the perfect location for exploring the Lake Garda area, with good bus and train links to all the major towns and cities. The town itself exceeded our expectations, full of character, lively and friendly, a truly lovely place in which to stay. It was just the most perfect holiday.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roger M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
piccolavela, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Piccola Vela, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2013

Dear guest, thank you for such a positive review and for having so well described our hotel. We wait again for another stay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Then this is the place for you. We spent a week in this hotel (31 August to 7th Sept.). But first why Desenzano? We were deliberate about the choice of Desenzano because it offered two opportunities. Firstly access to Lake Garda and secondly it is on the Milan to Venice express rail line giving access to Milan, Verona, Vicenza, Padua and Venice (of course). We visited Verona and Mantua the setting for Verdi's best opera Rigolleto. If you are a Scot also The Admirable Crichton is buried there. Vicenza was my highlight as it is home to most of the architecture of Andrea Palladio. If a highlight can have a highlight the visit to the Villa Capra La "Rotonda" qualifies (be careful it closes for lunch). Lake Garda is well documented so I won't dwell on it. One "disappointment" however was that I/we did not realise we were so close to the battlefield of Solforino - the last battle where the armies were led by ruling monarchs and also the battle which lead to the founding of the Red Cross.
Densenzano can best be described as lively, especially at night and very especially at weekends. However the Piccola Vela is about 5 - 10 mins. outside the centre such that noise was never a problem.
Some hotels excel because of their location, some because of their public spaces, I'm thinking of the Danielli in Venice - OK!!! So I'm a namedropper. The Piccola Vela excels because of its staff. They manage to tread that fine line between being helpful but not fawning, efficient but not clinical. In all, they make this hotel the jewel that it is. They should all get a 100% pay rise. We were truly sorry to leave.

Room Tip: We were given room number 29 which had a smaller balcony than the others as an adjacent store room "bit" into it. Also what was described as a "garden view" in Crystal's literature turned out to overlook the drying green of the nearby apartments - so if you want a room with a view then ---
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Inchconnachan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
piccolavela, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Piccola Vela, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2013

Dear guest, thank you for your review on our hotel. We are happy that you spent a good stay at the Hotel Piccola Vela and Deasenzano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

What a find, this hotel is fantastic. Friendly helpful staff, great location, good selection for breakfast, rooms were clean, fresh, spacious and modern. My husband has just stated a 2 year assignment in Milan and this little gem will certainly be our weekend getaway

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BACinUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
piccolavela, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Piccola Vela, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2013

Dear guest, thank you for your review on our hotel. We still expect to spend free time with us and on Lake Garda. Bye!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Just spend a wonderfull week at this hotel. Incredible friendly staff and very nice and clean rooms. This is a family run business and they know how to take care of their customers. If you appreciate a friendly staff this hotel is highly recommended. Other then that they have a lovely garden with nice swimming pool and putting green. Breakfast is very nice and can be taken outside at the pool.

Room Tip: we stayed in the garden which is a more quite then in the front of the hotel.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nico c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
piccolavela, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Piccola Vela, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2013

Dear Nico, thank you for your review. Thank you also for all the compliments! We are happy of your lovely stay at the hotel. bye

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We have recently returned from two weeks at the piccola vela in Desenzano on a bed and breakfast basis and enjoyed our stay very much. The staff were very helpful and we took much of their advise on the best places to visit, especially the museum in Brescia which is well worth a visit and we wouldn't have tried. We were able to use the hotel bikes and as the area is so flat we got around easily. Breakfast was satisfactory although no hot food was available as standard. The rooms were clean and comfortable, although I was unimpressed with the bathroom that needed a serious upgrade, especially the hair dryer which I gave up on as it would of taken hours to dry my long hair. Desenzano town is a 5 minute walk and the town is pretty and full of life. Having visited other areas we were very glad we went there as was busy and had music on some evenings. BEWARE OF THE FERRY'S they are expensive, the bus timetable needs understanding so ask your rep and the trains don't run mid morning when you would want them. BUT we had a fab holiday and were glad of the laid back feel of Hotel Piccola Vela. No need to stay half board as there are plenty of restaurants in Desenzano.

Room Tip: We asked for a room with balcony on booking and were given a side room with balcony
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne maire L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
piccolavela, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Piccola Vela, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2013

Dear Anna Maire, Thank you for your review. We are happy you enjoyed the hotel and our beloved city Desenzano. We are very sorry for the inconvenience of the hair dryer. Hope see you again. Ciao!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews