We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Piccola Vela

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Piccola Vela
Certificate of Excellence
Lee on the Solent
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely place to stay”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

The best hotel we have stayed in. Perfect location on the outskirts of Desenzano the largest town on Lake Garda. About a five to seven minute walk to the town centre which is quiet in the day but lively in the evening. The staff at the hotel made us very welcome and were always really helpful. The room was really lovely, spotlessly clean and had everything we needed. We had a room at the side of the hotel and we could see out towards the lake and mountains from our balcony. There is a lovely garden at the rear of the hotel and the swimming pool at the front which was immaculately kept. Desenzano is a great location to stay as it has a local train station and ferries to other towns and villages situated on the lake. It is possible to do a day trip to Venice from here which we did and had a fabulous time. Would not hesitate to recommend this friendly hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
piccolavela, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Piccola Vela, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Dear Janet, what satisfaction read the first line you wrote! Thank you for choosing Piccola Vela Hotel and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    178
    88
    20
    1
    2
See reviews for
58
151
9
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Described as a friendly, family run hotel & that is exactly what it was. We had a room on the first floor, to the side of the hotel & we had a nice view of the lake & mountains. The rooms were clean & had everything you need, inc a hairdryer . Room big enough with twin beds. The hotel has a large mature at the rear with sun loungers & a pool at the front. The hotel is on a busy road, but we had no problem with noise. It was very convenient for the centre of Desenzano, approx 5 min walk, but far enough away not to be disturbed by music & noise from the wine bars & restaurants. Desenzano was very convenient for trips to other towns on the lake & verona. There are ferry's, buses & a train station. We went on a trip around the lake (which was well worth while) , wine tour & trip to verona, all excellent. People staying further up the lake, spent a lot longer on the coach for these trips & when travelling to the airport. Excellent hotel & destination.

Room Tip: First or second floor. Front rooms may have traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
piccolavela, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Piccola Vela, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Dear Debbie, thank you for writing the review and thanks to the beautiful words about Piccola Vela Hotel and our city, Desenzano. Hope to see You again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

This hotel was situated on the main road into Desenzano but you don't really hear the traffic,day or night except for the occasional fast driver. It is a 10min walk into a lovely small lakeside town. The rooms all have balconies and on the side of the rear gardens is a block of other rooms which in think were for families or people with pets. The breakfast is buffet style which you could have inside or out on the patio. Because we were booked in as only bed and breakfast,we mainly ate out in the town although the hotel has a dining room but most times it seemed to be empty in the evening. We did have a meal halfway through the week and it was beautifully cooked but we thought a bit expensive. I would heartingly recommend this hotel to everyone.

Room Tip: Our room was No37 which was on the back overlooking the garden. Very quiet and because I am a bad sl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andrew s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
piccolavela, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Piccola Vela, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank You Andrew for your rewiev with many useful details. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We cannot fault this beautiful, family run hotel. This was our first 'package' holiday in over 20 years (we prefer to travel independently) so were a bit apprehensive, but the Piccola Vela could not have been any better. The staff were always on hand to answer any question, bring us anything we wanted whenever we wanted it, but stayed out of the picture when we just wanted some time to ourselves. The pool was a very welcome bonus at the end of a hot day, as was our comfortable, well fitted bedroom/bathroom. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to couples of all ages, and is especially ideal for those of us who like a little bit of luxury in our middle age! If I had to give a heads-up about anything it would be that the hotel is located near a fairly busy road, but weirdly when you're sitting around the pool (at the front of the building) sipping a cold beer and reading a good book the sound of the traffic fades away into the scent of jasmin and the twittering birds that make their home in the lovely gardens. We had a room at the rear of the hotel (a garden view room booked through Thompson Holidays) and it was as quiet as a mouse. For the money you'll pay this is about as good as it gets.

Room Tip: Get a garden view room rather than a lake view room if you want it quieter at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
piccolavela, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Piccola Vela, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Malcolm, thank you for your review with a lots of details and a great description of the hotel. We hope to see you again in Desenzano del Garda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karlovy Vary, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We stayed in this hotel last year in August and I have to say, that everything was excellent. The staff was very helpful and rooms were clean. We enjoyed breakfast each morning in the area next to the swimming pool. Combined with the fact, that Desenzano by itself is a beautiful place, the stay had no negatives. It is important to point out that the hotel actually has two parts, the first is the hotel by itself and the second are small double floor villas in the garden, which we used, as we had kids with us. If you travel with kids, then it is better to stay in the villa, otherwise stay in the hotel but ask for a room on higher floors with a breathtaking view of the Garda lake.

Room Tip: Rooms in the front part of the hotel on higher floors have a beautiful view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 8FrankS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
piccolavela, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Piccola Vela, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear Frank, thank you very much for the wonderful review, it's nice to receive such compliments from our guest. We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Stayed here as part of Great Railway Journey Tour. Garden room was very comfortable and quite spacious and clean bathroom with both bath and separate shower cubicle .5 minute walk to centre of town and lakeside.

Food was good but New Years Eve dinner was nearly all fish courses and they seemed to be in a constant state of chaos when it came to tallying up cost of drinks served at the table.
Staff however were friendly and very helpful . Hotel tries hard to be a 4 star but it's not quite there yet. However would not hesitate to recommend .

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manwithsuitcase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
piccolavela, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Piccola Vela, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear guest, thanks for the positive review. we hope to see you soon in our hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haguenau, France
Level Contributor
145 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Located in the city the hotel is nice.
Parking available in the hotel. late arrival possible

The room (59) was Ok , but a little bit smal vs the size of the bed.
Nice breackfest for an hotel in Italy
The rate acording the quality was Ok

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alain M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
piccolavela, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Piccola Vela, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Alain thanks for the positive review. we hope to see you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Desenzano Del Garda hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Nazionale
Hotel Nazionale
#2 of 40 in Desenzano Del Garda
606 reviews
0.6 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#3 of 40 in Desenzano Del Garda
509 reviews
0.9 mi away
Villa Rosa Hotel
Villa Rosa Hotel
#1 of 40 in Desenzano Del Garda
814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Acquaviva del Garda
Hotel Acquaviva del Garda
#8 of 40 in Desenzano Del Garda
732 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Bonotto
Hotel Bonotto
#4 of 40 in Desenzano Del Garda
705 reviews
1.9 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#5 of 40 in Desenzano Del Garda
608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Piccola Vela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Piccola Vela

Property: Hotel Piccola Vela
Address: Viale Tommaso Dal Molin 36, 25015, Desenzano Del Garda, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Desenzano Del Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Desenzano Del Garda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Piccola Vela 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Piccola Vela Hotel, a magnificent villa on the shores of Lake Garda and near Desenzano city center, offers its guests extensive space to relax in the peace of its garden, by the beautiful internal rooms, or at the solarium pool. The hotel rooms are equipped with: Air Conditioning, Telephone, Bath or Shower, Satellite TV with free Mediaset Premium, WI-FI, Minibar, Safe, Hair Dryer Piccola Vela Hotel is also the ideal place for private and business events The meeting rooms are equipped with: sound system, audio recording, video projector, overhead projector, free wifi. The elegant à la carte restaurant with reservation, offers the best of traditional Italian dishes and international cuisine. The hotel also has a large garage and outdoor parking, lounges for reading, a bar with table service. The reception with multilingual staff, is open 24 hours on 24 and offers tourist information and booking service to sightseeing tour. There are bicycles and mountain bikes to rent. The hotel has also joined the project Bike Hospitality, respecting the standards of cyclists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Piccola Vela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Piccola Vela Hotel
Hotel Piccola Vela Desenzano Del Garda, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing