We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”
Review of Hotel Piccola Vela

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Piccola Vela
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 August 2014

My husband and I stayed here two weeks ago and I couldn't fault it. I agree with other revues as being a friendly,clean and helpful place to stay. We ate a few times in the restaurant and couldn't
fault it. It was close to the town but still far enough away from "bustle". For us who usually do self catering. " It was just what the doctor ordered" !! Thank you.

Room Tip: Room at back was quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank myrtles41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
piccolavela, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Piccola Vela, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Daer myrtles41, we thank you for writing the review.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay

We hope to see you again in Desenzano del Garda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (348)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 348 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2014

Just got back from a 14 night stay at this hotel with my wife and son and can not praise it enough. Rooms were very comfortably and immaculately clean. All staff were very helpful and pleasant especially Adam one of the waiters who seemed to be always there to greet you and have a chat. Highly recommend this hotel and would stay here again if visiting northern Italy.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Julian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
piccolavela, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Piccola Vela, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Julian, thank you for writing a review about Hotel Piccola Vela.

Adam says thank you for the compliments

We hope to have you as our guest again in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the hotel for seven nights the first week in august. The staff made us feel really welcome!! The hotel is clean, charming, close to the beautiful city, and have both a nice garden and a pool - as well as a restaurant and a bar - nice to relax! Good breakfast, lovely coffee, serviceminded staff and nice rooms with AC. We loved it!

We will come again!

Stayed: August 2014
Thank tantes0fie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
piccolavela, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Piccola Vela, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear tantes0fie , thanks from all the hotel staff for the wonderful review.
We are happy that your stay was enjoyable.
We hope to see you soon

Greetings

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

My wife & I stayed here for eleven nights and had a great stay. The hotel is well sited with attractive gardens. The room was a good size with a balcony and large bathroom. The cleaning service could not be faulted and the hotel was spacious without being overpowering. The pool was a good size with plenty of poolside seating. It was on the road side of the hotel but the traffic noise was not distracting. We had bed & breakfast accommodation, as we like to try the local restaurants wherever we stay but there was a restaurant in the hotel if required. The breakfast was excellent and could not be faulted. There was an enormous selection of cereals, fresh fruit, rolls, pastries, cheeses and hams, etc. It would be hard think of something that was not available. Best of all was the friendly attentive staff throughout the hotel. Everyone made you feel genuinely welcome and were anxious to help in any way. You felt like one of the family when you came down to breakfast by the pool in the morning.
The hotel is situated close to the busy & interesting resort of Desenzano, from which you can ferries to the other resorts on Lake Garda. There were plenty of very good restaurants in the town and we ate at eight of these and would happily have returned to all of them (and did some!). The ice cream parlours were a must after each meal.
The only drawback with the hotel was that there was only one English speaking TV station (and that was the useless BBC World Service) so being Wimbledon Week I had no idea what was happening back home. Do not forget your iPad!
We would certainly stay here again and would be happy to recommend the hotel and the resort.

Room Tip: We booked through Thomson Lakes & Mountains and included a balcony in our booking. We were on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
piccolavela, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Piccola Vela, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Mick, thank you for your review with so many details.

We are really happy that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel.
We are sorry for the English channels, we have information channels in English, but the entertainment channels are positioned on different platforms tv.

We hope to have you again as our guest.

Greetings

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We were a family consisting of 8 adults travelling through Europe. We had a 2 night stay at this wonderful hotel in Lake Garda. We all agreed this hotel rated 10 out of 10. The hotel staff were extremely friendly and cheerful and we could always find someone willing to help us with anything we wanted or needed. The 4 rooms we had were all different, very nice and spotlessly clean. We would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting this area and it's only a 5 min walk to the main town centre

Room Tip: One of our couples requested a room overlooking the lake so we made our booking direct with the hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
piccolavela, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Piccola Vela, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Michael, thanks for your review.
We are really happy that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel.
We hope to have you again as our guest

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

After reading the great reviews of this hotel, decided to book for four nights in July for my husband and I. Was impressed with the service, standards of cleanliness and size of rooms. Pool was lovely. Less than 10 minute walk to the ferries around Lake Garda and restaurants and bars. Only small point is the breakfast, which could be of a better standard, however this is often the case in hotels in Italy.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank haggishunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
piccolavela, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Piccola Vela, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear haggishunter , thanks for leaving a comment about our hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Our breakfasts have always been a very important point for us, we use fresh quality Italian products, but we will always improve. Hope See you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We stayed 7 days at Piccolo Vela. The staff was very service minded and friendly. Always with a smile and eager to help. Good breakfast, nice pool, lovely gardens and good location. I would definitely choose this hotel again.

Room Tip: Rooms in separate building in the back garden is quiet and has a nice porch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Anne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
piccolavela, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Piccola Vela, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear Anne,
Thank You very much for your comment so positive! We are happy that you enjoyed you stay here.
Greetings

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Desenzano Del Garda hotels
0.6 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#2 of 41 in Desenzano Del Garda
586 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Bonotto
Hotel Bonotto
#6 of 41 in Desenzano Del Garda
850 reviews
0.9 mi away
Villa Rosa Hotel
Villa Rosa Hotel
#3 of 41 in Desenzano Del Garda
892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Nazionale
Hotel Nazionale
#1 of 41 in Desenzano Del Garda
667 reviews
1.9 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#7 of 41 in Desenzano Del Garda
691 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Acquaviva del Garda
Hotel Acquaviva del Garda
#9 of 41 in Desenzano Del Garda
834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Piccola Vela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Piccola Vela

Address: Viale Tommaso Dal Molin 36, 25015, Desenzano Del Garda, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Desenzano Del Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Desenzano Del Garda
Price Range: £91 - £206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Piccola Vela 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Piccola Vela Hotel, a magnificent villa on the shores of Lake Garda and near Desenzano city center, offers its guests extensive space to relax in the peace of its garden, by the beautiful internal rooms, or at the solarium pool. The hotel rooms are equipped with: Air Conditioning, Telephone, Bath or Shower, Satellite TV with free Mediaset Premium, WI-FI, Minibar, Safe, Hair Dryer Piccola Vela Hotel is also the ideal place for private and business events The meeting rooms are equipped with: sound system, audio recording, video projector, overhead projector, free wifi. The elegant à la carte restaurant with reservation, offers the best of traditional Italian dishes and international cuisine. The hotel also has a large garage and outdoor parking, lounges for reading, a bar with table service. The reception with multilingual staff, is open 24 hours on 24 and offers tourist information and booking service to sightseeing tour. There are bicycles and mountain bikes to rent. The hotel has also joined the project Bike Hospitality, respecting the standards of cyclists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Piccola Vela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Piccola Vela Hotel
Hotel Piccola Vela Desenzano Del Garda, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing