We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous holiday”
Review of Hotel Piroscafo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Piroscafo
Certificate of Excellence
East Ayrshire, Scotland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous holiday”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We had a lovely two week holiday at the Hotel Piroscafo June/July 2014. The hotel is situated on an ancient harbour and the view from the balcony is beautiful. The staff are so polite, hard working and helpful. The sheets and towels were changed daily. The continental breakfast was more than adequate. The hotel sits on the town square and many nights musicians came along to entertain us. A lot of these ended with dancing and the square was full of laughter. The restaurants around the harbour were all excellent. There is an good train service and . Verona and Milan are easily accessible by train. The ferries, too, were reliable and it was nice to visit other towns on the lake. We holidayed with our daughter and son-in-law from Australia and they were enchanted by Lake Garda. I cannot think of a better place to celebrate our 50th wedding anniversary.

Room Tip: We asked for, and got, a first floor room near the lift, which I don't think goes all the way to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Annbluesky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    125
    26
    4
    1
See reviews for
40
177
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 July 2014

This hotel is ideally situated.
Central, station close by, water taxis across the road and restaurants all around.
The staff were most accommodating, friendly and helpful.
Beautiful walks along the lake. Lake Garda is stunning and many towns to explore!
I recommend Piroscafo highly!
Grazie,
Marisa.

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank isolabella3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

Having spent a couple of days in Garda in a rather more up market and expensive hotel overlooking the lake, first impressions of the Piroscafo were not particularly good. The entrance is less than inspiring and our mood was not helped by the lack of lift to our third floor room. However, taking price into account, I have to admit that the hotel was good value and we warmed to the place during our 3 night stay. The central location in the pedestrianised area overlooking the small harbour was a definite plus and came into its own in the evening when the surrounding restaurants came to life. We particularly enjoyed experiencing the town's "White Night" event when the locals stay out til the small hours socialising in restaurants and bars drinking Aperol spritz, while being entertained by a variety of singing groups. Two minutes walk to the lakeside and five minutes from the ferry terminal make this hotel ideal for exploring Lake Garda generally.
Our room was of a good size and the bed comfortable. The bathroom was clean but rather old fashioned (green tiles) and we struggled with the fluctuating temperature of the hand held shower over the bath.
Breakfast was less than inspiring. Orange juice was dispensed by a machine and tasted of sweet squash and the coffee lacked flavour. However, the rest of the standard "continental" offering of cheese, cold ham etc was adequate.
Staff here were rather more reserved than those we encountered in other hotels during our trip - not unhelpful, just not very warm. Free Wi-Fi was much appreciated.
With a little effort (and investment) I feel the owners could make a measurable improvement to their offering, and dare I say it, command a higher room rate. But that is for them to decide. In the meantime, given the location and good value for money, I would be happy to return.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Rothenhof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

On arrival the setting in which the hotel is situated is absolutely lovely just as you imagine. Desanzano is a wonderful place to base yourself with excellent restaurants and cafe's all around we found the ones which were up the small back streets to be a better standard but all we're very good. Whilst we were there we saw that the staff were extremely helpful to people who were in wheelchairs which was good to see. We could recommend going to sirmione and caught the ferry across to use the natural warm springs at Aquaria with saunas and steam rooms it was a great experience. Can recommend Verona as well on the regionalle train was only €3.80 and is only 30 minutes so not a long journey. All in all the place is very nice and the hotel is excellent would not hesitate to recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jamesandsheila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Spent 7 nights at the Hotel Piroscafo from 9th June 2014. We had a really good week thanks largely to the hotel and it's terrific location. We were lucky enough to have a room with a balcony overlooking the picturesque harbour.

The room was quite small, but comfortable, with air conditioning and en suite bathroom. The only slight issue we had was the very small shower tray which meant you ended up with the shower curtain clinging to you. However, that wasn't really an issue and with the room having maid attention every day of our stay we really had no complaints at all.

Breakfast is continental buffet style and with the glorious weather we had, we ate every day outside overlooking the small harbour. A fantastic way to start the day. The staff were also very friendly and helpful.

The Piroscafo's main attraction though is it's position in Desenzano. It sits right in front of one of the most delightful small harbours in Europe, One minute walk to the ferry, and the lakeside 30 seconds walk to the tourist information and less than a minute to several restaurants and bars.

Desenzano is an ideal destination on Lake Garda if your plans include (like us) visits to Venice, Verona and Milan. The Piroscafo is the ideal destination in Desenzano.

Room Tip: A room overlooking the Venetian harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan_Bateson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We stayed in the Piroscafo for 3 nights in June 2014. I booked the hotel due to it's excellent reviews on this website and Tripadvisor. The hotel is situated right on the front of the very pretty old harbour right in the middle of Desenzano. Everything is within walking distance.

We had a room which did not look out over the harbour and if I were to visit again I would pay the extra for the view and the balcony as this was very nice and got a lot of the daily sunshine. The hotel does have a roof terrace which all visitors can use from sunrise to sunset. This also looks over the harbour and is a great place to sit.

Our room was very big, as was the bathroom, with shower and bidet. There free bathroom products were good as well. The breakfast was fine, continental style and it was nice to be able to eat breakfast outside.

The free wifi was excellent and was the best reception/speed we had all holiday.

We stayed in Desenzano because it was accessible by train. The walk to Desenzano waterfront (and hotel) is about 15 minutes downhill from the train station. You might want to consider a taxi for the return trip to the station as it is all back up hill.

If I was to visit Desenzano again I would definitely stay at the Piroscafo, which we thought well priced.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brown9952173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roslyn, New York
Level 6 Contributor
359 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Right in the heart of Desenzano and only a few blocks from the ferries. The hotel overlooks a small inlet where fishermen moor their rowboats. We could actually see one of the restaurants we ate in from our terrace, Breakfast which was included was the typical continental fare you get throughout most of Italy. The only negative was the size of the room as it was one of the smallest I have ever stayed in. Not even enough room for a chair. Location is what makes this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrandPaRuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Desenzano Del Garda hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bonotto
Hotel Bonotto
#6 of 40 in Desenzano Del Garda
741 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Mayer & Splendid
Hotel Mayer & Splendid
#10 of 40 in Desenzano Del Garda
289 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Nazionale
Hotel Nazionale
#1 of 40 in Desenzano Del Garda
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#2 of 40 in Desenzano Del Garda
531 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#4 of 40 in Desenzano Del Garda
313 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alessi Hotel
Alessi Hotel
#20 of 40 in Desenzano Del Garda
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Piroscafo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Piroscafo

Property: Hotel Piroscafo
Address: Via Porto Vecchio 11, 25015, Desenzano Del Garda, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Desenzano Del Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Desenzano Del Garda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Piroscafo 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ownership and the management of the Hotel Piroscafo by the Segattini family originates at the early part of the last century. At that time transport on the lake was by sailboats which could enter into the harbour. Travellers found accommodation and food in the hostelry known as Locanda Stella. The final renovation of the building was carried out at the start of the 1980's and the business took on the present characteristics, that of an hotel in a central location with a view of the quaint old harbour. It is of particular delight to those visitors who wish to stay in the traditional centre of Desenzano, taking advantage of the comforts that only the centre can offer: proximity to shops, restaurants and bars, the port and the other amenities of a typical small lakeside town. From the terrace on the first floor one has a privileged view of the main square of the town and guests may relax or sun bathe there, taking advantage of the bar service or the shows and concerts organised by the town council in the evenings during summer. The Hotel is equipped with a lift that serves nearly all rooms: only a few rooms need to be accessed by the stairs.The rooms are soberly furnished with modern and linear furnishings, equipped with colour SAT TV, direct telephone line, safe, air conditioning and internet Wi-Fi connection. All rooms are equipped with private bathroom, with shower or bath tube and hairdryer. Some have a small exclusive balcony with view on the harbour or direct access to the communal terrace situated on the first floor, and they could be booked on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Piroscafo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Piroscafo Hotel Desenzano Del Garda
Hotel Piroscafo Desenzano Del Garda, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing