We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Value Hotel - Excellent Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Vittorio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Vittorio
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good Value Hotel - Excellent Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

I know a few people who have been to Lake Garda and everyone seems to have the same story....Lake Garda isn amazing, but our hotel was not. It seems that due to it's amazing location, the hotels and B&Bs can get away with being less that great.

Hotel Vittoria was actually pretty good value and a nice hotel - but please note that I am comparing this to the standard of mid-range hotels in Lake Garda, and not mid range hotels generally.


Positives:

1. The staff are all lovely, say hello and help you out wherever they can booking taxi and tours and will even lend you a bottle opener if you need one.

2. Location/view - Unless youre willing to pay sky high prices this is probably the best view you will get in Descenzano. It is right on the sea front and near all the restaurants and bars. You can can practically sleep walk yourself to the ferry port to catch the first ferry in the morning. In saying that, if youre not willing to pay the extra for the sea view room, there are probably cheaper places you can stay and get a similar standard room. We had a sea view room and as it was our honeymoon asked if we could have "thier best view" - we were given a room on the first floor which had a HUGE terrace rather than a small balcony - so if you don't mind sending a cheeky email - ask for this room!

3. The breakfast selection is quite good. Again, I am comparing this to breakfasts in italian resorts, so don't go expecting a full english or blueberry pancakes. Its a good continental buffet with cerieal, pastries, cakes, scambled eggs and toast. however by day 6 we were pretty bored of being served exactly the same selection everyday.
The Negatives

1. If you are hoping for a relaxing quiet stay this may not be the hotel for you. It is RIGHT next to the marina which is the hub for bars and restaurants. We were there over the August bank holiday and it was party central. We are young, so were not returning to our hotel until quite late and enjoyed the lively atmosphere.... but if you like your early nights definitely don't book this hotel when the italians are in Lake Garda to party.

3. The plumbing lets say, must be ancient at this hotel. A few times we were woken in the night by noises from pipes roaring loudly as the heating came off and on. We got used to it but it was irritating...


Overall its a great place to stay if you want easy access to public transport and a send to none view of the lake.

Room Tip: ask for the room with the terrace balcony on the first floor - it's over twice the size!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smitlaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    97
    24
    5
    4
See reviews for
47
131
2
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Caerphilly
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Desenzano and particularly at Hotel Vittorio. The location was perfect and it was great value for money.

My family and I flew to Verona and caught the airport bus to Verona train station, then the train to Desenzano, and walked down the hill to the hotel. We booked the hotel based on previous good reviews and its location in Desenzano. It was easy to find and when we arrived we had a very pleasant surprise to find the hotel was opposite the harbour and close to all the shops and restaurants as well as the ferry port. On arrival we found the reception staff were welcoming and very helpful throughout our stay. The dining room staff were also very polite and helpful.

We had a double and triple room both on the third floor next to each other and with balcony. We had fabulous panorama views of the lake and harbour from the balcony. Both rooms were of a good size, clean and very comfortable and there was a fridge in both rooms. The double room had a shower and the triple room had a bath with overhead shower.

Breakfast was buffet style and there was plenty of choice, including streaky bacon, scrambled egg, chipolata sausages, cereal, range of cold meats, bread rolls, fruit, pastries, fruit juice and a choice of tea or coffee.

Desenzano is a great destination in terms of travelling by train as it is on the Milan to Venice main train line. The hotel is within walking distance of the railway station, it took us about 20 minutes going to the station as it was mostly uphill, alternatively you could catch a taxi or bus from the hotel. When travelling by train make sure you get to the station early if you are buying your ticket from the ticket office.

We would certainly recommend Hotel Vittorio to anyone wishing to stay in Desenzano. We will definitely stay at Hotel Vittorio again when next staying in Desenzano.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have great views of the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank touran1Caerphilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilaria p, Proprietario at Hotel Vittorio, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Dear madams and sirs

we remeber you and your family very well, it was a pleasure for us to meet you and to know you had a nice time in our hotel and in our town.
Thank you for compliments and we hope to meet you again in the future.
Arrivederci
Ilaria and the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

We returned to this lovely little Hotel again for the second year running, and all four of us still love it.
The Hotel has undergone some improvements with general decor since we last came, but the people are the same and just as nice, the rooms are spotless, and we can't think of any reason why anyone would not have a lovely stay here. The key benefits of this Hotel are, simplicity, easy going atmosphere, polite and friendly staff, a good breakfast to set you up for the day, fantastic position with fabulous views of the lake ( Lake view rooms booked ) easy access to water buses and the motorway back to Verona.
Don't come here for 5 star rooms, but what you get is perfectly adequate and spotlessly clean, it's a great base to discover the lake from. We will be back again next year for another wonderful short break.

Room Tip: Take the lake view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BilkoUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilaria p, Proprietario at Hotel Vittorio, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
dear madams and sirs

thank you for the nice review , it is important for us to know you had a nice time in hotel Vittorio, we always do our best to improve and offer a pleasant stay to our guests.
Your opinion is important for us.
We hope to meet you again next year . We are waiting for you since now !!!
arrivederci a desenzano
Ilaria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

Stayed here end of June. It was a really nice choice. Our room had a great lake view, and it was really spacious. The bathroom was also clean and big, although it could do some with maintenance although at the end more than one light spots didn't work, and there were 2 shower batteries in the tube, but one was broken. The place was a bit pricey, but it is the case everywhere in Italy, especially places around Garda are expensive. The parking was out of the hotel, but the price was fine. Short walk. The location is great, right on the lake, short walk from all the major sights in Desenzano, and next to old port, with plenty of nice dinning options and great view. The staff was really pleasant and kind, and the breakfast was really nice, with good hot and cold options, one of the best that we had in Italy ever. If you want good location, nice view, fine comfort -nothing too luxury and affordable prices (not cheap, but fair), this is a place for you. Would come back

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Feha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilaria p, Proprietario at Hotel Vittorio, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
thank you for being our guest and for the kind words of appreciation and the suggestions for improving . We will do our best to do it.
We hope to meet you again in the future.
Arrivederci !
Ilaria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

Well arriving at the hotel was a worry as we had waited at the station for a taxi for quite some time . Need not have worried as we received a very warm welcome and a great room on the second floor with stunning views over the lake . The staff were so helpfull with boat and bus times and anything else we wanted . A highlight for us were the conversations we had with Ambrogio the evening receptionist he sent us to great resturants and I would have loved more time to chat about the history of the area . Anyway off you go and enjoy !

Room Tip: The three bedded for same price but more space
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary Paula W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilaria p, Proprietario at Hotel Vittorio, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
dear madams


thank you for compliments, it was nice to have you as our guests and we hope to meet you again in the future.

A special greeting from Ambrogio , Ilaria and all the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

Me & my wife recently stayed in this hotel & it was a truly pleasant experience. We requested a room with a lakeview at the very top floor & it was granted. The view of the lake was lovely and the sight of the sun rising over the lake each morning was simply beautiful.

The hotel sits across from the harbour, making it very easy to hop on to a boat & visit the rest of the lake. It is also centrally located and is very close to excellent restaurants.

We found all the hotel staff to be very helpful with anything we needed. We will certainly be staying here again the next time we visit Desanzano.

Mr. & Mrs.Ward from UK.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank woody1978wardy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilaria p, Proprietario at Hotel Vittorio, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Dear Mr and Mrs Ward

we remember you well and we are happy to know you had a nice time in our hotel.

Thank you for beeing our guest and we hope to see you again
Arrivederci a Desenzano !
Ilaria and the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

We booked the hotel based on previous reviewers and the process was quite easy with booking.com. Emailed the manager to request room above 1st floor and he kindly replied to confirm this. Room was actually 406 on top floor with terrace/balcony and this was ideal with superb views. Pleasant sitting out with an evening drink! Arrived on Sunday pm and road in front of hotel was closed one way near ferry terminal so had to do a detour to find other way in. This is normal for Sundays so beware if arriving by car.
Receptionist very helpful when checking in and gave us discounted ticket for underground car park 5 minute walk away. 9 Euros a day parking but no alternative really.
The hotel is a little dated but has been modernised in the foyer where free wi-fi can be found aswell as good reception in room.
Excellent choices for breakfast, hot and cold, with drinks being served by the busy staff and replenishments of food being continual.
Hotel Vittorio is ideally situated on the front and close to a wide range of shops, restaurants and interesting sights. Ferry terminal is one minute away! The Tuesday market sets up slap bang in front of the hotel, stretching both ways and by 3pm all is cleared and streets cleaned!
We enjoyed Desenzano and found it a good base for touring round the lake or ferry-hopping to other resorts.

Room Tip: Rooms on 1st and 4th floors have terraces/balconies while 2/3 floors have small balconies. Seemingl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phil1949_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilaria p, Proprietario at Hotel Vittorio, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
thank you for beeing our guest and for the nice review about the hotel and our town.
We hope to meet you again.
best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Desenzano Del Garda hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bonotto
Hotel Bonotto
#4 of 40 in Desenzano Del Garda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Nazionale
Hotel Nazionale
#2 of 40 in Desenzano Del Garda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Piroscafo
Hotel Piroscafo
#13 of 40 in Desenzano Del Garda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#3 of 40 in Desenzano Del Garda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mayer & Splendid
Hotel Mayer & Splendid
#9 of 40 in Desenzano Del Garda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#11 of 40 in Desenzano Del Garda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vittorio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vittorio

Property: Hotel Vittorio
Address: Via Porto Vecchio 4, 25015, Desenzano Del Garda, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Desenzano Del Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 40 Hotels in Desenzano Del Garda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Vittorio 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Vittorio enjoys a wonderful position in front of Desenzano's harbour and Lake Garda. Rooms are tastefully furnished, offer nice views, and include air conditioning and a satellite TV. All rooms of the Vittorio offer free Wi-Fi. Some overlook the historic centre and the harbor, some feature a balcony with a view of the lake. Vittorio Hotel serves a varied buffet breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Vittorio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vittorio Hotel Desenzano Del Garda
Hotel Vittorio Desenzano Del Garda, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing