We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“splendid”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Mayer & Splendid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 August 2013

My wife and I after reading the reviews at trip Adviser spent our summer vacation at the Mayer and Splendid Hotel We there for a week in the first week of July and our experience at the hotel was totaly an enjoyable one I upgraded our room to a suit facing the lake with a large balcony The extra was reasonable and worth it We had a great view of the lake and enjoyed sitting on the big balcony The location of the hotel is excellent right in front of the ferries that travel around Lake Garda The breakfast was sufficient with fresh orange juice every day
The staff Guendalina Angela Ambra and Stefania were extremly curtious and helpfull Paolo the manager was also very helpfull with all our requests
The suit we had was big and clean and the bathroom was also very big and recently renovated
I can say we totally enjoyed our stay at the hotel which added to our wonderfull experience at Lake Garda

Room Tip: Ask for a lake facing room even it may cost a little more it is worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank henry r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (323)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 323 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2013

My partner and I travelled on a Treyn holiday in July. There were 35 people in the party. From the first evening meal it was evident there were insufficient waiters to serve our party plus other guests and casual diners. A 3 course meal took 2 hours to be served. It became clear that preference was given to non-tour diners. There was no sign of management except during the second 2 hour marathon when a lady came round to collect money for drinks. I spoke to her and said more waiting staff were required. She pretended she did not understand. At her request I spoke more slowly with a surprising outcome. She snatched the 5 euro note I had in my hand to pay for my drink and rushed off. There were 8 people on the table. We were all so taken aback that we just sat there open mouthed. At no time did management make any effort to explain their action. The food was extremely basic with very limited choice. My partner is allergic to eggs. This was advised to Treyn and confirmed to the waiting staff. The evening of the first 2 hour meal resulted in an apple the size of a bowling ball, a kiwi fruit and a sad looking peach. The pudding from the menu arrived frozen! It was impossible to eat it. The apple etc. was repeated on the following evening and immediately sent back. It took about 20 minutes for a fruit salad to appear. Unfortunately the attitude of the management was deplorable which took the edge off the holiday. Clearly the Treyn party was a captive group. An individual diner treated this way would certainly not return.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms overlooking the bar. Far too noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DavidJ147A3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Went with my wife after a tip from Tripadvisor. We were not disappointed, on the contrary. We got a spacious room with a ( tiny) balcony overlooking the lake. The reception staff was friendly an very helpful..
The entire hotel has a fantastic ambiance, wher you almost feel how it was in the good old days.

The breakfast was great with lot's to choose from. I especially liked the fresh pressed orange juice. We had to abstain from the Champagne offered as we were driving.

All in all - this must not be missed...

Room Tip: Do not forget to book a parking place (€12/night) if you are arriving by car. You'll be be fin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mats54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

I was traveling to northern Italy with my girlfriend. We stayed 6 nights at the Mayer and Splendid. The only thing that is actually splendid there is the location. On the bank of lake Garda, just in the middle of Desenzano. As in regard to other aspects, our experience was terrible. The breakfast was minimal with no diversity during the stay. The parking lot (9 euro daily) which is suited for maximum of 6 cars, was loaded every night with at least 10 autos, making the entry/exit a nightmare. We were promised a room with view of the lake, we got it alright, but the view was from a 30 by 20 cm hatch at floor level. When asked the receptionist to change rooms we got a room w/o wi-fi (which is advertised by the hotel as one of its luxurious amenities 'Free High-Speed Internet'). After a plea by us to be moved to yet another room with internet (as it was of crucial importance to our trip) 10 minutes after moving all our luggage we were notified by the hotel owner himself that there was a mistake and we must leave the room as it is booked. Imagine yourself on the first day of a vacation moving from one room to the other just because the hotel staff could not grant what they were paid for. After insisting that it wasn’t our fault and we shouldn’t be punished by moving yet again, instead of a compensation, the hotel manager got impatient saying he doesn’t own us anything, that the internet was not part of the hotel obligations. He went berserk, shouting and waving his hands at us aggressively. I tried to explain him calmly that some solution must be found and that it is illogical to move us again. Later, he basically threatened to enter our room and force us to leave. At his rage he run off to his office slamming the door behind him and not wanting to listed to a thing being said by us. As we were at a foreign country and the vacation pre-paid we felt we had no choice but to be moved the 4th time that day (room with wi-fi, but w/o a window)!
If you are reading this dear owner, here, as promised I'm putting every bit of it to Tripadvisor so all will know what your hotel is like and what ego driven person you are. You don’t know the meaning of customer service and you should not be accommodating guests. I hope that people won't fall for your future distortions of the events and stay away from this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank lubinv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

I stayed at this hotel as part of a group visit of 30 people with Treyn Holidays. The Hotel is perfectly situated on the lakeside, near the ferry terminal. The Hotel is a family run hotel and the staff are very polite and obliging. My room was lovely, plenty of room and a lovely ensuite. The rooms were kept spotless, food was good, especially the breakfasts. Would definitely return, plenty to do of a night within easy reach of the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the Lake, I had a side view but it was just as nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lasty65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We stayed at this hotel as part of a Treyn group of 30 at the beginning of June. This is a family run hotel and it shows. All the staff are very polite and welcoming. The position is wonderful, overlooking the lake, close to restaurants and bars if you wanted to wander out.

Our room was lovely. Recently been refurbished with a fantastic view over the Lake.

The food was good. Three courses with a choice of 2 starters and mains (as we were eating in a group). The starters were huge with normally a pasta dish that would have been enough for me as a main! And the desserts were yummy.

This was a lovely Hotel which I can recommend with confidence.

Room Tip: Room at the front with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bonnieme69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2013

Took a group of 46 to this hotel in October 2012 - The Hotel is spotless, the rooms are very comfortable and clean and the Staff are helpful. Location wise its perfect for getting around to everywhere - ferries and buses outside the door and the train station is within a 15 minute walk from the hotel (although some of the streets are a little on the steep side) a taxi will cost you approx 9 euros from here you can catch the slow or fast train (be aware of the price differential) to Venice approx 2 hours or Verona approx 12 mins away both worth the visit...
Lake Garda is stunning and I can honestly say we enjoyed our time there.

Next to the hotel there are also some nice restaurants, shopping areas and a tourist information centre - make sure you check out the local markets the appear!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Desenzano Del Garda hotels
0.1 mi away
Alessi Hotel
Alessi Hotel
#20 of 41 in Desenzano Del Garda
221 reviews
0.2 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#2 of 41 in Desenzano Del Garda
593 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Nazionale
Hotel Nazionale
#1 of 41 in Desenzano Del Garda
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Acquaviva del Garda
Hotel Acquaviva del Garda
#9 of 41 in Desenzano Del Garda
847 reviews
2.3 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#7 of 41 in Desenzano Del Garda
710 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#4 of 41 in Desenzano Del Garda
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mayer & Splendid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mayer & Splendid

Address: Piazza Papa Ulisse 10, 25015, Desenzano Del Garda, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Desenzano Del Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 41 Hotels in Desenzano Del Garda
Price Range: £96 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mayer & Splendid 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME TO THE MAYER & SPLENDID HOTEL! Ours is a well-known hotel in Desenzano del Garda, where history, tradition and professionalism come together to make your stay unforgettable. The Hotel has delightful views of the lake. It is situated in the heart of the historical centre of Desenzano, and provides for enjoyable moments of complete relaxationwith a choice of different types of rooms, all finely furnished in detail. Our hotel is ideal as a starting point for exploring the beauty of Lake Garda and unique cities such as Venice, Verona, Mantua and Brescia and Milan, or simply for enjoying a typical lakeside holiday. Hotel Mayer will satisfy all your requirements. Book now!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Mayer & Splendid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mayer And Splendid
Hotel Mayer & Splendid Desenzano Del Garda, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing