We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Should be a 2 star” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Astoria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Astoria
Certificate of Excellence
Budleigh Salterton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Should be a 2 star”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

We arrived at this hotel in the afternoon and had a very friendly greeting from Ada the manageress. I am sorry to say that this hotel was very disappointing and is very shabby. if rated as a two star then it would let others know what to expect. Location was excellent but amenities where poor.

Room Tip: We where offered an alternative room but the standard remained the same but larger room. The bathroo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shane N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    57
    21
    4
    3
See reviews for
25
55
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2012

We arrived in the afternoon and were warming greeted by stefanie. Very chatty and friendly lady. We were given tips about getting around and given maps for Desenzano.

The rooms are ok. I was not too pleased about not having a kettle and cups in the room because I love my tea! Soon forgot about it because my exploration of Lake Garda meant that I was only in the room to sleep and not much else.

Breakfast was perfect! They are every attentive and with a selection to please even the fussiest of eaters(I was travelling with one). With a terrace on the roof top if you want to enjoy the lake views while enoying a drink or two...what more can one ask for?!

Any questions please contact me via: http://itsallbee.blogspot.co.uk/2012/06/big-blue-my-mini-guide-to-lake-garda.html

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ItsAllBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2012

We arrived by chance at this hotel and had no reservation on our way to Venice airport.
Since we agreed to stay 2 nights, we were given a nice top floor room adjacent to terrace. and were quoted 80 euro.
Room was pleasant and terrace quite relaxing. Hotel located quite close to everything .
When time came to take leave of our hosts who had been rather nice until then, we were given a bill for 172 euro instead of 160 euro because we paid by credit card.
We live ouside of Europe and had no euro left at the end of our trip.
No mention had been made of this when we agreed to take the room for 2 days and the 2 owners became very loud and angry, even threatening, with us when we told them we were in total disagreement with the price and that they had not
Surprised Guests were having breakfast in the room behind us,.
Obviously, they wanted to make money under the table and not declare this income to the state since we live out of Europe. We payed the amount they asked for and left , a bit shocked, but be sure to go find a Guardia di Finanza (itax inspectors easily found all over) if such a problem arises with you . I intend to them to inform them by mail.
.

Room Tip: Last floor best because of terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank craig186402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

We are a group of five pals that travelled to the Astoria Hotel last week. It was a really lovely hotel, the owners were extremely helpful and really couldn't do enough for us. I am a Coeliac and they provided me with my own toaster and even cooked me a cake. Would highly recommend this hotel, it was spotless and very near the town. The rooms were cleaned daily and fresh towels were provided daily also.The train station is also nearby so it was very handy to travel to Verona or Milan or Venice. Will definitely go back.

Room Tip: We had two rooms, one double and one triple and both were lovely and airy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CarBrad1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

This place is a great option for all those travelling on a budget and it's literally 2 minutes away from the town centre! We paid 36 euros per person per night.The welcoming at the hotel was really warm, as the lady at the reception gave us useful information about the area and a map explaining how to get around.
We were given a large, quiet room with an extra bed. The bathroom facilities were modern and the room was spotlessly clean.
All members of staff were very helpful, especially Gisberto (who I had booked the room with), who was very friendly and informative. He was very nice offering to help us before we even got there regarding train times, buses, etc.
The breakfast was amazing too, it catered for all tastes. Everything was fresh and refilled when it had started running low.
Highly recommended hotel with a warm family environment and amazing staff! Travelled as a couple, stayed there March 2012.

Room Tip: We had room 206, very quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fluffehead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haifa, Israel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

Me and my wife stayed in Astoria for 8 days during our fall vacation. Our overall impression is mixed, so I'll stick to the list of the things we liked and did not.


Pros:
The hotel is well situated - 2 minutes walking from the lake itself and extra 10 minutes to the ferry stop. Good access to Milano-Venice highway.
It has a big enough parking lot - it always had space for our car.
The stuff (the owners) are very friendly and sincerely caring, speak good english. They were extremely nice to give us two free GardaLand tickets.
The room had free Wi-Fi (very convinient for those who not yet switched to 3G+WiFi tethering).
The room had 20' LCD with RGB connector, so we projected movies from our netbook.
The top floor has an open terrace with a view to the lake and tables to sit around.
The breakfast was very tasty.

Cons:
The elevator was broken for two days. The stuff was quite upset by this and apologized all the time. They even gave us a teapot with tea for free. The day after the elevator was fixed, evening tea costed us 2 euro.
The shampoo and the soap were the worst I ever saw in hotels - had to buy our own.
The furniture was primitive and outdated.
AC was old and noisy, however cooled well.
The door wasn't soundproof at all, and we were disturbed by other guests going through the hall.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DimaDD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2011

I spent four nights at the Astoria last week and it was truly delightful! I walked from the station with one bag on good wheels...all downhill and it took me about 20 mins. (I did take a taxi back to the station uphill!)

The owner, Gisberto, and his family were as helpful as anyone could be. At check in, I was provided timetables for the lake boats and a map of the lake with the most desirable cities circled as he told me about each one. The room was not modern, but spotlessly clean! But the bathroom was very modern. Breakfast was very nice...much better than average. A good selection and very fresh.

I had no problem with noise, but I always have earplugs with me when I travel!

I can't say enough about the staff. Every day they patiently spoke to me in Italian when I am sure English would have been easier for them. They became my Italian teachers during my stay.

This hotel was very good value for the money. It's location for exploring this magnificent lake was perfect. I definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sherrypalmbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Desenzano Del Garda hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#11 of 40 in Desenzano Del Garda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Giardinetto
Hotel Giardinetto
#22 of 40 in Desenzano Del Garda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Vittorio
Hotel Vittorio
#14 of 40 in Desenzano Del Garda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Bonotto
Hotel Bonotto
#4 of 40 in Desenzano Del Garda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Piroscafo
Hotel Piroscafo
#12 of 40 in Desenzano Del Garda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tripoli Hotel
Tripoli Hotel
#31 of 40 in Desenzano Del Garda
3.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astoria

Property: Astoria
Address: Viale Antonio Gramsci 34, 25015, Desenzano Del Garda, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Desenzano Del Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 40 Hotels in Desenzano Del Garda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Astoria 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Astoria features a relaxing rooftop terrace with panoramic views across Lake Garda. Set 50 m from the lake shores, it offers free parking and free WiFi. The air-conditioned rooms include a flat-screen TV with satellite channels, and a private bathroom with a hairdryer and toiletries. A large buffet breakfast is served in the bright dining room or out in the furnished garden. Set 200 m from Desenzano's historic centre, Hotel Astoria is a 10-minute walk from the ferry harbour for departures across the Lake Garda and the closest beach. Desenzano del Garda/Sirmione Train Station is a 5-minute drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, LoveHolidays and Odigeo so you can book your Astoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria Desenzano Del Garda, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing