We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great rail have chosen well”
Review of Hotel Desenzano

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Desenzano
Certificate of Excellence
harrogate
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“great rail have chosen well”
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Just retuned from a great holiday at this hotel and despite earlier reviews by some people talking about the very formidable matriach,we found her a bit of a pussycat, and even though I got a bit of a frown for I think wearing shorts to dinner on the first night ,she never made an issue of it and certainly smiled on a number of occasions throughout our stay.The hotel itself was kept really clean and had lovely furnishings.The food was good as well,however if I could make one suggestion it would be to perhaps at breakfast have alternate days on the hot dishes with substituting scrambled egg and maybe bacon instead of everyday boiled eggs and tiny sausages.The staff were all lovely and helped make our stay so nice and nothing seemed too much trouble .The only other downside was the distance from town ,which after a night down there meant a bit of a hike back up the hill,but on the other hand you were close to the station and buses.It was our first time in this area and will certainly return and would definitely recommend this hotel Lovely!

Room Tip: Having spoken to our fellow travellers it would seem that all the rooms are very nice and kept extre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank delboyHarrogate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dese_17, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Desenzano, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Dear guests,

A special thanks to your review, very particular, cause you finally spoke in a very polite, truly and friendly way about our irreplaceable director-manager, the “Matriarch”, who some people think to be a grumpy woman but this is just the outside appearance if you really don’t know her from inside, cause at the end of the story, in reality, she is basically just very precise, meticulous, correct and punctual and obviously she would pretend the other people of the staff to be the same, at least to try to be as accurate and definite as possible but you know, sometimes it’s not so easy to manage 15 people working with you.
The truth is that by being so fussy and playing the pedant a bit, is only through this behaviour that you can reach some good results whose consequences are then the nice positive comments about the Hotel spotlessly clean and well organized, good food and professional staff.
Thanks again for the comments, critics and suggestions, we appreciate all of them.
We hope to have the possibility to welcome you here another time maybe next season.

Best wishes,
Your sincerely

The staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    111
    39
    10
    5
See reviews for
19
179
14
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tadcaster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Recently returned from GRJ Simply Lake Garda. The hotel was fantastic, thoroughly enjoyed our stay there. The staff couldn't have been more helpful, they spoke excellent English and helped me learn a few words in Italian.
The staff collected our bags from the station and welcomed us with a drink on the roof terrace, while the bags were taken to our rooms. The food was excellent, every day there was a choice of two items, for the starters, main course and deserts, i particularly enjoyed the steak! They catered for our every whim with my food allergies and our two boys being a bit picky with food the staff cooked individual portions for them every night. The pool is lovely, big enough for the number of guests at the hotel and spotlessly clean. We were provided with clean towels whenever we asked. There are two roof top sun terraces and a shaded area near the pool for drinks into the early hours. The bar is open whenever you want it to be and was well stocked. The rooms were air conditioned and every one had a balcony.
Breakfast had a huge array of breads, cereals, hams and fruit, all fresh and very tasty!
The great Rail Journey holiday was really superb, the tour manager was a star, looking after us brilliantly and had plenty of helpful suggestions and advice for making our own way around.
I would thoroughly recommend Hotel Desenzano and all of it's staff as a brilliant destination on Lake Garda.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulfr66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dese_17, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Desenzano, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Dear Mister & Missis Franklin,

It was a very big pleasure for all of us to receive your kind review and to be honest we were also a bit surprised that you dedicated to us so much attention and precision for describing our Hotel.
What can we say to nicely reply to your amazing review…..we are certainly speechless at the moment, with those friendly, positive and satisfying compliments to us, you really changed our day mood from good to superb….these are exactly the sort of comments that every Hotel manager or owner would like to listen to, through your sincere and beautiful words we can find the inspiration we need every day to try to improve as much as possible in this job.
We thank you so much because you gave us a sort of justice and the possibility of taking a kind of “revenge” to those people who have not been very realistic and honest, in the past reviews, complaining about the breakfast or the meals, the pool, air conditioning or lake view.
We particularly liked the moment when you said that The pool is lovely, big enough for the number of guests at the hotel and spotlessly clean.
We agree with you about the STAR tour manager FRANCES, she has been very very professional and helpful with you all and also with us.
Thanks again for this nice “present” you sent us and for recommending our place.
We deeply hope to see you again here as our glad nice guest, a big Hi for the kids

Best regards,
Your sincerely

Family Caccamo & staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Have just returned from 10 day holiday at this hotel and cannot rate it highly enough. Everywhere is spotlessly clean and our bedroom was just perfect, with a balcony overlooking Lake Garda. The staff all speak very good English and could not do enough for us. The food is excellent, especially the breakfast, which has a fantastic choice. There are two choices of each course for the evening meal, with a veg and salad selection buffet style. Thankfully, the hotel is fully air conditioned which was a blessing, as the temperature reached 38. it was our first time to Italy and we fell in love with it. We visited Venice, Verona, Sermione, Salo and Gardone Riviera - all beautiful and the Italian people are really friendly, helpfull and accommodating. We will definately be visiting again and would not hesitate in recommending this wonderful Hotel!

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the lake - you wont be disappointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mollybellle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dese_17, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Desenzano, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Dear Madame MollyBelle,

what can we say to kindly reply to your amazing review…..we are certainly speechless at the moment, with all those kind, positive and lovely compliments about us, you really changed our day mood from good to fantastic.
We thank you so much because you gave us a sort of justice and "Revenge" to those people who have not been very realistic and sincere, in the past reviews, when they complained about the breakfast or the food, air conditioning or the pool.
We really appreciate overall, this sentence where you wrote that Italian people are very friendly, helpful and accommodating.
Thanks again for this nice moment of pleasure and satisfaction you gave us and for recommending our place to everyone.
We deeply hope to see you again here as soon as possible

Best regards,
Your sincerely

Missis Caccamo & staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 August 2013

just returned from a Great Rail Journeys at Lake Garda, on arrival at the station we where met by hotel staff who took our luggage to the Hotel Desenzano, we were greeted by a welcome committee with drinks and nibbles. all the staff were very polite, nothing was too much trouble.A special thank you to Marco who helped us on one occasion when we found ourselves in a situation where we needed a translater. xx the hotel was impeccable. clean, bright and air conditioned.we had a front facing room with a glimpse over the lake.A VERY comfortable king sized bed. the outside pool and area around it was very clean.All the meals were excellent, especially the Steak, and the breakfasts delicious, compliments to the chef, the only down side was the distance from the hotel down to the town, it is definatly more than 5 mins walk. more likely 15 and more if you have trouble walking, and takes at least 30 mins back up as it is quite a steep incline. but this didn't put us off. we would definatly stay there again, hope to next year. and would highly recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scallymay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dese_17, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Desenzano, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
We wanna thank you very much for your amazing positive review…..we really liked all those friendly, objective and sincere compliments to us, you definitely impressed the other people who will read your review in the next weeks/months, and for this reason we cannot thank you deeply enough.
Marco did the helpful translation for you with big pleasure as for all the other guys of the staff, our guests are always welcome and nothing seems to be much trouble for us, normally.
We still apologize for the down side of your stay, I mean the distance from the centre, but I must say that our location logically has also some advantages as the peacefulness and the nearness with the Desenzano Highway and the rail station, very convenient especially for people without the car, who need to use often the trains, anyway the town-centre is between 500 and 1000 meters.
Thanks again for this nice moment you gave us and for recommending our place.
We deeply hope to see you soon here, as our glad welcome nice guest

Best regards,
Your sincerely

Family Caccamo & staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Just got back from a great holiday spent in this hotel. Clean, comfortable, great food, great pool, friendly, helpful staff. Special thanks for making special meals for my fussy children without any problems at all. and a great big thank you to Tony for helping me sort out a trip to the nearby water park, which involved train and free coach. His help made for a stress free and enjoyable day out!! Thank you all! xxxx

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tashabubble70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Just returned from "Great Rail Journeys" Simply Lake Garda holiday, we were staying at Hotel Desenzano, Desenzano at Lake Garda for 7 nights.
On arrival at Desenzano railway station, our heavy luggage was transported by hotel staff directly to our rooms, while we were treated to drinks and nibbles on the 3rd floor terrace. What a beautiful hotel, great rooms, friendly staff (all speak good English), excellent 3 course dinners and a buffet breakfast that was first rate. Nothing was to much trouble for the staff, they made you feel really welcome and everywhere was spotless. Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 July 2013

We have just returned from a GRJ holiday which used this hotel as its base. The hotel was all we would hope for on a holiday. Everywhere was spotless and well organised and the room was perfect. There some building work going on next to the hotel but this did not affect our stay in any way. The view from the 3rd floor terrace was fantastic and it was wonderful to have tea there after a busy day. The hotel is only minutes from the station where you could get trains and buses to Venice, Verona and to various places round the lake.
The 10 minute walk downhill to the lake, restaurants and boat station was a bit daunting at first especially as it was hard coming back uphill but you soon got used to it.
All in all, a fantastic place to stay. Thanks to "Mama" and her family for making us feel welcome. We will return.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megluka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Desenzano Del Garda hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Bonotto
Hotel Bonotto
#6 of 40 in Desenzano Del Garda
740 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Nazionale
Hotel Nazionale
#1 of 40 in Desenzano Del Garda
640 reviews
2.4 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#7 of 40 in Desenzano Del Garda
627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Benaco
Hotel Benaco
#8 of 40 in Desenzano Del Garda
539 reviews
0.6 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#2 of 40 in Desenzano Del Garda
531 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Acquaviva del Garda
Hotel Acquaviva del Garda
#9 of 40 in Desenzano Del Garda
776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Desenzano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Desenzano

Property: Hotel Desenzano
Address: Viale Cavour 40/42, 25015, Desenzano Del Garda, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Desenzano Del Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Desenzano Del Garda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Desenzano 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Desenzano****, recently completely refurbished is located in Desenzano del Garda,easy to reach from exit of the Highway,just 50 meters far from the railway,5 minutes walking to arrive in the historical centre.Good point of departure for trips all around the lake,towards entertainment parks or to visit artistic cities.The modern complex combined with the elegant surroundings allows us to offer an ideal accommodation for business Clients,tourists and Meetings.The rooms are provided with private bath,hair dryer,direct dial telephone,TVsat LCD,air conditioning,minibar,digital safe,all with balcony.Pool with deck-chairs,beach-umbrellas,wide solarium terrace with lake view to relax yourself and sunbathe,TV leisure room,American bar,free internet point. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Desenzano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desenzano Italy
Desenzano Hotel Del Garda
Hotel Desenzano Desenzano Del Garda, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing