We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for visiting D-Day beaches”
Review of Chateau de Damigny

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chateau de Damigny
Certificate of Excellence
Aurora, Colorado
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Perfect for visiting D-Day beaches”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Stayed two nights with Vincent & Corinne the weekend prior to D-Day using the Suite Catherine de Sureau. What a great experience! Vincent is a great cook and fluent with us having no language skills. Good times at the Table d’Hôtes and great companionship. Absolutely the way to stay while visiting Normandy.

Room Tip: Take the suite if possible. Almost brand new and perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WatacheCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    226
    25
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
69
138
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights using this as a base to explore the D-Day sites and Bayeux. Chateau has recently been renovated so everything is well presented and a huge spread at breakfast. We recommend that you book the table d'hôte at least one night. Vincent is a wonderful chef and you could not find better cuisine in the area.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank TravellersfromUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
warwick, England
Level Contributor
48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Thank you Vincent and Corinne for the wonderful stay at your home. I can find nothing to fault. Make sure you eat at least one meal at Chateau Damigny. The food was the best we had, by far, throughout our holiday in france. Also, the wines were excellent and the canapés gorgeous. We had dinner on each of the three nights we stayed and every course of each meal was excellently prepared.
Our room was very comfortable.
The price was very low considering the quality of the food and accommodation.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alirob123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

My wife and I and our two teenage kids (15 and 17) just stayed at the Chateau de Damigny for two nights. It was exactly what we were looking for. After four days racing around Paris and Versailles we were ready to relax and enjoy the sights in Normandy. We opted for the two suites on the second floor. Each one has an adjoining solarium; a perfect spot to read or plan your next days sightseeing. Beds are very comfortable with modern bathrooms. There are even towel warmers and nice bathrobes.

Vincent and Corrine are excellent hosts. I was running low on clean clothes so Corrine washed a pair of pants and a few shirts for me. Vincent prepares breakfast each morning. There was fresh fruit, cheeses, homemade croissants, cereal and omelets. He was very helpful suggesting places to see and gave us a recommendation for an excellent restaurant in Bayeaux. He also helped me with entering weird French addresses into our cars GPS. Although the look on his 3 year old sons face when he got into the car with us as we were about to leave was priceless.

I would highly suggest having dinner at the Chateau at least once. If you're only staying for one night be sure to prearrange it with Vincent. It's not like ordering off a menu at a restaurant. He'll need some notice to get everything ready.

I can't recommend this place highly enough. If we're ever back in the area there's no question where we will be staying.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Andrew_and_Kates_Dad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walnut Creek, CA
Level Contributor
209 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We spent two nights here in October 2012 while visiting Normandy beaches and Bayeux. Location is great --easy access to the main road and only 5 minutes from Bayeux. We opted to book dinner both nights --and it was a real treat! Probably best food we had in 20 days in France (Paris to Loire Valley) All home cooked. Local ingredients - served family style with the hosts joining us at the table. Several courses, and wine with each course. Delightful conversation with other guests. Highly recommend booking dinner. Our room was comfy and felt like home. We could make our own tea when we returned on a rainy afternoon. Bath was very modern and large.
SO much nicer than a hotel - and for about the same price.

Room Tip: Web site has photos of them all. We chose ours because of the twin beds. Didn't see any other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelgal5050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Bank, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 18 December 2013

We very much enjoyed our stay of four days in October, 2013 at Chateau de Damigny, a grand country house that dates from the 1600s. Our room was quiet and comfortable, and the breakfasts were outstanding, the best we had on our two week trip to Normandy and Brittany. The location is only about a 10 minute drive to Bayeux, for convenient access to restaurants and some interesting museums. It is also centrally located for visiting the D-Day beaches, Caen, Honfleur, and other tourist locations. Of the four nights, we spent the first two in a downstairs room where Wifi was not available; however, it worked fine when we moved to an upstairs room.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ycul44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SF Bay Area
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

In July of 2013, I booked two rooms at Chateau Damigny for a family trip to Normandy at the end of August 2014 (yes, over a year in advance). I knew that the World Equestrian Games were taking place in Normandy during our travel dates, so I made sure to make all of our arrangements very early. Corrine and Vincent were prompt in responding to my emails and everything was confirmed. We were all really excited to find this fabulous chateau with wonderful reviews…our specific rooms were reserved and all was good…until yesterday.

On 11/22, I received an email from Corrine and Vincent telling me that they had made a big error and a large group had booked all of their rooms before we made our reservation. Really? I've had confirmed reservations for four months and now that the most sought-after places nearby are all booked up, we no longer have a reservation! Regardless of whether they actually made a mistake (how hard is it to keep track of reservations for five rooms?) or if we were bumped for a more important group, this was totally unprofessional and inexcusable.

That said, they did at least call another property on our behalf and give us the contact information for this other hotel, but that did little to diminish our frustration and disappointment. Fortunately, I found a charming B&B in Bayeux on my own that had excellent reviews and two rooms available for our dates. I'm keeping my fingers crossed that having a confirmed reservation there actually means something.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Have2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vincent c, Propriétaire at Chateau de Damigny, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Hello from Damigny,We fully understand your disappointment and you being upset especially when you planned your trip 1 year in advance; this is the first time that such a thing happens to us. As already mentioned in the email we sent you we tried as much as possible to help find other accommodations and also offered a free meal at theChateau so as to experience our property.We are glad that in the meantime you have found somewhere else and again we regret that we did not fulfill our engagement due to an error in our reservation planning. We hope we will be able to welcome you at a different period at Damigny and we hope you enjoy your stay in Normandy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Martin-des-Entrees
2.9 mi away
Hotel Churchill
Hotel Churchill
#4 of 21 in Bayeux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,116 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel d'Argouges
Hotel d'Argouges
#2 of 21 in Bayeux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,247 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Chateau De Bellefontaine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Villa Lara Hotel
Villa Lara Hotel
#1 of 21 in Bayeux
5.0 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Tardif Noble Guesthouse
2.9 mi away
Le Castel Guesthouse
Le Castel Guesthouse
#9 of 32 in Bayeux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de Damigny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Damigny

Property: Chateau de Damigny
Address: 1 Lieu Dit Damigny, 14400 Saint-Martin-des-Entrees, Bayeux, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Bayeux > Saint-Martin-des-Entrees
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Saint-Martin-des-Entrees
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Near bayeux and the DDay beaches and at 20 km from Caen ,we welcome you in our Chateau completely renove.3 rooms and 2 Suites with all facilities are at your disposal You can have a walk in our park to see the century trees and the "potager a la Française"The evening , you can have dinner with fresh vegetables of the garden ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Chateau de Damigny reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing