We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Horse & Hound Inn Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Woodlands Hotel(Waterford)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Monart(Enniscorthy)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (76)
Filter reviews
76 results
Traveller rating
43
22
6
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
43
22
6
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnew rossfood was lovelyroom was spotlesssaturday nightbar foodspudsirelandrosslarewaterford
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
53 - 58 of 76 reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We had been booked into another hotel for the weekend couldn't stay t was vile so the 2nd night of our break we found this spot with in budget and at the last minute. Didn't expect too much to be honest but we were quite surprised.

The staff were very friendly, food was amazing lovely charm and character to the place. The room was very clean and fresh a little small but very adequate.

Would return again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aislingej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HorseHound1, Front Office Manager at Horse & Hound Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

Thank you very much for your lovely review. Great that we could make your weekend better and hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We travel to West Cork every year and need a stop over place near Rosslare. We have tried a few different places but we've decided that this is the place we'll return to every year!
We have 2 young children and our family room was spacious, clean and perfect for our one night stay.
We arrived at 6:30pm and went straight to the bar for a meal. The service was great and we enjoyed a warm welcome from the staff and locals who were also dining there.
Our breakfast was good and we left refreshed and ready for our long drive ahead.
When we returned 2 weeks later to catch the evening ferry we called in for an early dinner as we knew we'd get a family friendly reception.
All in all the 4 of us we very pleased and we will look no further for a stop over place next year.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TGS76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HorseHound1, Front Office Manager at Horse & Hound Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

So great to hear you had a lovely stay at our hotel. We hope to see you again next year

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Stayed last saturday night on a deal. it's kind of out in the middle of nowhere. A little too far from new ross to get a taxi in and out. However, it's a grand spot. Staff are lovely. Room was a good size and nice and clean and comfortable. A little dated with the old style TV but who cares. We used the place as a base and went to Hook Head one day and the kennedy arboretum the next. Both visits were excellent. Scenery around the hook lighthouse is spectacular. Really unusual rock formation.

The steak was good but as usual, i had a probelm with the cooking. We ordered a rare and a medium rare. Then the waitress arrived with what she described as a medium rare and a medium. i explained that i ordered a rare and she took it away. A minute or so later she arrived back and sait it was rare. I'm pretty sure it was the same steak. i then cut it and it was what i would describe as well done. My wife's medium rare was cooked a lot less and she was munching away happily at this stage. I asked for it to be taken back. I then ate a spud on it's own while I wait impatiently. Eventually, my steak does arrive and i start to eat just as my wife is putting down her knife and fork. It was nice but at this stage the good was gone out of it. I like my steak and find that it is almost impossible to get a chef in Ireland who can cook a steak properly. It's a shame as the meat is normally very good.

if you are on one of these offers, be aware that a steak dinner as described does not include your spuds or chips. i can't imagine a home in wexford which would have a steak dinner without one or the other so charging extra for this is a little bit mean.

One more comment. i thought there would be some small bit of entertainment on a saturday night. Not looking for U2 but a small bit of a one man band singing a few ballads would have done. Anyway, we actually retired early as a result so probably felt better the following morning. The breakfast was grand.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

We stayed for one night on a deal that included dinner and breakfast, I am glad it was one night only as I would not stay the second night. After check in we went to the bar and I got a beer in a cracked glass, then when we went to order dinner we were told it did not include any potatoes,chips or veg and if we wanted some we would have to pay extra. There is almost no phone signal at the hotel and the wifi only works in the bar and has a very poor signal. No wifi in the rooms. The room was clean with tv and tea/cofee etc. The bed and the pillows are not the best and I didnt sleep well, I was woke early the next morning with the noise of passing trucks, the hotel is located on a main road. Breakfast could have been better, there was no brown bread to toast and I was served a burnt egg. On a positive not the women that served us dinner and breakfast were lovely..
The deal we got was cheap and I suppose you get what you pay for..

Room Tip: Ask for a room as far away from the road as possible.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 2qk4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

We chose the Horse & Hound hotel for its location given an early morning ferry sailing from Rosslaire. At first sight it's rather unprepossessing, but the welcome is warm and the external appearance of the hotel belies the quality of the rooms. The big surprise, however, was the restaurant - simply fantastic both for an evening meal and breakfast. Great quality and great value - really pleased we stayed here!

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Jon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HorseHound1, Manager at Horse & Hound Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2013

Thank you for your review of The Horse and Hound Hotel. Great to hear that our service and rooms are of a high quality.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews