We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Domaine de la Tortiniere
Nearby Hotels
US$98
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Hotel Pic Epeiche(Montbazon)(Great Value!)
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$358
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$231
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel balladins Tours Sud(Chambray-Les-Tours)
US$51
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$48
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
hotelF1 Tours sud(Chambray-Les-Tours)
US$41
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$37
hotelF1
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mister Bed Chambray les Tours(Chambray-Les-Tours)
US$40
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$39
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fasthotel Tours Sud(Chambray-Les-Tours)
US$46
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$44
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$81
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$69
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stars Tours Sud(Chambray-Les-Tours)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (940)
Filter reviews
940 results
Traveller rating
665
207
46
15
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
665
207
46
15
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsloire valleythe rivermain buildingdining roombeautiful chateaubeautiful roomchateau hotelwonderful experiencethree nightscroissantsstayed here for one nightworth every pennysmall roomheated poolrestaurant stafffrench countrysidestayed longer
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
219 - 224 of 940 reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2014

The Domaine de la Tortinière is a gorgeous property with a lot of character and nice, service-minded staff.

We were lucky to be upgraded to a lovely big room in one of the towers of the main château, and of course the majority of the rooms are smaller. But there is a long list of pros at this hotel:

PROS
- Lovely, well-kept historic château
- Very comfortable beds, classy furniture
- Nice gardens with a decent size swimming pool
- Views
- Good location for exploring the Loire Valley
- Great breakfast and good also for dinner
- Exceptionally helpful staff

CONS
- You need a car to get here from Tours (or a EUR 35-40 taxi ride)
- The free Wi-Fi did require you to re-login now and then

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank roamingmatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

A wonderful and beautiful castle with enormous gardens and woods, great swimming pool, and very tastefully decorated and updated. The castle did a perfect job adding the restaurant (with great food), since you do not see the modern restaurant until you stumble into it. Perfect.

The rooms are well decorated and appointed. There is airco and the beds are comfortable. The area is very peaceful, so you can sleep with all windows open.

The staff are all, without exception, very kind, warm and professional. No requests are too difficult for them, and they go out of their way to make your stay very comfortable.

The park is sublime, with enormous trees (one with a swing). A stroll through the park after a great meal is heaven.

Room Tip: if you have problems with stairs, make sure you request rooms in the cottages, since the stairs are steep.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dutch-Mikey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

This fabulous chateau is located on a beautiful piece of private property, with massive trees, great lawns, and far reaching views of other chateaux on opposite hills. We had our salads brought to a table under the trees, and later enjoyed a nice dinner in the restaurant. Champagne on the terrace in the evening. We also took a cab into Montbazon for a fine meal at La Chanceliere, but know the cab charges from the time it leaves Tours, as it is quite far for them to fetch you.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank foodsnob80302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We stayed in room 4, in the middle of the castle (the room with the balcony overlooking the back of the building). The staff was welcoming and helpful. Our room was very nice, with everything one would need. The view was incredible! The breakfast was a little pricy, and somewhat disappointing, but I'm not complaining. You need a car to get around (unless you are doing a bike tour). The grounds are LOVELY - a swing hangs from a huge tree and beautiful green lawns are around the building. It's a haven for families (also has a great pool), but also is quiet and peaceful. Definitely a great retreat from the chaos and tourists in Paris, and Chenonceaux is a great side-trip from the Domaine de la Toriniere. Wifi was NOT good - hard to get and you had to login over and over.

Room Tip: Any room in the chateau itself.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TampaFloridian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

My husband booked this as a break in our drive to Bergerac. We were completely bowled over firstly by the Chateau itself, the Loire valley it is nestled in and by the friendliness of the staff . The lady who took us to our room offered us an upgrade us. For an extra £35 pounds we said yes immediately when she showed us a beautiful little suite in the garden. A very comfortable bed which delivered a great nights sleep, a lovely bathroom and shower, and a small decanter of a homemade nightcap, which my husband said was totally delicious.

We started our evening with drinks on the terrace with the most stunning view of the surrounding countryside.

We had booked in for dinner and with a sense of anticipation we sat down, again looking out over the gardens. And wow what a treat this was. The cooking was absolutely first class, we decided to have a glass of wine to match each course. Everything was fresh and seasonal and really beautifully cooked - we ended with perhaps the best souffle I have ever tasted. Just amazing.

This is a really lovely, friendly hotel run by a couple who pay attention to detail and it shows.

We slept really well and in the morning went across to where they served breakfast. It is true that this place does seem to attract groups of cyclists. Whenever people are in groups they can tend to be noisy and this group of Americans where certainly that. Breakfast was good with enough choice, after the night before we didn't require too much, and the noisy cyclists did nothing to mar our wonderful romantic break.

Room Tip: Wait to see if you get offered an upgrade - one of the cottages in the grounds facing the hotel, we had the one with the only modern large metal doors at the far end - I think it was number 28?
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bridge555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews