We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, very European”
Review of Le Moulin Fleuri

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Le Moulin Fleuri
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Veigne
Reviewed 26 June 2011

This old mill set on the narrow Indre River has been converted into a very pretty small inn. The basically non-English speaking staff was pleasant and helpful. The food was out of this world delicious, beautifully presented, varied menu, desserts and cheese board spectacular. We did the fixe menu with the room. The bedrooms are small, not really great for spending much time in them. Bathrooms tiny but very adequate. Gardens and terraces inviting and comfortable - no other real "public" areas. We would stay there again without hesitation but we'd get a room on a lower floor to avoid long narrow steps with luggage. Directions to get there are iffy at best without help from the Garmin we would still be trying to locate it.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roseleen17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (93)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 93 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2011

This Logis de France hotel was more remotely situated a quarter of a century ago. It was in the middle of a forest and had few amenities. Today there's a bit more habitation and the Peage isn't far away. Also in those earlier days, en suite wasn't an option and I recall being trapped in the internal, communal bathroom when a power cut struck. But the food was remarkably good then, and that quality has come down the years to us now. Today Le Moulin Fleurie enjoys a deservedly good reputation for its cuisine. Taking the 30 euro menu, we enjoyed a delightful meal and the crowded dining room - principally French - spoke to its being a popular venue. The rooms are comfortable and now have all of the necessary facilities. But the stairs are narrow and there's no lift.

Room Tip: Take a first floor room if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jclimbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2011

We had stayed at this hotel some years ago and wanted to return but were a bit concerned at some of the negative comments - we needn't have been - it is still as wonderful as we remember. It is a gorgeous location - but so close to main routes and handy for Tours and sections of the Loire valley. The welcome was warm and the room was very comfortable - if not large - a bit odd having a single bed sideways on to the double which meant there was no space for bedside table on one side - but guess they have a lot of families. The room decor was lighter and fresher than I had remembered with a "sunflower" theme. The shower room was small but adequate. However what made this visit for us was the food - we had duck to die for, excellent cheeses and yummy desserts. The wine was no more expensive here than in similar restaurants we stayed in on this trip. Service is relaxed and friendly - not hurried. The dining room looks out over the mill stream and ponds and lovely countryside. The hotel is hidden away - but is well worth the search. It makes an ideal stop over en route to South or North or a base to see Tours and the central Loire. We hope to return - and before another 10 years passes.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sussexmember
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2010

I travelled to this Hotel with my two young children (11 and 7) en route to Bordeaux - the Hotel was very welcoming to all. It was very clean and the owners had obviously gone to a lot of effort to maintain standards. The rooms were very comfortable and 'typically french'. Breakfast was included and was made more impressive by the fact that the owner had her own homemade preserves on the table!
Did not eat in the restaurant primarily due to the fact that chicken was not on the menu - but the food did look fantastic and prepared by the chef to order.
Great place!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank StephenB028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2009

An attractive position, though popular with mosquitos also . Chicken dish at dinner uneatable, Old bird, undercooked, with meat that refused to part from the bone. Lady owner sprang to it's defence, grudgingly removed it for further cooking and returned it in original state with no apology. Madame requested account settled that night - There was no reflection on the bill. Breakfast supervized by unsmiling husband next morning was passable.
.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WayfarerDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2009

Booked directly with hotel as I had stayed there previously and much enjoyed it.
On arrival room was good though rather small. My mistake was to have booked demi-pension. When we went in for dinner we were told our main course would be fish, no choice. The fish was good but as we left the restaurant the proprietress informed us "Tomorrow you will have sweetbreads'.As one of my main reason for returning was the excellent food I said this was not a favorite dish of ours could I pay extra and choose a la carte.Enough to say that I was suprised by the reaction to this and consequently asked for our bill the following morning and left feeling very sad. My advice to others intending to stay at Moulin Fleurie,"do, its a lovely hotel but book B&B and dine a la carte

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EosDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2008

As two couples we stayed one night on our way from the South to the Channel Tunnel. We found this converted mill very pleasant with individualistic rooms. The staff were pleasant and helpful, especially in reserving a particular room our friends needed. The hotel is situated in woodland and fields. Although near a main road, it is quiet. A stream runs past one side and into the mill pool below. Rooms overlooking the pool have a nice view. The rooms were reasonably priced, the evening meal quite expensive but very good. (The pricing structure seems to have changed since we were there in Jul 2008). Although out of town, a lot of locals were eating there. There are some pleasant walks on the lanes nearby. I would agree the location needs careful following of the instructions to find it.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TodW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Veigne
1.5 mi away
Domaine de la Tortiniere
0.4 mi away
Chateau d'Artigny
Chateau d'Artigny
#2 of 4 in Montbazon
514 reviews
18.4 mi away
Hotel George Sand
Hotel George Sand
#2 of 4 in Loches
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Pic Epeiche
Hotel Pic Epeiche
#3 of 4 in Montbazon
87 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Le Moulin Fleuri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Moulin Fleuri

Address: lieu-dit Moulin Fleuri, 37250 Veigne, Montbazon, France
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Montbazon > Veigne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Veigne
Price Range: £60 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Le Moulin Fleuri 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Katia Chaplin will be pleased to welcome you to this residence of character, a sixteenth century mill situated at the centre of a large park. Michael Chaplin, who does the cooking, applies himself to the task of preparing fresh produce from the market in a traditional way based on regional products. Michael Chaplin has a motto whereby he not only does the cooking but also lives in harmony with the grands crus, especially those of the Loire Valley. This very special hotel on the road to the Chateaux of the Loire can also offer charming and comfortable accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Le Moulin Fleuri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing