We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great lodges, beautiful location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Torcroft Lodges

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Torcroft Lodges
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great lodges, beautiful location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2012 via mobile

2nd visit to lodge 2. Lodge is clean and well equipped. Owners are friendly and helpful. Ideal place for kids, parents and dogs alike. Would definitely recommend a holiday here. We will be back. Recommend Loch Ness experience in nearby drumnadrochit and a walk at glen Affric.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Heathert73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    13
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
33
17
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kirkwall
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

We stayed at Torcroft Lodge number 4 last year and had no hesitation in booking 6 nights this summer. By chance we ended up in number 4 again and once again everything was very clean and tidy. Apart from the high standard of maintenance we are particularly impressed with the spaciousness of the accommodation - plenty of room to spread out and relax.
Our lodge was very well equiped and furnished, no need to bring anything extra except towels (which can be hired on site for a small fee).
Overall we have been very plesaed with both our stays at Torcroft and would definitely stay with Simon and Lucy again.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank AMW2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

This place is amazing - it is such a little hidden gem... not far from Loch Ness only about 5-10 mins drive!

The owner Simon was great, he was such a nice host greeting us when we arrived, showing us the lodge and all the information we required to make sure our stay was as comfortable as possible! We were a family of 4 with a 5 months old baby and stayed at lodge 5 - the lodge itself was lovely and clean, I paid extra for a travel cot and high chair which were all set up when we arrived. There were also milk, tea, coffee and a packet of biscuits provided in the kitchen with a little note which was really thoughtful - a little bit of a personal touch :) They also provide you with DVDS, games, CD, books in the lodge which I thought it was very thoughtful too!!

The scenery was great, although the weather wasn't great but when you looked out the window, the view took my breaths away...

How the electric works is that you put money in the meter - Simon the host/owner has already put some money in for us to get started and over the weekend we did turn the heating on as it was quite cold however it didn't cost us a lot of money at all...

Overall I am really happy to have found this lodge as this wasn't the original lodge I was going to stay - as the other lodge was full I was then referred/recommended to this lodge and I have to say not disappointing at all!! In fact we drove past the lodge we were going to stay and I have to say this lodge looks far better!! Also the value of money is excellent!!

Thank you Simon for making our stay so special and wonderful - we will definitely come back again soon, hopefully nicer weather next time :)

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pangster81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2012

Excellent location, we were huge group with lots of kids, kids were busy in the front garden, away from noice of motor vehicle,Simon was very freindly, didnt find any fault except water pressure on shower, we have booked 3 cottages for 4 days even though we had our own utensils cottages were well equiped, bit of suggestion pls fix extractor fan on all kitchen! I would recommend any families and group to stay there, less trouble and you will have a good holiday also quality time, I am planing to visit again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mazoomy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012

My brother booked 3 lodges for a family weekend away,14 people in total,cannot fault anything,If I were to be picky then a wee bit more pressure in the shower would be good,but not essential. We had lodges 3 and 4 as well as the" Meiklie" lodge where my sister inlaw made a full sunday roast dinner for all!!,very well equiped indeed,we all fitted in the kitchen,surroundings were well kept,some deer came and visited,we saw buzzards,finches and a lot in between,toured the area and ate out at the local CAMRA award winning hotel,all in all,a fantastic few days,we will go back.The owners Lucy and Simon only took over about a year ago and are working very hard to improve what is already a great place,They are nice people and biker friendly

Room Tip: Meiklie lodge sleeps 8 and is very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at Torcroft and happy to say that we were very pleased with our little break despite the horrendous weather ! The lodge is nicely situated a few mins away from the nearest town and the LochNess visitor centre. Very peaceful, well maintained and warm. Simon and Lucy were very accomodating and all in all very good value for money. The only issue I had was that I neglected to read the part where it said to bring your own towels but Lucy supplied a bale at £5 rental so ok, and i would expect toilet rolls to be provided too to be honest, especially for 3 day stays.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PonyToes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2011

We spent a week in the Highlands and booked Loch Ness Retreats as our base and I am so glad that we did.

When we arrived, our lodge was unlocked for us, the heater was on and there was a note on the table, telling us that there was coffee, tea and milk in the fridge!

The lodge itself was very comfortable and homely, warm and very well looked after. everything was clean and tidy.

The lodges give excellent access to the local area including Loch Ness, Glen affric, Inverness etc

Waking up in the Highlands and seeing a deer stood outside your lodge is a wonderful experience and gives you some idea of the area in which these lodges are nestled.

We had a fantastic week in the Highlands which was made all the better by our stay in the lodge.

As I have titled this review I really do wish I could give this more stars, the lodges and the level of customer service are second to none and we cannot wait to revisit.

5 out of 5

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smee193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balnain
0.0 mi away
The Lovat, Loch Ness
The Lovat, Loch Ness
#1 of 2 in Fort Augustus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,123 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lodges on Loch Ness
Lodges on Loch Ness
#1 of 2 in Foyers
4.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ancarraig Lodges
Ancarraig Lodges
#1 of 1 in Bunloit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Drumnadrochit Lodges
Drumnadrochit Lodges
#4 of 13 in Drumnadrochit
5.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
0.0 mi away
Loch Lomond Waterfront
Loch Lomond Waterfront
#1 of 5 in Balmaha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
0.0 mi away
Camping Pod Heaven
Camping Pod Heaven
#2 of 4 in Abriachan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Torcroft Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Torcroft Lodges

Property: Torcroft Lodges
Address: Balnain, Balnain, Drumnadrochit IV63 6TJ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Drumnadrochit > Balnain
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Balnain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Torcroft Lodges 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Loch Ness Retreats featuring Torcroft Lodges and Meiklie Lodge is the place to relax and unwind in the stunning Glen Urquhart. Whether it is touring, cruising on Loch Ness, exploring the heritage & history of the area or white water rafting it is all just a short drive away. Choose from our 3 or 4 star lodges and enjoy a home from home experience, our well-equipped 2 bed lodges have everything you will need, but if you are looking for a little more luxury then stay at Meiklie Lodge and sample the comforts of a modern lodge. Meiklie Lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Torcroft Lodges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torcroft Lodges Balnain, Loch Ness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing