We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you - it was lovely.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Glenurquhart House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Balnain
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Thank you - it was lovely.”
Reviewed 22 August 2011

Highly recomended hotel. We had a lovely 2 day break in the Glenurquhart. The owners and staff are very helpful and work hard to ensure your stay is pleasant and relaxing. We were advised by Carol to go to Glen Affric rather than the tourist areas around Loch Ness, which was perfect for us. The wooden walkway over the Plodda Falls (120 ft) is one of the wonders of the world. Agree with the hot water comment, my wife had a hot bath but I could not. But there is an electric shower. Plenty of tea and coffe in room and afternoon tea in lounge if required. We shall definitely recommend to friends and return ourselves.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlanPappa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    11
    5
    6
    3
See reviews for
13
25
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 July 2011

I stayed for a weekend at this hotel to celebrate my little brothers wedding. It was amazing. The staff were so helpful and the rooms were beautiful and the atmosphere was like staying in your best friends home.

The cabins are also great, clean, well equiped and close to the hotel for the bar etc.

The couple who run the Hotel are lovely, lovely people and really did attend to all our needs.

I shall definetly be going back for a visit!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edelweissmcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2011

A very well run hotel with great food. Fantastic location. Beats most of the others in the area hands down but is less expensive and less pretentious. Calm and comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank catinthehat1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2011

fantastic warm welcome from the manager of the hotel! couldnt of asked for a better
experience. First Time up to that part of Scotland and we would both come back again.. fantastic food, wine scenary ! best kept secret in Loch Ness. After a hard journey and some what hell ish customer service we recieved at our oringinal place of accommodation this was fantastic ! great job and we will most certainly be back well done to management and praise to the staff looked aftered us, made great conversation, customer service was second to none! one little tip.. memory foam would have been the icing on the cake.

Room Tip: nothing to add other than you have to go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank toontoon007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2010

Dinner with our friend to celebrate his 85th birthday.

The prawn skewers were nothing less than superb with a je ne sais quoi flavour to die for. My wife and our friend had the Tomato and Pepper soup with home made bread and thoroughly loved it.

Main courses, an excellent selection of vegetarian. Wendy had one of those and it was great. Our friend loved the fact that there was a Chicken Masala on the, otherwise Scottish, menu. I had the fillet steak which appeared to have been tenderised which was a surprise for Highland fillet steak and the mushroom lacked the haggis mentioned on the menu. I think the wrong dish may have been written on the order as there were two steak dishes available so this might have been an incorrect dish served. However it was very good indeed.

For sweets a lovely caramel apple tart, our friend loved his cranachan and my biscuits and cheese were fine.

Overall a most enjoyable meal and we'll certainly be back again ... and again.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TonyLochNess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyon
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2010

We were a little disappointed when we first arrived - the building was a little more run down than the pictures on the website and needed a good spring clean. Although the room was nice and had evidently been refurbished quite recently, we were unable to use the Jacuzzi bath as there was no hot water!! After asking the hotel Manager, who didn't seem surprised, she simply said the boiler only supplied 2 rooms so we should have had enough hot water, unless the other room had taken it all... We waited an hour but still no hot water. Only 2 rooms were occupied that night so we found this a little hard to understand!
Breakfast was... cheap (and not in the good sense of the word), given the cost of a double room - perhaps you pay for the location near Loch Ness but the service we received did not justify the cost.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kebjodilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lenoir City, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2010

Like an 18 year single malt Scotch, Glenurquhart House is meant to be taken in slowly and with a keen appreciation for the efforts of Carol and Ewan Macleod to make your visit the most special experience you have in all of Scotland. Secluded, yet within easy driving distance to Loch Ness and Urquhart Castle, this lodging offers the most comfortably furnished rooms and dining area available for such a reasonable price. Unlike many other places we stayed, Glenurquhart House offered a full bar and one could relax in the plush leather sofas and chairs and gaze out over a beautiful pasture and loch below over a dram. I highly recommend this beautiful spot to any traveler. There's plenty to do nearby, but coming back to this sweet haven is perfect for any traveler.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balnain
14.0 mi away
The Lovat, Loch Ness
The Lovat, Loch Ness
#1 of 2 in Fort Augustus
1,182 reviews
3.8 mi away
Loch Ness Lodge Hotel
Loch Ness Lodge Hotel
#3 of 3 in Drumnadrochit
400 reviews
3.9 mi away
Drumnadrochit Hotel
Drumnadrochit Hotel
#1 of 3 in Drumnadrochit
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Inch Hotel
Inch Hotel
#2 of 2 in Fort Augustus
582 reviews
8.6 mi away
Glenmoriston Arms Hotel
Glenmoriston Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Invermoriston
376 reviews
14.5 mi away
Bunchrew House Hotel
Bunchrew House Hotel
#7 of 34 in Inverness
619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenurquhart House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenurquhart House Hotel

Property: Glenurquhart House Hotel
Address: Marchfield, Balnain, Drumnadrochit IV63 6TJ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Drumnadrochit > Balnain
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Balnain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Glenurquhart House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L., Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Glenurquhart House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenurquhart House Hotel Balnain, Loch Ness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing