We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Glenurquhart House Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Drumnadrochit Hotel(Drumnadrochit)
US$108
getaroom.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$148
US$136
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Inch Hotel(Fort Augustus)
US$218
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Lovat, Loch Ness(Fort Augustus)
US$269
US$261
Elvoline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Loch Ness Lodge Hotel(Drumnadrochit)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Priory Hotel(Beauly)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Dower House(Muir of Ord)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (57)
Filter reviews
57 results
Traveller rating
26
13
7
7
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
26
13
7
7
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main housefull barloch nessgood sizebeautiful viewwonderful placeevery morningthe kitchenloungehostsmilesdeerhighlands
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 57 reviews
Reviewed 11 September 2012

My husband and I spent 3 nights at Glenurquhart House Hotel and were made to feel very welcome. The hotel was really easy to find and well sign posted from the main road, which was great when we arrived in the pitch black!

Our room, number 4, had a beautiful view and we thought the little extras such as the hot water bottle in the bathroom and the shortbread on the hospitality tray were very thoughtful. Breakfast every morning had a good choice of hot and cold options. We also thought the hotel was really peaceful and barely heard other guests so always slept soundly.

Thank you for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bethany0809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

My husband and I booked this hotel after reading the reviews. We were very disappointed indeed. Our room was totally different to the pictures on the webiste. We were given a family room which was not the superior double we were expecting. The room was in desparate need of modernisation and did not look at all like the photos on the webiste, and it was also not overlooking the loch. The room was clean and the staff were friendly. Although there were a number of flies buzzing around. The hotel is far out from any other restaurants so we ate here the first night. The food was ok but expensive for what you get. We would recommend stopping in Inverness where there are lots of choices for restaurants. When we checked out we had to wait ages despite pressing the buzzer. The lady who arrived apologised and said the girl who had the buzzer was in bed.This was at 10 am!!! We had a much better experience at the premier inn.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2012

We had our daughter's wedding here last Saturday. Wel,l I would highly recommend this venue. The setting is beautiful and despite the mixed weather we got beautiful photos, as the scenary is amazing. The meal was excellent and we had fantastic time, thanks to Carol and her team

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank triciarussell50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

we used this hotel as a base to sightsee for a couple of days plus take the opportunity to go
" nessie hunting "
we loved the small intimate nature of the hotel , lounge was comfy with lots of interesting books about the local area,myths and legends etc
setting is gorgeous and loch meikle was beautiful to view from dining room / bedroom / garden and grounds
young girl who checked us in and waited on our every need was lovely ,,,food was fabby and it was obvious to us that it was made to order ,,,,,home made bread ,,,superb ,,,poached eggs for brekkie ,,,,best i have ever had !!!
its a beautiful part of my country and cant wait to visit the area again,,,,nessie didnt appear for us by the way but locals told us she may have been resting after the busy easter period ??? x

Room Tip: go for room 6 , huge room with stunning views
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deb s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

We stayed here as we found a very good deal through living social, two nights B&B with dinner on one evening, afternoon tea and a boat trip.

Our first impression was the remote location, however this meant a very peaceful stay and it wasn't so remote as to be an inconvenience in any way. The hotel as we drove up seemed quite large and very like a country manor. The owners greeted us from the garden and showed us to the lounge as our room was not quite ready. The owners informed us that the jacuzzi bath was unfortunately not working, however the shower was in perfect working order so this didn't bother us at all. We were served our afternoon tea while we waited, which was really nice. When we got to our room we found it very cosy, clean and with a fantastic view over Lock Meikle. The bathroom was also lovely and clean and luxurious.

We had dinner in the hotel that first night and the food was fantastic, everything very well done and really fresh and tasty. We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful all the time but never intrusive which made for a very relaxed atmosphere. We stayed in our first evening as well and watched a DVD on the player in the room which we thought was a nice touch.

Breakfast was nice with a small continental spread of good quality fresh food (the bread was always amazing!). We had eggs both mornings and when I asked for mine to be done a little differently this was no bother and the staff were very good.

The lounge of the hotel is really nice with a small well stocked bar, which is also not very badly priced considering what some hotels charge and given its remote location. There is also a nice selection of books and magazines available, all in all a nice place to relax.

In conclusion I would highly reccomend this hotel to anyone wishing to have a base at Loch Ness for exploring the surrounding area or even just as a weekend get away in itself.

Room Tip: We had Room 4 and this was a lovely size and very cosy and peaceful.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kittyhen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews