We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We will return”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lagnakeil Highland Lodges
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“We will return”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

After quite literally being blown off the Isle of Skye we retreated south to Oban and managed to book a very last minute deal here for 2 nights. Colin was very helpful and accommodating when booking and on arrival.

A wonderfully maintained site in a lovely location - the layout of the lodges on differing levels gives a degree of privacy and our lodge had a lovely little decking area as well.

Inside the lodges are very well appointed and it was a nice surprise that the pots, pans and appliances were known brands and not cheap and cheerful items. All in all it was clean, spacious and comfortable. I do feel for the reviewer whose partner refused to use the electricity - we didn't need the heating but used the dishwasher (nice addition) as well as the hot water and power shower etc and our total bill for power came to £2.90 for 2 nights.

All in all a lovely find and one to which we will undoubtedly return.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a decking area facing the loch.............
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robsthomson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    62
    23
    8
    5
See reviews for
106
63
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

We rented for 5 nights in May and the weather was kind to us. The location is stunning, views of the loch and the sound of Cuckoos! The loch not directly accessible but walks through the glen afford lots of views. The local Barn pub had live folk music on the Sunday night that we arrived - a full sized harp, violins, mandolin and guitars - wonderful. Food was acceptable - there have been some mixed reviews of quality and service previously. Spoilt for choice of restaurants in Oban, and the seafood shack was everything that Tripadvisor reviews promised. A great location overall.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank StevefromSwindon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

We have just returned from an excellent week at Lagnakeil. The lodges are comfortable, cosy and well maintained - and nothing is too much trouble. Each has a full kitchen and dishwasher and Sky TV (great for rainy days,) The view across the loch from ours was breathtaking - and our six-year-old loved having the freedom to play on the swings across the road from our lodge. The site is easy to find and only a ten minute walk from a local pub selling decent food, including a children's menu. It only takes ten minutes to drive into Oban and there is plenty for families to see and do. We are already looking at possible dates for a return visit.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
flint22222, Owner at Lagnakeil Highland Lodges, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
dear lynne
many thanks for your kind & positive feedback really pleased you and the family enjoyed you stay at lagnakeil, which really helps us to push on & keep trying to improve our lodge & site offering for our clients, we look forward to your return visit
thank you again
colin & Jo mossman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hants UK
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Just returned from a week in Poplar Cabin - one bedroomed but very spacious and comfortable. A very peaceful relaxing week in a little tucked away glen - yet just three miles from Oban. Had our 10 month old Irish setter with us - who loved the walks up behind the Barn as well as Ganavan Sands the other side of Oban. Owners friendly but unobtrusive - the grounds are immaculate - we couldn't have asked for more

Room Tip: ask for cabin with view down the glen
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LMJHantsUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
flint22222, Owner at Lagnakeil Highland Lodges, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
thanks you for your kind & positive feedback which is really appreciated & so pleased you enjoyed your week at lagnakeil and we look forward to meeting you again on a return visit in the near future we hope
with kind regards colin & Jo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Stayed 7 nights in Ash log cabin. Excellent views and very peaceful. The cabin had everything needed for a self catering stay and was clean. Bed was very comfortable, and clean. Towels supplied. Wi-Fi available and free. Were met on arrival and shown around. Walk to the barn (pub) about 10/15mins up road then thro field we were blessed with the weather so no wellies needed. About 15mins drive into Oban. Cabin has lovely decking area with picnic table great for pre dinner glass of wine and early morning cuppa. Yes you had to pay for electric but this was stated in info before booking and it cost a vast sum of £4 for 7 nights, you could not complain about that.
We took our old dog who has trouble with stairs and I phoned before and explained this and we were given a cabin with just 1 step and then a ramp (very thoughtful).
Upon returning home we received a telephone call to say we had left our camera, it was then posted out to us and we received it 2 days later, again very thoughtful. The owners were very nice and were there if you wanted anything, but did not bother you. Would definitely return in the future. Had a great week.

Room Tip: If you have any special requests, just phone and ask first. I'm sure they will try and accommoda...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bobandpam1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
flint22222, Owner at Lagnakeil Highland Lodges, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear bob & pam, it was nice to meet you & thank you both for your kind & positive feedback which always encourages to try harder & do more for our guests, we are so pleased you enjoyed your week with us it’s a lovely spot and so close to oban which is why we love living here & welcoming new guest to enjoy this special place & area. Thank you again & we look forward to your return sometime soon. kind regards colin & Jo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon tyne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

We have just returned from a week in ash log cabin. The cabins have everything you need the bed very comfortable and clean, the views lovely, very nice decking area with picknic table. Wi if is available and free. Yes you pay for electric but it cost the vast sum of £4 for 7 days you can't complain about that. Very nice people who are there if you need anything and showed us around on arrival but dident bother you. on the day we returned home we received a phone call in the evening informing us we had left our camera which was then posted out to us. Would certainely return. Had a fantastic week.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Logfinl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
flint22222, Owner at Lagnakeil Highland Lodges, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Really appreciate your kind & positive feedback & so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and do hope we get the chance to welcome you back sometime soon, kind regards colin & Jo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corwen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

These lodges are located in a wonderful quiet location, overlooking the countryside and a loch, but also conveniently located 10 mins' drive from Oban. Our lodge had all the amenities we expected and the view was stunning. It was extra special because we had a sunny and hot week and were able to have breakfast and dinner on our balcony most days.

We were allowed to borrow a barbecue from the owner, which was a bonus, but a bit disappointed that it had not been cleaned by the previous guests. Perhaps there should be a policy that if you use a barbecue, the guests should clean it after use. It may also be useful if a wire brush and tongs were supplied with the barbecue.

Colin, the owner, gave us a warm welcome and checked that we were happy during our stay. The park is ideal for pets, which we appreciated because we always take our dog on holiday with us. We would definitely return and recommend to others.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elerinant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
flint22222, Owner at Lagnakeil Highland Lodges, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
I believe it is our location which makes lagnakeil a special place & that so many of our guests enjoy so much, with its close proximity to the beautiful harbour town of oban with its lovey views restaurants & shops and yet set in its own wee glen, we do hope you will get the chance to return sometime soon we thank you again kind regards colin & Jo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lerags
2.7 mi away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
3.3 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#6 of 13 in Oban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,677 reviews
3.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Falls Of Lora
Falls Of Lora
#1 of 2 in Connel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cologin Country Chalets and Lodges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lagnakeil Highland Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lagnakeil Highland Lodges

Property: Lagnakeil Highland Lodges
Address: Lerags, Oban PA34 4SE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban > Lerags
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Lerags
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Lagnakeil Highland Lodges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lagnakeil Highland Hotel Lerags
Lagnakeil Highland Lodges Lerags, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing