We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great place”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Ochil View - CLOSED

The Ochil View
Price range: US$4 - US$14
Cuisines: Bar, British, American, Pub, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Bar Scene, View
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Description: Situated in a small village with fantastic views of the Ochil hills. Freshly and home made prepared dishes. We have our function hall that holds up to 120 people, we can cater to your needs whether it's a birthday party, communion, engagement, wedding, funeral's etc.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great place”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

great food,fantastic staff,brilliant enternment,even made a football match interesting,have eaten several times,never a issue,recomend everything on menu,staff are fast efficient polite,a great family venue,stunning views on way to pub,highly recomend a wee visit

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank linda e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    7
    3
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very friendly and welcoming”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Went in for a meal for my birthday with friends and family got to say got greeted from friendly staff and the meal was fresh and tasty would definitely go back x

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Hes76ter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alva, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Never again”
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

Worst place I've ever eaten really should have just walked out but manners stopped me from doing that, place and staff in need of a good clean dread to think what the kitchens are like

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Lorraine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good Value for what you pay”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

13.00 on a Sunday and no diners was a surprise. The restaurant within the pub lounge was set-out and waiting but only a few came over the next hour or so. Service was handled by the barman who was pleasant and efficient. Two roasts were available, lamb and chicken. We started with soup which was excellent and set us up in anticipation for the main course which although adequate was not exceptional or exciting. Pudding like the soup was very good. Had there been roast potatoes and had the yorkshire puddings been less crisp the main course would have have scored higher. That said, overall it was good, reasonably priced food. The pub is easily accessible with its own car park and well positioned if you are visiting the area or touring through the little towns by the Ochils or simply visiting the furniture retailer in nearby Tillicoultry. I would go back but I wouldn't rush back. Another plus was the good access and space for disabled wheel chair customers.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank keith_the_scot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tillicoultry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very poor experience.”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

I have just visited the Ochilview for a Saturday night tea. At 7pm there were no burgers, only flat lemonade and rude staff. I won't be going back. There is a burger section on the menu so my son ordered a cheeseburger, but the waitress came back a few minutes later to say there were no burgers. She did not bring him the menu to make another choice. He also had a lemonade which was flat. When I returned it I was told "she's just gone to get some". I assumed she meant from a storeroom. My son had finished his food by the time "she" returned from Asda! I said we didn't want it anymore and was told "she" had gone to get it for us, as though we are the only people who drink lemonade! How rude. They have just lost a customer.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank shewoodward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Ochil View also viewed

Fishcross, Clackmannanshire
Tillicoultry, Clackmannanshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing