We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Restaurant, Accommodation Poor”
Review of The Foresters Arms

The Foresters Arms
Ranked #2 of 2 Restaurants in Graffham
Price range: US$13 - US$32
Cuisines: Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Foresters Arms is an old 16C country Freehouse inn with beamed ceiling and large inglenook fireplace set in the small village of Graffham, in the South Downs National park. We serve quality Italian food prepared and cooked to order by our chef Francesco. We also have three cosy letting rooms.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
65 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant, Accommodation Poor”
Reviewed 9 January 2012

We stayed one night here after a family event nearby.
We liked:
The food was fantastic, both dinner and breakfast, with fresh local ingredients, perfectly prepared. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. The atmosphere for dinner was great, with locals chatting at the bar over drinks, and diners nearby in the bar or in the restaurant, without any piped music! It was a very nice change to hear the background chatter of people enjoying a sociable evening together rather than it being obliterated with enforced music.
We didn't like:
The room was terribly cramped and cost £85/night. The double bed was 4'6" wide which I thought was a size that had disappeared by now, and even so the room was so tiny that we had to shuffle sideways to get around the foot of the bed. There was the advertised good quality cotton bedlinen, but spoilt by a synthetic quilt which made for a very over-heated night, especially with two adults crammed into the small bed!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank engineery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    14
    5
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Fabulous fresh seasonal food, cooked to London standards, friendly atmosphere”
Reviewed 28 December 2011

We have visited the Foresters Arms several times since the current owners took over. The pub is inviting, welcoming, warm and friendly and a very good example of a local, country pub. The chef really knows how to cook seasonal fresh food very well. The menu is short, which is a very good sign, and each dish is cooked to order. Fabulous starters, lots of fresh fish (great fish and chips) and beautiful puddings. The log fire and friendly staff make this a real gem nestling at the foot of the South Downs. They are very child friendly and the children's menu and food is every bit as good as the adults. The prices are very reasonable and the standard of cooking is on a par with many London restaurants but in a far more beautiful setting. We recommend it very highly.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank heywood08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Pleasant atmosphere and good food”
Reviewed 7 November 2011

This pub has gone from strength to strength under new management and is now building up a deserved reputation for good food in pleasant surroundings. I would thoroughly recommend it.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 504229Richard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely cracking food”
Reviewed 31 October 2011

5 of us visited the Foresters Arms last Friday for dinner - we were all incredibly impressed by the quality of the food - lamb, hake, duck and chicken all wonderful. The staff managed to maintain a good level of service despite the restaurant being full and very busy. A great evening.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nancy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emsworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice place, good food, but dining experience badly let down very by one stroppy member of waiting staff”
Reviewed 31 August 2011

Feeling relaxed and mellow during the long August bank holiday weekend, my husband and I went for lunch. There were a few drinkers and diners in the bar and a party of four finishing in the restaurant area. We ordered a main course each and sat chatting. Five minutes or so later we decided on some bread and oil which, after more than ten minutes still hadn't arrived. When it was finally delivered I queried how far off our meals were as, if they were close to being ready, there didn't seem any point in having the bread. The member of waiting staff seemed to think I was complaining about the length of time it was taking for our meal to come. I wasn't and explained again that the bread had taken quite a while to arrive and if the meal was on its way we didn't want the bread. (It was only a few chunks of bread and a little bowl of oil for heaven's sake!). I suggested it would be helpful if we knew how long we had in whcih to eat it. The member of waiting staff kept saying the kitchen was 'very busy in the garden' and it was 'the village fete', but swept out to the kitchen and came back with a bolshie face to say that because I was having lamb, it would be about another ten minutes, because we'd 'only ordered ten minutes ago'. My husband was irritated by the rather aggressive attitude and sent the bread and oil back. Then it started to get a bit silly as the member of waiting staff must have gone back to the pub's owner to grizzle and convey the wrong end of the stick, because he came over and told us how long it took to cook the food properly (I KNOW!) and that they had been waiting for a new batch of bread to finish baking. Well, FINE, but why in tarnation didn't someone come and tell us, or simply say with a smiley face, 'sorry for the delay in bringing your lumps of bread, madam', instead of flouncing around like a petulant child. All the other staff were really nice, but perhaps a dose of customer service and communication training is in order for this one member. Oh, and the food was OK too. My South Downs lamb was the best I've ever eaten. Anywhere. My husband's fish was fine, although the chips were a bit pale and uncooked. I'm really sorry not to give the overall rating for this place more that 'poor', but it wouldn't really have mattered how good the food was as the experience left us with a rather unpleasant taste in our mouths and our relaxed and mellow bank holiday mood was shot to bits.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Reviewer57_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Foresters Arms also viewed

Graffham, West Sussex
Tillington, West Sussex
 
Petworth, West Sussex

Been to The Foresters Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing