We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“suprising and excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Foresters Arms

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Graffham
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Foresters Arms
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Graffham
Certificate of Excellence
bath
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“suprising and excellent”
Reviewed 2 October 2012

Slightly out of the way without a great hinterland population nor obvious substantial tourist flow this pub/restaurant with rooms is way better than one might reasonably expect . The pub itself is really welcoming and has a cosy ambience with a log fire giving that lovely smell and atmosphere. The owners were present and very hands on in a helpful and sensitive way ,while their junior staff were young ,enthusiastic and very well mannered. The room was small but had everything that one could want and the permission to accept a a well trained dog was a big bonus. The food at dinner was of a good standard ..obviously completely impossible to aspire to restaurant quality but way above general pub food standard . And breakfast was very good ...everything one could want . Finally the prices of accomodation and food were very reasonable for the quality . Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rousillion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    11
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
11
43
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Midlands
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012

We stayed for two nights over a weekend. The rooms are in a separate annexe, accessed through a separate entrance. Our room was lovely. Everything was beautifully presented and very clean. We had a lovely meal on the Friday night in the bar area, by the lovely open fire. We found everyone incredibly welcoming, friendly and hospitable. Fanastic real ales and lovely wine selection. Breakfast was spot on too.

Neither of us had any mobile phone signal, so Wifi would have been handy? But that was the only slight niggle we had throughout our great stay. We would thoroughly recommend the accommodation, the food and the bar!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2012

We recently visited for dinner on two occasions and found the food very very good on both visits with the young staff keen to please. Let down however, by the frosty unwelcoming manner of the Landlady who appeared to feel she was doing us a favour by serving us at all, demanding 100% attention the minute she was in our vicinity to either take or deliver orders.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2012

We stayed over on saturday night after a wedding a cowdrey ruins. We were welcomed straight away and shown to our room. We were in a bit off a rush so jumped in our taxi straight to our wedding. They offered to book a taxi but i had prebooked one already. Breakfast was very good we went for the english breaky due to a little hangover but it hit the spot, nice toasted bread with papers to read, and nice coffee. This place had great staff who were always looking to help u and always smiling ;) we definatly reccomend this place, if we ever had to stay round this area again we would stay here. Even on our departure they gave us directions on our map to help us back home on journey. GREAT PLACE

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martin s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
297 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2012

..value and quality. We stayed on the £100 half board option and were very impressed. Bedroom on the cramped side but perfectly acceptable for the money. Comfortable bed and good bathroom with lots of nice touches, good toiletries, real coffee, special teas and fancy biscuits. And excellent evening meal, far exceeding our expectations, with charming service and a delicious breakfast. Superb staff, a credit to this business.

Room Tip: All in ground floor of converted stable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank exbiztraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, Sussex, Uk
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2012

We stayed here last week taking advantage of the midweek special offer. Dinner bed and breakfast for £100. And quite frankly at the price you cannot go wrong. From the moment we arrived the staff could not do enough for us, eve keeping the kitchen open so we could have a light lunch. They also managed to find us a OS map so we could go walking.
The rooms are situated on the ground floor to the side of the pub. They are tastefully decorated and comfortable, with tea and coffee making facilties, TV and DVD player and alarm clock IPOD dock. For a country road there is more noise from the road then you would imagine but if you are used to the noise from a town or city this is wouldn't be a problem. There is a DVD and book library for guests to use. The bathroom had a great shower, plenty of hot water and decent pressure in the shower.
The pub is shut during midweek afternoons and there is little in Grafham except miles of fantastic country to walk in to work up an appetite. The pub is a short drive from Midhurst and Petworth.
The food is of the Gastro pub style. I had the Goats Cheese Panacotta which was beautifully smooth, but a little too big for a starter and not cheesy enough for me. My partner had the crab and Crème fraîche bellini which was a little wet (too much Crème fraîche?) She went onto have the Hake with Celeriac Mash and pak choi which was beautiful while I had the Fish Chowder with celtic promise on mustard mash (very interesting, a clever combination of flavours). My side order of vegetables was missed, but quickly produced when reminded and knocked off the bill. The meal was finished with a huge slab of brownie (fresh and not dry) while I had (more) cheese and biscuits....a nice varied selection. All finished off with port and coffee. They have an excellent and well priced wine list. We particularly liked the prosecco!
Breakfast was served the next morning by we assume the owner who was very friendly. There is a nice selection of ceral and juice and fresh tea and coffee. I opted for the scrambled egg and mushrooms (great mushrooms) while my partner had the full English which she enjoyed.
The pup hosts live music on Saturdays and we were so taken with our stay that we tried to book a room for one of the events, only to be dissapointed....fully booked already! (hardly surprising) We will be back in the winter to sit next to the fire, eat more great food and drink more wine. A lovely relaxing couple of days, great staff, great location!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mileoakseagull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012 via mobile

Booked for 6 daft noisy jocks to go to a game at wembley . All the lads loved the place great pub , patient pleasant staff , spotlessly clean everywhere and not too bad at food too . A few of the guys travel through business and said these types of places should be everywhere and easily beat travel lodges premier inns etc on all fronts . High standards great value lovely visit . If staff read this apologies for the lads internal tiff on arrival thanks for all your patience and great service

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tommykelly1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Graffham
3.6 mi away
The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa
4.3 mi away
Park House Hotel & Spa
3.7 mi away
The Angel Inn
The Angel Inn
#3 of 3 in Midhurst
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Chequers Hotel
Chequers Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pulborough
133 reviews
11.4 mi away
Millstream Hotel & Restaurant
7.5 mi away
Hilton Avisford Park
Hilton Avisford Park
#5 of 7 in Arundel
1,896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Foresters Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Foresters Arms

Property: The Foresters Arms
Address: 1 The Street | Graffham, Graffham GU28 0QA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Graffham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Graffham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
The Foresters Arms Hotel West Sussex
The Foresters Arms Graffham, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing