We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Out of the Ordinary”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Castel del Monte
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Witches Inn - Relais Restaurant
Lyons, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Out of the Ordinary”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2012

I can't say enough about the wonderful experience I had at Locanda delle Streghe. From my initial booking to helping me arrange review of records for the research of my family history Marco went above and beyond being a good host. I particularly enjoyed the conversations we had and the insight he was able to give me about Italian family life and culture that I would not have been able to get staying somewhere that did not have hosts who spoke as fluent English as Marco does. The whole family was very welcoming and Paola even made me lasagna to take as a sharing dish to a family reunion I was attending in Villa Santa Lucia. The hotel itself has a wonderful view of the mountains, is very comfortable, and the rooms are thoughtfully appointed. I ate almost all my meals at the hotel and they were absolutely delicious. I could not get enough of Paola's chickpea soup. If you are spending time in this area of Abruzzo I can't recommend enough La Locanda delle Streghe and its hosts Paola, Marco and Martina Cetra.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary Ellen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkXJ220, Direttore generale at The Witches Inn - Relais Restaurant, responded to this review, 10 October 2012
Dear Mrs. "Mary Ellen S", we are pleased to hear that our support has been of great help. We hope to have you again like our guest in our Inn. Will always welcome.
Again thank you!

The staff of "The Witches Inn"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    6
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
28
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012

I completely echo the sentiments of the other guest comments. This place is AWESOME! I am so grateful I stumbled across this place when researching where to stay for our trip. We have family in the area, and I was wanting to research where to find them. Marco went ABOVE AND BEYOND to help me find my relatives, and our nights at La Locanda were our most treasured of the entire Italy trip. Marco is wonderful; he's professional, helpful, and very kind. He is also VERY knowledgeable about the town's history and the history of the area in general. He was a great guide for us. He was great company during our trip, and I feel like we left with a new friend.
The inn was marvelous. The room was exactly as I'd hoped - charming, comfortable, and warm! Everything was clean, and the bed was very comfortable and cozy. We had an extra single bed in the room for my son, and it was very convenient.
The restaurant - my son's favorite in all of our Italy travels! We loved the lamb, the mozzarella and mushrooms, the wine, the cheese platter, the soups, the croissants, etc. We did not walk away from the table hungry any day.
The village - stunning. It's quiet and mysterious all at once. I enjoyed so much looking at all of the different wooden doorways framed in stone and exploring the different sporti. The views from each side of the village reveal panoramic vistas like you see in postcards. Just a few minutes away is Rocca Calascio. Also nearby are the beautiful ups and downs of the Gran Sasso national park. When we visited in May, it was SNOWING here!
I truly recommend this place to anyone looking for a safe, comfortable, and memorable stay in the Abruzzo area. The beauty of this place is unmeasurable and the town and inn have surely left us with very fond memories. I hope to return as soon as possible!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Red Room, and it was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Limes99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkXJ220, Direttore generale at The Witches Inn - Relais Restaurant, responded to this review, 16 October 2012
Dear "Limes99"
we are very happy to helped you to find your relatives here. We hope you'll enjoy again our village and our Inn.
Thank you very much for your review

"The Withces Inn" - The Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2011

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay, especially the warm, hospitable staff. Loved the view from the Red Room overlooking the mountains. We awoke to the smell of delicious croissants daily and freshly brewed coffee. Castel del Monte is a great central location for exploring Abruzzo and all of its medieval villages. It's centrally located high up in the mountains and close to Campo Imperatore. The hiking is AMAZING !! The breakfast is included but dinner is available which also was delicious. The B&B is rustic and very charming as is this beautiful Village, listed as one of the top 100 most beautiful villages in Italy ! We will definitely be returning to the Locanda and the very gracious Cetra Family. Lastly, English is spoken by Marco who was extremely helpful in making suggestions for our day trips !!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Airborne41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2011

We had the pleasure of visiting Castel del Monte this year and were lucky enough to find this very charming Bed & Breakfast with its own restaurant operated by the Cetra family. If you want an authentic experience of Village life, this is the place !! Marco, Paola and Martina go out of their way to make you feel comfortable and welcome. The warm smell of fresh baked croissants welcomed us each day and the views from this property are magnificant. Situated high in the mountains, 4,600ft up, Castel del Monte in Abruzzo has a wonderful, rustic beauty all of its own. If you want to escape off the beaten track to really experience la dolce vita, Castel del Monte is it. Moonlit strolls in this medieval charm are amazing ! Within a few miles you have the magnificant Campo Imperatore, the Little Tibet of Italy, Rocco Calascio and many small neighboring Villages. We loved our stay at La Locanda delle Streghe (also known as the Witches Inn). Marco also speaks very good English so you will have no problem making a reservation. We found this delightful B&B charming and it is delightfully decorated in the Witch's theme which is tied to the annual festival The Night of the Witches held August 17th. Highly recommend a stay at this unique, one of a kind B&B.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Red Room, charming !
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 57SAM57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castel del Monte
4.3 mi away
Sextantio Albergo Diffuso
Sextantio Albergo Diffuso
#1 of 1 in Santo Stefano di Sessanio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
10.6 mi away
Hotel Nido dell'Aquila
Hotel Nido dell'Aquila
#1 of 5 in Assergi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
3.0 mi away
Rifugio della Rocca
Rifugio della Rocca
#1 of 1 in Calascio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
Castello Chiola Hotel
Castello Chiola Hotel
#1 of 3 in Loreto Aprutino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Civette
Le Civette
#2 of 4 in Castel del Monte
4.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
7.3 mi away
Altrocanto
Altrocanto
#1 of 1 in Farindola
5.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Witches Inn - Relais Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Witches Inn - Relais Restaurant

Property: The Witches Inn - Relais Restaurant
Address: Via Della Pineta, 24, 67023 Castel del Monte, Italy
Region: Italy > Abruzzo > Province of L'Aquila > Castel del Monte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Castel del Monte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Created by the reconstruction of an ancient palace on the outskirts of the historic center of Castel del Monte, The Witches Inn - Relais Restaurant, is a structure unique in its kind, able to provide hospitality and services with quality standards equal to those hotels. Nestled in the heart of the Gran Sasso - Laga's Mountains National Park, The Witches Inn offers its guests relaxing moments in one of the most beautiful villages in Italy. The restaurant adjoining the hotel, serves traditional cuisine "castellana", prepared exclusively with local products. The rooms are ideal to spend relaxing stays immersed in an environment, at times, medieval. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Witches Inn - Relais Restaurant Castel Del Monte, Italy - Abruzzo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing