We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Chateau Royal de Saint Saturnin
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Hotel De La Paix(Saint-Nectaire)
US$69
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western PLUS Hotel Gergovie(Perignat-les-Sarlieve)(Great Value!)
US$95
US$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$76
US$73
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Chatel Hotel-Restaurant(Royat)(Great Value!)
US$67
US$65
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$145
US$136
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Regina(Saint-Nectaire)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
Reviews (129)
Filter reviews
129 results
Traveller rating
105
15
4
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
105
15
4
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsone nightcould not have been moreevery aspectcardinal roomguided tour of the castlechristinechateauguestshostsvillageprojectaccommodationsscalecatukcountrysidejourney
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 129 reviews
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We were here for one night during a driving trip across France. I wish we could have stayed longer! We visited many nice places during the trip (more than one château), but Château de Saint Saturnin was my favorite. Our room, "Paul et Virginie" was the least expensive option but still very spacious and beautiful, with a canopied bed and lovely countryside view -- I can only imagine how luxurious the other rooms are, as well. Breakfast was wonderful and gourmet, it included a wonderful variety of fresh and local foods and was a good value. Mme. Penicaud was a gracious, friendly host. I appreciated being able to make a reservation online, and it was easy to visit as an English speaker (though I did try my best in French, too).
The castle tour is a must-do. I was pleasantly surprised how many "inner workings" of the castle we were able to explore as part of the tour. Being a medieval castle, originally (as opposed to a Renaissance-style castle), there is some very old, very interesting history here! It was also a very charming place to stay... Would love to visit again someday.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmmanuelAuvergne, Propriétaire at Chateau Royal de Saint Saturnin, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

We would love to see you again.
Many guests just drop for one night and discover like you have experienced our region is worth staying for a longer period.
We are very happy to welcome more and more guests for a 2 nights or + stay.
Except during the peak season which goes from july 11th to august 23rd, we have special offers for 2 nights or more stays+ stay. Be aware these offers are only available to guests making direct reservations to us (by mail or phone).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

Emmanuel and Christine are gentle people and were so helpful regarding our busy schedule and with dining recommendations in the locality.
Bed and room were memorable for being so perfect and in keeping with chateau ambience.
Extra facilities such as the garden and library were very special. The breakfasts in the chateau kitchen were set as though for royalty. We enjoyed three days of sheer luxury and would not hesitate to return.
We wish this commuted pair all the best with their future care of chateau and guests. Thanks for sharing so much with us.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChristchurchStewarts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmmanuelAuvergne, Propriétaire at Chateau Royal de Saint Saturnin, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear guests,
This place is bigger and older than us and is part of french Heritage. It is an honnor and a pleasure to share it with visitors, even more when they come from the other side of the Earth!
We have been travelling so much in so many places, we know quite well what kind of encounter one should remember for the life...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

The castle is impressive and restored with an authentic touch. The rooms are spacious and comfortable and filled with historical decor. The rooms are also redone to contain all the modern amenities one expects from a 5 star hotel. The staff and owners are discreet leaving guests feeling they own the place, however they are always available with advice and tips about the area, restaurants and things to do. I'm personally amazed to find a place as good as this so far from a city. Definitely coming back!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank zalthawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmmanuelAuvergne, Propriétaire at Chateau Royal de Saint Saturnin, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

You are fixing the standard very high! We do not pretend to be a real 5* since there is no elevator and and we have only five guestrooms without the sophisticaqted 5* hotels services.
But yes we have been restoring the rooms as if we would use them for ourselves. and we do pretend to welcome our guests like relatives or good friends and we are ready to share with them, if they wish, all we know about the place and the region and our exciting experience of bringing back to life a XIIIth century castle!
All the best for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

I just want to add my endorsement of this amazing chateau and hosts. I agree totally with the other reviews and highly recommend this chateau if you are in the area. It is beautifully decorated and everything is top quality. We were given lots of advice on the surrounding area and the owners could not have been kinder or more helpful. The quality of the furnishings, bed linen, towels, breakfast all exceptional.
It is incredibly good value for money. If you are in this area, go !

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mack22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmmanuelAuvergne, Propriétaire at Chateau Royal de Saint Saturnin, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

We can give to whom likes to receive!.
In fact we hope to share : this is the beauty of welcoming people coming from so many different places all over the world.
By the way, we are happy to inform you we have now choosen the people who will execute our new italianlike Renaissance garden. They will start mid june and it should over next spring...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

This is a wonderful and unique place to stay. The building is very historic and interesting. The room we had was beautiful, comfortable and had everything we needed. The sheets and towels were top quality. The bathroom in the tower was fabulous! The guest lounge was very inviting, full of books and other interesting things to look at. The hosts could not have been more welcoming. We were provided with huge numbers of books and leaflets about the area and as a result were able to see a lot in the short time we were there. The village is very old and beautiful. In short, if you are looking for someone to stay in this area do not hesitate, this is the place! We also loved Henri the cat!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LizV44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmmanuelAuvergne, Propriétaire at Chateau Royal de Saint Saturnin, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

We had just reopened and finished to put back everything in order for our guests after all our winter improvement works. It is good to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.
Your room -Cardinal- has such an amazing bathroom in the adjacent tower where we could create a walk in shower at the place of the ancient latrines and add a bath and pieces of antiques in this large vaulted room. It also has great views to the romanesque church and the medieval village we are overlooking.
Coming from England to us is much easier now between mid may and mid september, with daily direct flights from Southampton to Clermont-Ferrand...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews