We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing experience surrounding by nature”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sibsan Resort & Spa Maetaeng
Ranked #1 of 12 Mae Taeng B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Amazing experience surrounding by nature”
Reviewed 9 February 2014

If u only got 1 day or 1 night, if u looking for night life, shopping, don't go there! It is in the middle of the Mountain 1 hour from Chiangmai city. Minimum 2 stay 2full days, lots of activities to do, Zipline, watching or riding elephant, hiking, big swimming pool....there is no other restaurant beside the hotel, however, if u walk 5 mins across the bridge near the elephant farm, there have many street foods, great food but not so clean, only choice the hot dish for ur safety. Or buy some beers n snacks Rawee Waree Resort & spa will change name as : Sib-San Resort & spa on 28 Feb 2014, book it online through "web Sawadee" cheaper 呢間酒店離市區很遠,坐的士1小時, 但是超值,四面環山,酒店房間能看到大象,酒店旁邊有3個大象園

Room Tip: Rm 2012, or ask a room besides the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    93
    23
    9
    7
See reviews for
85
125
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore,
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

It is worth travelling 45 mins away from the city to Rawee Waree resort in Mae Taeng. We visited this place in mid January and the weather was cool in the evening. The greenery, the fresh air and listening to the sound of the water running through tiny stream made this place so heavenly. The entire resort is huge. You can enjoy nature by jogging or walking in this resort. Their café near the river, provides a good place to relax for afternoon tea and you can also see elephants crossing the river. It is simply amazing.

The room is spacious and clean. The beds and pillows are comfortable. We like the design of the room and all the amenities inside the room. The staffs are very friendly. They helped us in arranging the elephant ride and even gone to the extent of sending us to the elephant camp which is next to the resort.

The only thing disappointing was the food at their restaurant. Many dishes in their menu were not available.

Overall, it was a fantastic stay. We would definitely come back again and will stay more nights the next time...

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014 via mobile

Well where to start....This is a 5 star hotel for location, views, friendliness, attention to detail, staff and food.
On arriving at the hotel my breath was taken away at the stunning environment and setting. The porter simply laughed and said 'wait until you see your room' and he wasn't wrong .... Upon approaching our room I was greeted with the surreal sight of a herd of elephants in the river right outside! They were wearing baskets and being ridden up and down. It really was stunning.

Initially it didn't start this great however as we were meant to be collected from Chaing Mai train station and had to change the time with less than 24 hours notice. We booked through sawadee and they emailed back saying the hotel had been advised which unfortunately they hadn't. Therefore the 1500baht I far paid for a taxi was gone and we had to pay 800 baht for a tuk tuk to take us to the hotel. This took just under an hour.

On arrival at the hotel around 9am the staff were extremely apologetic. They immediately arranged a taxi for our journey to the station for when we left - free of charge and sorted us a room out so we could check in early.

The breakfast each day was a buffet with fried eggs sausages pancakes and bacon and various thai specialities. They also had a fresh fruit stand, cereal stand, pastry and cake stand and array of fresh fruit juices. If that wasn't enough there was a chef on the decking who would make you a fresh omelette to order or eggs to order which were lovely!

The hotel was so beautiful and so relaxing, the room was clean and well decorated. We stayed in room 2171 which was an executive residence and I would say definitely had the best view of the river and scenery / elephants. We also had a small pool shared between three villas of which the other two were empty so we had it all to ourselves and this also looked out onto the river and mountains.

The only downside was that we had no day beds on our decking as promised but the chairs and table were fine. No irons in the room. Also the wifi did not reach to our room you had to walk out onto the main path to pick it up but it was not an issue as it worked fine everywhere else.

The pont cafe was just opposite us and was lovely to sit and relax in and did afternoon tea for only 500 baht - we did not have it but other guests did and it looked wonderful.

We dined in the restaurant two nights and had room service one night and each time tried a different thai dish. Each one was gorgeous!!

There were mainly other Thais staying at the hotel and everyone was very friendly and it was so peaceful - very tranquil.

One day we went over the road to the thai elephant home which was just incredible and I urge you all to go!! Look it up on trip advisor.

When we left we got our taxi to Chaing Mai station and my parter left his brand new iPad in the taxi. We called the hotel straight away and the taxi was back in no time with the iPad - outstanding!!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lauren2802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
Reviewed 6 January 2014

The layout of the resort is excellence one side face the mountain and another face the pool. Even if we are in the cheapest villa we still have pool in front of our room which work like a private pool. The room is very clean and the staff is very friendly. The good thing is it is close to a Zipline and you can go for rafting as well.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ratchanee D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

The resort is on a beautiful location in the midst of the mountains. Nice rooms that allow you to stay with three small children.

The Thai lay-out, swimming pool etc. all well maintained, it gives as well a great feeling walking outside hearing the elephant sounds from the near-by river.

The hotel does require attention on other basic necessities. Service staff is in need of training, very bad internet connection and limited knowledge of the (very) nearby tourist attractions.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mmwschouten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We stayed for 8 nights and loved every one of them. Honestly I was concerned when I read some of the reviews here, but my experience was nothing but great! The place is a paradise and really close to all the activities you could want to experience.Most of the fellow travelers we met were jealous of where we were staying since they all had to drive an hour from Chiang Mai to experience them, while we are only a few minutes away. A lot of the negative reviews here were about the food. I found the food to be excellent with lots of choices. I can only think that they only ate the Western food because the Thai food was awesome ! The breakfast buffet was great as well. Lastly the staff there were amazing and have never seen such fast, efficient, and friendly service in all of my travels.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BonPecheurCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Stayed for 2 nights, from arranging for airport transfer, to check-in, to the Spa, everything went smoothly. I chose this place for our group of 6 because we wanted to be away from the city for a couple of days and Rawee Waree exceeded all our expectations. Elephant homes (we went with Thai Elephant Home for a genuine mahout experience that included bathing the elephants!), elephant camps, ox cart riding, zip lining, long neck tribes are all nearby, so if you are intending to do all those activities you should definitely consider staying here.

In the morning we took a walk around the grounds and arrived at the cafe where we saw elephants crossing the river, it was so awesome just looking at them, didn't notice elephant smells at all. The grounds and cafe are beautiful, the only thing I would say needs improvement is the restaurant, but you will be completely relaxed when you are here so it wasn't a big deal too. Spa was great, and affordable considering resort standards, try it!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank m4acca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mae Taeng
22.6 mi away
Panviman Chiang Mai Spa Resort
12.6 mi away
32 Coffee Hill & Resort
32 Coffee Hill & Resort
#1 of 2 in Mae Taeng
11 reviews
4.2 mi away
Lisu Lodge
Lisu Lodge
#1 of 17 in Mae Taeng
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Road View Hotel
The Road View Hotel
#5 of 12 in Mae Taeng
5 reviews
19.9 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Chiang Mai
9.9 mi away
Lhongkhao Resort
Lhongkhao Resort
#4 of 12 in Mae Taeng
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sibsan Resort & Spa Maetaeng? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sibsan Resort & Spa Maetaeng

Property: Sibsan Resort & Spa Maetaeng
Address: 168 Moo 2 | Kued Chang, Mae Taeng 50150, Thailand (Formerly Rawee Waree Resort & Spa)
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Mae Taeng
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Mae Taeng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sibsan Resort & Spa Maetaeng 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MINDFUL LIVING IN TREASURE DREAM RESORTA heavenly tranquilly boutique resort the stunned nestles discreetly a midst tropical garden where you can have relaxing holiday or to enjoy a romantic break with your chosen one. Synergy of Lanna Modern Style and luxuriously spacious villa are adapted to preserve the integrity of the environmental sensitivity and local communities that surrounded the resort.Our facilities approach to enhance the nature experience engrave with opulent services that can expected the top class 5 stars intended and all offered the warmest of smiles and hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sibsan Resort & Spa Maetaeng reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sibsan Resort & Spa Maetaeng Chiang Mai Province, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing