We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bua Thong Waterfalls (Nam Phu Chet Si)
Open today: 08:00 - 17:00
Save
  
Ways to Experience Bua Thong Waterfalls (Nam Phu Chet Si)
from US$46.19
More Info
from US$78.96
More Info
from US$63.17
More Info
from US$63.17
More Info
Reviews (653)
Filter reviews
653 results
Traveller rating
468
150
28
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
468
150
28
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews walk up chiang mai beautiful waterfall bare feet mineral deposits slippery rocks cool experience unique experience super fun change of clothes limestone sticky ropes scooter climb grip parts
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
328 - 333 of 653 reviews
Reviewed 8 September 2016 via mobile

We hired a moped and made the journey to these waterfalls for the morning.

They were such a surprise when we got there (after missing be turning as its not massively well signposted from the main road when you're coming from ChaingMai!!) and were absolutely beautiful!

We walked right down to the bottom platform which is a dream to start, but then you realise that you have to walk back UP after your lovely relaxing time in the fall!!

All in all it was so lovely to explore for a morning, the waterfall is stunning and the fact you can climb them a bit is great fun! Take insect repellent though.... We got eaten a lot by bugs as its bordering jungle territory!!

Date of experience: September 2016
1  Thank 407kj
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 September 2016

This waterfall is an hour north of chiang mai but a must do. Not too busy, fun to climb and fun to get there on a scooter! Also it's free! (Well we didn't see any ticket office!) Stop at a cute cafe called the graveyard, on the left as you head towards the sticky waterfall (about halfway from the turnoff of the highway to the waterfall) they do good coffee, cake, brownie, and we even saw lasagne on the menu!

Date of experience: September 2016
1  Thank BrianaJ89
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 September 2016 via mobile

We rode to Bua Thong on a hired motorbike. It took about an hour of travelling time and the ride was gorgeous! The outskirts of Chiang Mai make way to lush farmlands with the picturesque mountains of Chiang Mai province as a backdrop. The falls are apparently unique; the ability to climb up the rocks as the water cascades is fantastic, and the sumptuous, lush verdant surroundings make for a wonderful, tranquil experience.

Date of experience: September 2016
2  Thank davelZ8585LQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 September 2016 via mobile

It took just maybe just over an hour in a car. We drove just because we wasnt sure about the journey but it was very simple if you wanted to rent a scooter and drive up. The water was crowded which made the experience worth wild. You can easiler climb down and up the fall but beware! Some spots are a little slippery. There were also ropes to assit you. When we got to the dead end you will see some tree branches marking a X naturally. Do not explore further! There are loads of scary looking spiders including a red spider the size of your hand. Lastly, go down barefoot and no need to bring anything down.

Date of experience: September 2016
1  Thank judythile
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 September 2016

Rented a scooter, 1 hr later in paradise..
Beautiful, scenic,tranquil and very peaceful.
Climbed up and down the falls a few times and had a soak in the plunge pool at the bottom. Bliss!!

Date of experience: September 2016
1  Thank Angela Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews