We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay in Ban Akeela”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mae Taeng
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ban Akeela Homestay
Breda, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice stay in Ban Akeela”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2012

On our bicycle trip through Thailand we have spent 2 nights in Ban Akeela and really enjoyed the comfortable bungalow and the hospitality of the very friendly and helpful owners Barrie en Sunee.
Barrie offered us a transfer to the nearby elephant camp we planned to visit and joined us on his bike when we left Ban Akeela, meanwhile showing us a small track in the surroundings which made it a very nice cycling trip.
Also the location of Ban Akeela is beautiful, very nice views over the valley from the big terrace.

And, important to mention, the very good Thai food. Both breakfast (continental) and dinner were very good; for me as a vegeterian good alternatives were offered.

Also, our 4 year old son had a very good time in Ban Akeela. Initially Barrie played a Disney cartoon for him, afterwards he had lots of fun with the 5 year old grandchild of Barrie and Sunnee.

Conculsion: we really enjoyed the stay in Ban Akeela, if we ever return to Thailand (I hope so) we surely will return to Barrie and Sunnee!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marc V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrie C, Owner at Ban Akeela Homestay, responded to this review, 30 December 2012
Marc,

Thank you for your review. Sunee and me are glad that you and your family enjoyed your time at Ban Akeela Home stay. It was a pleasure looking after you all. Nawier is still asking where your son has gone and what he is doing. I hope the rest of your cycle tour goes well for you.

Barrie and Sunee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
3
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2012

I stayed at Ban Akeela in October 2012 for 2 weeks and had a fantastic time. I found my stay to be one of total relaxation and was the ideal place to 'chill out'. The accomodation was first class providing everything you need for a comfortable and enjoyable stay. The beds were very comfortable and offered an excellent nights rest at the end of the day. The food was first class and in my 2 weeks stay I had the choice between 5 meals and didn't have the same meal more than once during my stay. From my first day, when I was picked up at the airport by the owner, i found both to be especially attentive to any of my needs and 'put themselves out' to ensure I enjoyed my stay with them. This was from my first day and throughout my total stay there.
As a keen cyclist, I was taken by Barry for rides across some of the most beautiful breathtaking scenery one could imagine. There are lots of places and local attractions to visit according to your interests. All in all, a wonderful place to visit and one I'm certainly looking forward to returning to.
Thoroughly recommended. Tony C

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrie C, Owner at Ban Akeela Homestay, responded to this review, 10 December 2012
Khun Sunee and I would like to say thank you to Tony and all our other guests who have stayed at Ban Akeela Home Stay over the past year.

It has been a sharp learning curve for both of us as we are new to the business. But we have enjoyed the fantastic response we have had in our first year of business.

However there is always room for improvement and suggestions on how we can improve the service to our guests are welcomed.

Thank you one and all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2012

I stayed for a few days with Barry and family, and Barry hired a motorcycle for me.

I then explored local roads and towns, visited Mae Rim Elephant farm"---superb' and caught giant fish at local fish farm lake--catch and release, in most civilized conditions.

Barry showed me around a bit also before I left for a few days on the bike- headed north with Barry's directions- to Chiang Rai.

Returned for some luxury before heading back to the bustle f C.Mai and BKK.

Thanks Barry and Suneee and Narweer(?)--- next time have a push bike for me will ya?

Room Tip: only three units but they're immaculate!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank peter g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012

A few weeks ago we, a group of dutch cyclists and their support visited Baan Akeela Home stay. Well it was a wonderfull experience. After our very nice tour about 70 km, we were very charmingly welcomed by Barrie and Sunee and their staff. We had a well deserved welcome drink and healthy fruits. After a good chat with barrie we went to see the surrounding area and the Ngat Dam. We took a boattour on the lake and enjoyed the spacious view from the water.
Back at the home stay Sunee and the girls had cooked a wonderfull thai meal for us.. very fresh, with a lot of veggies and carbes.. Off course we did enjoy a good thai beer too..
The guesthouses are very nice decorated and the bed is big and gives you a very good nightsrest.
In the morning we enjoyed the view over the paddyfields and were invited to the very nutricious english breakfast.. Even we , dutch guys, had to do our best to master this enormous and delicious meal. It gave us enough strenght to start our tour back to the city again..
Barrie and sunee are very gentle and friendly hosts.. they love their place and their guests, so it didn't look like work to them...
we felt very welcome and at home.. we hope to see you very soon again.

Jan S. and the duch friends.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2012

We stayed here over Songkran to escape Chiang Mai as we’ve seen too many Songkrans in previous years! The accommodation is absolutely first class. The chalets are newly built with no compromise made to quality. There is nothing primitive about this place!
Actually our plan was to go to stay at the dam accommodation, but as that was full we were recommended to go to Barry and Sunee’s homestay. We ended up being very glad the dam accommodation was full. We went as two couples and three children and once we got talking we ended up staying two nights even although we had plans to stay only one night. Barry and Sunnee are wonderful hosts and Sunnee knows how to cook for the farang taste. The English breakfast was included in the room rate and was spot on. Barry is a keen cyclist and knows the area well and can direct you to anywhere you may wish to go. He also seems to be willing to be your guide although we ended up doing not a lot, except for one Songkran run with the kids and spending some time walking at the dam.
If you are coming here, I would get an idea of what you wish to do beforehand. If you are not into socializing with your hosts or just plain peace and quiet, maybe you could get bored after day one. If you know what you are doing and have plans, then you won’t easily find a nicer place to stay.

Room Tip: All rooms are the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ianthailand999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melaka Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

Super Fantastic is the word to describe Ban Akeela Homestay.The Homestay and property is a very high standard, the room has all you need to make your stay there very very comfortable. The food is Teriffic cooked by the owners lovely Thia Wife's own fair hand both are very attentive to make your stay something to remember. the owner picks you up from the airport and takes you back and will take you out to various places and attractions in the area if you ask him. If its peace and tranquility you are looking for this is the place to stay but if you feel the need to rave it up and have some fun all night long then Chiang Mai is not too far away.This homestay does not have any negatives only positives. there are bikes for rent if your the energetic type as owner is keen cyclist and would take you out on the bikes there is canoeing not far away on the resevoir local markets in the morning and evening in the village. I visited the Elephant camp for an excellent afternoons entertainment where you can ride an elephant and watch the Demonstration with the Elephants. Ban Keela is a must visit if your going to the north of Thialand nd im sure once you have been you would tell your friends about it, Overall a 10 star place to stay, thats how good it was

Room Tip: All three rooms are excellent and are away from the house and are all detached from each other so yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bartman47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
midlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

We had a wonderful 3 days with Barry & Sunee over Christmas 2011 and within minutes of our arrival were wishing we had booked to stay longer. The homestay was spotless and very comfortable, the atmosphere is totally relaxed and chilled out. Barry and Sunee were incredibly friendly and keen to make our stay as enjoyable as possible.
Barry took us on an excursion to the near by elephant camp, a breathtaking experience. We had no idea there were so many things to do in the area and really wished we had been able to stay longer.
Sunee is a fantastic cook, equally skilled at the full English breakfast and traditional Thai food.
We are already planning our next holiday to Thailand, and will be returning to Barry and Sunee for a longer stay next time to enable us to really enjoy this beautiful area, as it’s a great base from which to explore this northern part of Thailand.
Every aspect of our stay was first class, thank you Barry & Sunee. Look forward to seeing you again next year!

Room Tip: All 3 of the homestays are brand new and beautifully peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kittyqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mae Taeng hotels
10.6 mi away
Sibsan Resort & Spa Maetaeng
2.4 mi away
Lhongkhao Resort
Lhongkhao Resort
#5 of 12 in Mae Taeng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
3.6 mi away
Ban Phraya Lanna Rimnam
Ban Phraya Lanna Rimnam
#3 of 12 in Mae Taeng
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Bamboo Country Lodge
Bamboo Country Lodge
#11 of 17 in Mae Taeng
3.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
3.2 mi away
Phusanfah Resort
Phusanfah Resort
#8 of 12 in Mae Taeng
4.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
19.8 mi away
Cool Bananas Homestay
Cool Bananas Homestay
#5 of 17 in Mae Taeng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ban Akeela Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ban Akeela Homestay

Property: Ban Akeela Homestay
Address: 123 Moo 6 | Cho Lae, Mae Taeng 50150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Mae Taeng
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Mae Taeng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small family run homestay set on the edge of the beautiful Sri Lanna National park and close to the Mae Gnat reservoir. All the rental bungalows are detached and decorated to a high standard. Soft drinks and coffee making facilities are provided in the rooms free of charge.Nearby attractions include- Elephant camps, Snake shows,The Tiger Kingdom and River rafting. Bicycle hire, car and motor cycle is available on request. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ban Akeela Homestay Chiang Mai Province, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing