We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Utterly Magnificent”
Review of La Tierra Roja

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Tierra Roja
Ranked #1 of 2 Aliseda B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We have just spent a weekend at this boutique hotel. We have stayed all over Spain and this is the best place we have ever stayed in. The house itself is an utter delight. The owners have sourced each indidual piece of furniture, tableware and art (and i mean everything - down to the last spoon) and the result is a unique and dreamlike place.

The gaden with outside pool is so peaceful and beautiful that you will have to budget for at least one day when you will actually not leave the premises. I looked at all of the rooms as I was so enchated by the place. The suite on the ground floor is the best room but all of the other rooms upstairs are equally elegant and stylish. I would also recommend that you book dinner there - we had a beautifully romantic meal outside in the garden. All of the ingredients were locally sourced (including the wine) and the food and service were impeccable - you will never get all of that in a restaurant. Talking of service, the owners were charming hosts and nothing was too much trouble - just ask them where to park in Caceres or where to eat there and you'll get a hand drawn map with directions and a list of lunch or dinner recommendations.

I hope you enjoy the place as much as we did (and judging by the comments of other guests it looks like many people do). We are already planning a trip back in a few weeks time!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arf1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (97)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 97 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2013

A beautifully restored traditional "pueblo" house in Western Spain, with gorgeous hand-picked furniture and top-class service, we fully enjoyed our weekend stay. Touring the beautiful spring-green landscapes of Extremadura (province of Cáceres) and eastern Portugal (Alemtejo), La Tierra Roja was the ideal place to do it from with great food in the evening (recommended if you're arriving late) and a -truly- hearty breakfast in the mornings. María and Victor cater for your every need and provide good day-trip advice if you wish to explore the countryside or nip over into also-beautiful Portugal. Thank you both, we really loved your house and your attention to detail. Next time, instead of the inviting living-room log fire we hope to enjoy the outdoor pool!
Day trip suggestions:
- Marvao (Portugal), just 60 km away.
- Vostell Museum, in Malpartida, the next town along the road to Cáceres www.museovostell.org
- Cáceres, 20 minutes away, World Heritage City.
- Helga de Alvear Art Foundation in Cáceres, impressive world-class contemporary art collection www.fundacionhelgadealvear.es

Room Tip: All six rooms are superb and whether you're overlooking the square or the back garden they are q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elsatrue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2012

La Tierra Roja is a wonderful place to stay. We stayed there during a tour of Extremadura and found it a very special experience. The house is beautifully furnished and decorated, reflecting the excellent taste of the owners, and guests have use of the living room. As the weather was unseasonably chilly, we were grateful for the roaring fire and the warmth of the rooms. Our room was extremely comfortable and looked onto the lovely terrace and garden. Our evening meal gave us a real taste of Extremadura and was impeccably presented. Breakfast, which is included, gave us far more delicious food than we could eat, Maria and Victor were most helpful and pleasant. A suberb choice.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Magical it's certainly the word that better describes this place. You will never guess what you're going to find inside when you first meet the facade of the building. Everything looks absolutely perfect at "La Tierra Roja". Nevertheless, if something has to be highlighted I'll choose the theatrical atmosphere created by the owners to serve dinners in the garden. I can assure that you'll find it an unforgettable experience!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank pmaclx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2011

we stayed three nights in this beautiful little hotel, and had a wunderfull time. Nice rooms and garden, and a very friendly and helpfull host.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joris_caroline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
185
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
Thank el_megas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to La Tierra Roja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Tierra Roja

Address: Plaza Extremadura 9, 10550 Aliseda, Spain
Region: Spain > Extremadura > Province of Caceres > Aliseda
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Aliseda
Price Range: £72 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Tierra Roja chic-rural hotel offers charming accommodation 15 minutes from Caceres, world heritage site since 1986 and capital of the Alta Extremadura. Surrounded by beautiful countryside in the incomparable Sierra de San Pedro. Here, you can enjoy bird-watching –Spanish imperial eagle, eagle-owl, Eurasian black vulture, kite eagle– as well as the renowned stag bellow throughout late summer...it is a true paradise for the nature lover. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your La Tierra Roja reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Tierra Roja Aliseda, Spain - Province Of Caceres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing