We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
La Tierra Roja
Nearby Hotels
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Ruiz Hotel(Caceres)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ara Hotel(Caceres)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Agoda.com
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (98)
Filter reviews
98 results
Traveller rating
95
2
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
95
2
0
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 98 reviews
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We have just spent a weekend at this boutique hotel. We have stayed all over Spain and this is the best place we have ever stayed in. The house itself is an utter delight. The owners have sourced each indidual piece of furniture, tableware and art (and i mean everything - down to the last spoon) and the result is a unique and dreamlike place.

The gaden with outside pool is so peaceful and beautiful that you will have to budget for at least one day when you will actually not leave the premises. I looked at all of the rooms as I was so enchated by the place. The suite on the ground floor is the best room but all of the other rooms upstairs are equally elegant and stylish. I would also recommend that you book dinner there - we had a beautifully romantic meal outside in the garden. All of the ingredients were locally sourced (including the wine) and the food and service were impeccable - you will never get all of that in a restaurant. Talking of service, the owners were charming hosts and nothing was too much trouble - just ask them where to park in Caceres or where to eat there and you'll get a hand drawn map with directions and a list of lunch or dinner recommendations.

I hope you enjoy the place as much as we did (and judging by the comments of other guests it looks like many people do). We are already planning a trip back in a few weeks time!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arf1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2013

A beautifully restored traditional "pueblo" house in Western Spain, with gorgeous hand-picked furniture and top-class service, we fully enjoyed our weekend stay. Touring the beautiful spring-green landscapes of Extremadura (province of Cáceres) and eastern Portugal (Alemtejo), La Tierra Roja was the ideal place to do it from with great food in the evening (recommended if you're arriving late) and a -truly- hearty breakfast in the mornings. María and Victor cater for your every need and provide good day-trip advice if you wish to explore the countryside or nip over into also-beautiful Portugal. Thank you both, we really loved your house and your attention to detail. Next time, instead of the inviting living-room log fire we hope to enjoy the outdoor pool!
Day trip suggestions:
- Marvao (Portugal), just 60 km away.
- Vostell Museum, in Malpartida, the next town along the road to Cáceres www.museovostell.org
- Cáceres, 20 minutes away, World Heritage City.
- Helga de Alvear Art Foundation in Cáceres, impressive world-class contemporary art collection www.fundacionhelgadealvear.es

Room Tip: All six rooms are superb and whether you're overlooking the square or the back garden they are quiet and peaceful.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elsatrue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2012

La Tierra Roja is a wonderful place to stay. We stayed there during a tour of Extremadura and found it a very special experience. The house is beautifully furnished and decorated, reflecting the excellent taste of the owners, and guests have use of the living room. As the weather was unseasonably chilly, we were grateful for the roaring fire and the warmth of the rooms. Our room was extremely comfortable and looked onto the lovely terrace and garden. Our evening meal gave us a real taste of Extremadura and was impeccably presented. Breakfast, which is included, gave us far more delicious food than we could eat, Maria and Victor were most helpful and pleasant. A suberb choice.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Magical it's certainly the word that better describes this place. You will never guess what you're going to find inside when you first meet the facade of the building. Everything looks absolutely perfect at "La Tierra Roja". Nevertheless, if something has to be highlighted I'll choose the theatrical atmosphere created by the owners to serve dinners in the garden. I can assure that you'll find it an unforgettable experience!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank pmaclx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2011

we stayed three nights in this beautiful little hotel, and had a wunderfull time. Nice rooms and garden, and a very friendly and helpfull host.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joris_caroline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews