We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don`t miss it!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Champagne Thierry Rodez

Champagne Thierry Rodez
Ranked #1 of 4 things to do in Ambonnay
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Champagne Thierry Rodez is situated in the Grand Cru village of Ambonnay. Thierry is a fifth generation winemaker. We are a small champagne producer with 3.4 hectares of vines. Our grapes are pressed, vinified and sold on site. We are open year round (except August) and are always delighted to welcome guests for a tour and degustation of our champagne if we're home (please call ahead!). We look forward to sharing our news and stories with all, especially those interested in the lifestyle of a small and traditional vigneron champenois.
Toronto
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Don`t miss it!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

Thanks to Tripadvisor recommendations we had a wonderful experience visiting family run champagne house of Thierry Rodez.
I booked my visit in advance (you can get their info from website). We made it as a day trip from our Belgium trip.
Our tour guide was Thierry`s wife Jessie, who speaks very good English (In fact she lived in Canada for some time). Jessie was very detailed in explaining whole champagne making proccess and gave us a good family history, which made us appreciate their champage even more. Thierry joined us during tasting. He doesn`t speak any english (which we found very charming and authentic) , so Jessie was translating back and force and we had a very good conversation.
The whole visit and tasting was very intimate and I can ensure you, that you won`t get it at any big champagne house visit (we visited "Pommery" champagne house(at expensive price) at previous visits to Champagne region and it wasn`t even close as good as this one. At the end we bought some bottles to take home at exellent price.
So, do yourself a favor, rent a car, drive through gorgeous Champagne fields and visit " Thierry Rodez" champagne house for the great experience.
Thank you Thierry and Jessie for your hospitality!!!!!
Visiting family from Canada.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank TorontoMaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Israel
Level Contributor
31 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“great expirience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2012

friendly atmosphere.
Jessi explained to us in detail the making of champagne and answered patiently our many questions.
the tasting where generous and exciting.
lovely lovely lovely.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank hatul_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic independent Champagne house”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2012

My wife and I went to Reims in June 2012 and had decided to mainly visit smaller independent Champagne houses and our visit to Thierry Rodez didn't disappoint. We were greeted by Jessie who was very friendly and welcoming. We were given a tour of the production area and their cellar and Jessie very openly told us about the life of a small Champagne producer. We tasted several of their Champagnes and they were all as good (if not better) than those from the bigger houses. The whole experience was personal and educational and we can warmly recommend a visit. We even got the pleasure of seeing Thierry label some demi-bouteilles as they didn't have any ready to be sold. This was really interesting to see and something you would never experience in one of the bigger houses. Don't get me wrong we went to visit Taittinger whose caves are incredibly beautiful and also well worth a visit but seeing smaller houses like Thierry Rodez is (to us) much more interesting.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterHoffmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Fabulous family run Champagne House .. Excellent Quality (What more can I say .... its already been said !)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2012

Having read the previous reviews, I was really keen to visit this independant Champagne house whilst we were in the area, situated in one of the Grand Cru villages - and we were certainly not disappointed.

Following a brief introduction, (en francais) Thierry took us on a tour of the production area, showing us his traditional wooden press (their grapes are pressed on site). After a tour of the cellar to view his wines maturing, we went back upstairs and shared a bottle of their Brut champagne with his wife Jess.

Jess and Thierry explained the family history on winemaking over another couple of glasses of their delicious Brut, and we watched Thierry at work labelling and corking the bottles in the traditional way, rather than by machine which was quite fascinating - he is a true 'Artisan'

Thierry clearly takes a great deal of pride in what he does, which shows in the end product. We sampled their 2004 Millésime Vintage - which has beautiful complex finish, and quite in a league of its own.

We turned up on spec, but I would recommend that if you do want to visit, then do call ahead... (as already suggested by other reviewers). Jess (Thierry's wife) speaks perfect English, but if you catch Thierry on his own you'll need to dust off your schoolboy French (as I had to for the first 30 mins - until Jess arrived back home).

Noting the quality of the end product, their prices are very good indeed, and would hazard a guess that once you have tasted their fantasic range of Champagne that you will not hesitate to make a purchase whilst you are there (TIP: take a large car and fill the boot!)

A bientót !!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sean N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
68 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“I can only agree with all the positive stuff...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2012

...the previous commentators have said. If you want to hear a true story about the making of champagne in good old days (and partly still at this place), this is the champagne house to go. The feeling we had sitting there with the family (or at least three of them) after the short but informative tour was just lovely. All the stories we heard about the family and champagne making and the neighborhood...can't get them from Moet...
And the bottle of Champagne we finished was good too :)
Enjoy!
PS It is better to call in advance than to send an e-mail.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank hetman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Champagne Thierry Rodez also viewed

 

Been to Champagne Thierry Rodez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing