We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Unforgettable!”
other travellers have booked this property
The 16m natural swimming pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The 16m natural swimming pool
Luxury Lodge nr Beechworth 5 acres of magnificent garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
The 16m natural swimming pool
Luxury Lodge nr Beechworth
5 acres of magnificent garden
Generous living and dining
Funky rustic living space
Lodge bedroom
Generous king bedrooms
Lodge bathroom 1
Modern comforts - kitchen and entry
Spacious kitchen well equipped
Picturesque outdoor dining
Private garden and dining
Giant chess
Arts Suite living room
Arts Suite romantic bedroom
Relax on the bocci court
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Stanley, Victoria

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Warren M
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unforgettable!”
Reviewed 14 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Thank you Genevieve for this amazing place. Wonderful atmosphere, cosy and perfect for two families. Perfect winter getaway with mulled wine in front of the fire. Loved every moment and will be back!

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jun 2017
It was such a pleasure to meet you all and see you enjoying all that Planetrees has to offer. Such wonderful guests and I look forward to welcome you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paxisox
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“So relaxing we wanted to stay”
Reviewed 22 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

While searching for extended family accommodation in the King Valley we came across this hidden gem. The Lodge accommodates 10 and the Studio apartment can take four. The Lodge is eco friendly, built of timber logs, recycled timber and packed with mud. Four bedrooms in the Lodge have 3 King beds and one queen bed. The kitchen has all amenities. There are two bathrooms and three toilets. The gardens are amazing and we wished we could spend a day wandering and enjoying the 'serenity'. There are split system air conditioners, as well as a wood fire that heats the whole house. Only a five minute drive into Beechworth and a great base to explore the region. Our host Genevieve, was welcoming, nothing was too much trouble and she made great suggestions for places of interest to visit and places to eat if we didn't want to cook. We could even have had a chef come in!! The outdoor pool was amazing, as it has been designed to appear as a small lake in the bush,though in May a little too cold to take a dip. If I could afford it, I would be making an offer to purchase the place and retire there - it was just so comfortable and relaxing. Genevieve has thought of everything to make your stay one to remember. Unfortunately it is not up for sale and I could not afford it anyway!! Luxury accommodation at an affordable price.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 May 2017
Thank you Russell. It was such a pleasure to host you and your family for a special weekend. Generous appreciaions such as you have expressed here is just what feeds my passsion for creating and sharing Planetrees! I will look forward seeyou again in the not too distant future. Best wishes.
G
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blissed12...
Stanley, Australia
1 review
“Stunning retreat for a lively girls' weekend”
Reviewed 23 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

What an amazing host, fantastic accommodation, unbelievable garden and truly amazing location. Thank you for hosting us.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Apr 2017
This review is a copy of Alice Luff's review left on Planetrees Facebook page.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charles43...
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great experience - Superb Garden!!”
Reviewed 11 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017

A wonderful place to stay in the village of Stanley about 10 minutes by car from Beechworth, Perfect for 3-4 couples as a base to explore the area or to relax in the extensive gardens and pool.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Apr 2017
Thank you for your generous feedback Charles. It was a delight to host you group in the Lodge and I look forward to welcome you again.
Best wishes.
Genevieve
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aussielin...
Taree, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
588 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
“A lovely house in a peaceful location”
Reviewed 24 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

We stayed in the Lodge and found it to be comfortable, clean, full of character and spacious. It was surrounded by beautiful gardens and our generous host invited us to pick flowers, fruit and vegetables The fresh vegetables and berries were delicious. We enjoyed games of bocce and outdoor chess. Each night we sat out in the garden to have a barbecue dinner and then to chat over glasses of wine. One night we had a special dinner prepared by a chef recommended by who was a Genevieve was a gracious host. She even made our little dog feel welcome. It was a wonderful place for a family reunion.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PNE123
Perth, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A slice of heaven”
Reviewed 7 February 2017 for a stay in January 2017

We spent a week at Plantrees at the end of January 2017. We had a family gathering, all ages ranging from 8 adults to 2 children under 7. This has to be one of the best properties I have stayed in anywhere.
It felt like a home away from home with every comfort you could think of provided. The gardens are spectacular, and the pool is wonderful. We swam daily and walked the gardens, we gathered produce (thank you Genevieve) to add to our meals, listened to the prolific bird life, frogs and cicadas, and just relaxed.
Very comfy bed, lots of chairs/ lounges, huge dining table. Plenty of room to escape outdoors with loads of different little seating areas hidden away. Deep verandahs all round the house, even a hammock! Bliss!
The main downstairs room in the house is aircondioned by a central reverse cycle unit, but upstairs has only ceiling fans. It got very hot one night, but this was a minor glitch.
No wifi in the house, though I believe it is available in the Gatehouse suite. Network coverage was patchy.
All facilities in the property were brilliant and I can highly recommend a holiday here. Try the Stanley pub down the road for a superb meal.
Thank you for a wonderful week. We made many happy memories.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Feb 2017
Thank you Judith. It was such a pleasure to host your family holiday at Planetrees. The Wifi is underway for the Lodge now we have NBN. You are right that it is available in the Suite. As we very rarely get a very hot night fans have sufficed for upstairs rooms. In fact turning the main fan on helps circulate the cool air. But I may not have mentioned this. I greatly appreciate your feedback especially as you manage properties yourself. I hope to see you again soon. Best wishes.Genevieve
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David S
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a great place for a group of friends”
Reviewed 3 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

A group of friends went up to Stanley and had a great weekend. There was 10 of us, so we filled both the house and the separate studio apartment, both of which are stylish, inviting and spacious. The architecture of the house is interesting, there is heaps of space to sit back and relax, and the kitchen has everything you could need. The garden is spectacular and the new natural pool would be great in summer. The weather was lousy but the coonara kept the whole house warm. The warm apple and fig cake upon arrival just topped it all off. This was our third visit, there will be a fourth (ps; The Stanley Pub down the road is a must!)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The architecture of the house and the beautiful gardens
Liked least: The weather?
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jul 2016
Thank you David. It was a pleasure to host you again and thank you for your generous appreciation of our special paradise and our hospitality.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing