We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Birding Lodge & Campground”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Julatten
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kingfisher Park Birdwatchers Lodge
Carnarvon, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Birding Lodge & Campground”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Met by two wonderful people, Keith & Lindsay. They have been managing this place for years. Clean & great camp kitchen & WiFi available. Wonderfully helpful. Maps given to you freely to find many other birding spots around this area. Right in the heart of the rain-forest. Just minutes from Mt. Lewis.We have been here two days and have 23 new bird species. Keith & Lindsay do day & night walks around the area also. The best birding lodge here in Australia by far. Would recommend this place for sure. Would come back here if were to return to Australia. If a Birder, #1 spot, need to come here for sure!!!! Excellent

Room Tip: We stayed in the camping area, with nice concrete slabs, close to the toilets and clean hot showers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    14
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
7
33
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We had three rooms at Kingfisher Park for 5 nights. The rooms are big and spacious and airy, with a good overhead fan and all the kitchen appliances you could want. The location for bird watching is terrific, just a couple of kilometers from the entrance to the drive to Mt Lewis and a good restaurant at Highlander. Our hosts Keith and Lindsay are really knowledgable birders and were very helpful and sharing with their knowledge of birds in the area, and on the 5 hectare property itself. Gee there are some great birds right outside your room, you wake up to the call of the Noisy Pitta, how nice is that! Not to mention the Buff-breasted Paradise-Kingfisher that breeds right on the grounds, not far from your room! Just beside the reception area they have a feeder that brings in dozens of Red-browed Finches and several other species. This is such a great place to stay we will most definitely be going back.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Con F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Just spent 2 nights at Kingfisher Park and the owners Keith and Lindsay were very helpful and friendly. We stayed in a double bedroom unit which was ideal for the three of us and a good base from which to explore the local area. 2 nights didn't give us enough time to explore all of the the key birding sites nearby, but managed to see Mt Lewis, Mount Carbine area and spent some time enjoyed the lovely gardens and rainforests within Kingfisher Park's grounds.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Massachusetts, United States
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We spent three nights here to look for birds. The room was large and came equipped with a large kitchen, fully stocked with dishes, a fridge and microwave. The room was otherwise fairly basic. The grounds were busy with other guests walking around. There are a lot of rules here and they are posted every where. I think that it is a bit expensive for what you get here. The area is great for exploring though. We spent most our time on Mt Lewis.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redneckedcrake, Manager at Kingfisher Park Birdwatchers Lodge, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Dear Sarah, Thank you for your review, but I think you may be mixing us up with somewhere else when you say there were lots of rules posted everywhere. We do have mandatory ones regarding fire safety in the rooms and some requests in our information folder regarding our Ecotourism accreditation. Glad you enjoyed Mount Lewis which is a very special place. Lindsay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berryton Kansas
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

Stayed just one night and wish we had stayed longer. Hosts were very knowledgable about the birds and wildlife. They fed the birds so we had a better chance to see them. There was a patio with table and chairs and we spent a lot of time just watching the birds. They have a lot of property and have lots of wildlife. The room was comfortable and clean.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ted2pat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2013

During our tour of Australia November'12 my wife and I stayed in a standard unit for 6 nights to witness the total eclipse and see the exceptional birdlife in that area. The self catering accommodation is well equipped and comfortable and Lindsay and Keith were not only kind,helpful and attentive hosts but also provided a wonderful bird/wildlife experience. The place is run very efficiently and actually Lindsay & Keith were also very helpful in the planning of our trip beforehand as well as during our stay. The nearby Highlander restaurant was very good when we chose to eat out. The surrounding scenery is beautiful and the on site orchard , forest and river are wonderfully relaxing places to sit in the sun and watch the extensive number of fabulous birds, including paradise-kingfishers. Under Keith's guidance we visited several other nearby excellent birding hotspots for bower bird, cassowary, bustard, pratincole, etc and of course Daintree and Cairns are nearby.
Many thanks for a wonderful and memorable stay - and the eclipse was superb... but I guess it might be a few thousand years before it happens there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LincolnshireAandE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2012

Stayed for 3 nights with friends, who are birdwatchers. Kingfisher park is the equivalent of a slightly rundown caravan park. I shared a twin room in the Bottlebrush Bunkhouse. The twin room is very small. There are 2 narrow single beds with foam style mattresses. The bedding and pillow were provided. I found the bed narrow, but comfortable. There is some traffic noise from the nearby road, and the walls between rooms are not soundproof in the slightest!
The room had one director style, canvas fold-up chair. The room had a space between the beds that exactly fitted the chair. At he end of the bed there was just enough room for a large piece of luggage. There was a window and both the window and door had insect screens. There were 4 hooks for jackets, etc in the room and a towel rail. There was a small mirror on the wall. There were 2 power points, awkwardly placed above one of the beds. The 4 rooms in the bunkhouse shared a common verandah area with 2 small tables and 4 chairs. The room is very, very basic and small, but comfortable for our needs.
The bottlebrush bunkhouse is about 20 metres from an shared open kitchen, which had a shared refrigerator, sink, toaster, kettle and powerpoint. We were supplied with crockery and cooking utensils when we checked in. There were several large tables with benches. The kitchen is open at two ends. We ate at the nearby Mt Molloy Pub and the more upmarket Highlander Tavern restaurant.(separate reviews).
The bottlebrush bunkhouse is about 100metres from the toilet and laundry blocks. The female toilets had 4 cubicles, sinks, mirrors and were well stocked with toilet paper, paper towels and hand soap. The female shower block had two private showers leading onto a shared change room with a mirror and benches. These rooms are not sealed against mosquitoes or other "wildlife"! The laundry block had washing machines and dryers with clothes lines outside. Bring your own detergent. If you are likely to use the toilets at night bring a torch as the lighting on pathways and roads is very limited.
The reception area was excellent with a wide range of tourist and birdwatching information. The staff were very helpful and friendly.
The adjoining nature reserve was great for birdwatching. We saw several species including the Buff-breasted Paradise Kingfisher.
I would recommend this accommodation to people who are happy to rough it a little bit for an excellent price.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fascinatingrhythm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redneckedcrake, Manager at Kingfisher Park Birdwatchers Lodge, responded to this review, 19 November 2012
Thank you for your review. We would like to stress that the bunk house is our budget accommodation at $60pn for two people and that we also have six spacious self-contained units. We were a little disappointed at being compared to a “slightly run-down caravan park”. We are a birdwatchers lodge that offers accommodation from camping upwards to suit all budgets and our grounds are a nature reserve to encourage wildlife and, as such, does not have manicured gardens that may be expected in a regular caravan park. Otherwise your assessment of the camp ground and facilities was pretty spot-on!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Kingfisher Park Birdwatchers Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingfisher Park Birdwatchers Lodge

Property: Kingfisher Park Birdwatchers Lodge
Address: RN 6 Mount Kooyong Rd, Julatten, Queensland 4871, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Julatten
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Julatten
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kingfisher Park Birdwatchers Lodge consists of fully self-contained units, bunkhouse rooms and campground located in a rainforest nature reserve. It's an hour and a half drive north-west of Cairns, in the rural community of Julatten at an altitude of 440 metres making it cooler than nearby coastal regions.The lodge is ideal for nature based activities such as bird watching and wildlife photography. It has walking tracks through five hectares (12 acres) of grounds consisting of rainforest, open grassed orchard and permanent waters of Bushy Creek.Over 215 species of birds have been recorded at the lodge and adjacent area plus many other animals such as striped and green ringtail possums, northern and long-nosed bandicoots, giant white-tail rats, Boyd's forest dragon, amethystine pythons, giant white-lipped frogs plus many butterfly and moth species. Morning bird walks and evening spotlighting may be available depending on guide availability and minimum numbers, a small fee applies. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing