We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ab Fab of Hotels”
Review of The Blue Gum

The Blue Gum
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Blue Gum
Ranked #1 of 1 Waitara B&B and Inns
Dargaville, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Ab Fab of Hotels”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

This Hotel is amazing, the rooms are so fresh and airy, the staff are so welcoming, so love staying at this place, everything is just top notch. Breakfast is great and the food downstairs is to die for.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 939Susanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    8
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
10
6
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Single rooms are small but have everything you need. Rooms are renovated and clean and the staff is very friendly. Free WIFI which is rare these days.
I have stayed here approximately 4 times and wouldn't hesitate to do so again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aussie-Ness-W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Having only experienced American hotels/motels, I found The Blue Gum to be very small, old and disappointing. I would not stay there again. They do not have room service at all, but the bar staff was very nice.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 834katv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

I had to travell to Hornsby for a funeral. Originally I booked at the Ascot Motor Inn like 7 other family members, but after reading the reviews of that hotel cancelled and booked at The Blue Gum. We were so p,eased we did. The other relatives confirmed all the bad reviews of the Ascot Motor Inn but we were so pleased with the Blue Gum. The room we had was very clean with comfortable beds. The bathroom appears to be recently renovated and is very spacious and spotlessly clean. Breakfast is a self serve in a room at the end of the corridor which consists of cereal, toast, juice, tea (a large variety of teas!) and coffee. We dined in the bistro downstairs that night. It has an excellent menu and reasonably priced and the food was very tasty. I ordered the chicken schnitzel and it was a very large meal and could only eat half. I highly recommend dessert particularly the sticky date pudding or the ice cream biscuit. Drinks are normal pub prices. It is conveniently located a few minutes walk from the station and it is one stop to the very large Westfield at Hornsby, which has cinema, food court and the usual variety of shops and a 24 hour Kmart. A petrol station is handy across the road from the hotel. I found e rooms to be quiet even though on a busy road. I would not hesitate recommending a stay here.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrissieChook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

I have to travel with work occasionally from Newcastle and the Blue Gum Hotel is usually where I stay due to its convenient location, cleanliness and service. I recently stayed there and was very pleasantly suprised at the room renovations that have occurred. I stayed in room 3 which has been fitted with a brand new bathroom,carpet and furniture. The manager assured me that most of the rooms have now been renovated so I should have a newly renovated room anytime I come down to Sydney.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brittany K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Willoughby, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 24 October 2013

booked in for a couple of nights while travelling through and was pleasantly surprised by the recently renovated rooms and friendly staff.

To top it off I hit the restaurant for dinner and had one of the best steaks I've ever had.

All in all a great experience!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kingsley83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waitara
1.6 mi away
Hotel Ibis Thornleigh
Hotel Ibis Thornleigh
#1 of 1 in Thornleigh
456 reviews
2.8 mi away
Pennant Hills Waldorf Apartment Hotel
4.6 mi away
Meriton Suites North Ryde
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Sydney Macquarie Park
0.5 mi away
Ascot Motor Inn
Ascot Motor Inn
#1 of 1 in Wahroonga
112 reviews
0.5 mi away
Wahroonga Waldorf Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Blue Gum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blue Gum

Property: The Blue Gum
Address: 55 Pacific Hwy, Waitara, Hornsby, New South Wales 2077, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Hornsby > Waitara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Waitara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Blue Gum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Blue Gum Waitara, Hornsby, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing