We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Splendours of Norway Tour 24th July 2011” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thon Hotel Jolster

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Thon Hotel Jolster
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Skei
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Splendours of Norway Tour 24th July 2011”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2011

We originally went on the Splendours of Norway Tour in 2004 and enjoyed ourselves so much that this July we decided to go back to Norway on the same tour with Crystals.
As on our first visit the hotel was great, Jon the owner and Unn his daughter made us feel like we had arrived home. The staff are brilliant and nothing is too much trouble for them.
The Skei Hotel is a wonderful place to stay, once again our room overlooked the beautiful Lake Jolster, The food, buffet style, was always fresh with plenty to full us after a day in the fjords or on the glacier. You are also given a paper bag at breakfast to help yourself from the buffet to make yourself a packed lunch. Three course meals with plenty of choice, homemade soup, salads, cold meats and a choice of 4 hot dishes to choose from. Great desserts wetted our appetite. A great modern swimming pool, sauna, table tennis, mini golf and tennis courts were available to use free of charge. On the lake the hotel also provided free rowing boats.
Once again we had a wonderful guide the lovely Katarina, who went out of her way to make sure everyone was happy with their holiday, nothing was too much trouble for her, her knowledge of the area is fantastic.
The tours are well worth going on and good value for money.
We would fully recommend the Skei hotel as a wonderful place to stay and also the Splendors of Norway tour as we think it is the best way to see the real Norway!

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking Lake Jolster.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Manxlass22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    72
    37
    10
    6
See reviews for
40
60
6
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Level Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2011

We were part of the Crystal Tours trip, but decided not to do the optional tours. stayed 5 nights. We liked this hotel. Staff were good, food ok (buffet style. We prefered the salad bar than the mains that were a bit 'school dinner'. Hotel used by big tour groups so does get busy. Got a room upgrade to third floor. Big and comfortable room overlooking lake. Used a few of the facilities, pool was pretty decent. Most days we went hiking. Good base for this, can get maps from tourist information, and also hotel staff. Don't need a car to do a few walks. Without a car / tour you can also hire bikes from hotel, and take public bus to galcier museum. Nice bar area, and live music some nights, but tended to be an older crowd / classical music (we are early 30s and spent evenings in our room). Would recommend though for base.

Room Tip: Ask for third floor if available (not likely if you are part of big tour group)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Laura_Dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Szombathely, Hungary
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2011

Excellent hotel , excellent location.
Perfect view from the room to the fjord .
Internet only works from the hall
Free parking.Fireplace in the hall.
Breakfast is good.
Staff is friendly and suggested us a really good hiking trip.
Laundry is ok, but tricky to use.
Bathroom: the tube is made of metal and there is not insolation between the wall and the tube.Water goes out everywhere.Looks like an unfinished investment.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erika T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2011

All aspects great - room, clean bed comfy, you only had to ask and a tea/coffee maker was provided. Packed lunched included which you make yourself from the vast selection of food avaialble. You do need to take the tours unless you are on a walking holiday as Skei itself is avery small quiet village - but very beautiful too.
Staff excellent at all times only too glad to help you with anything you require. Could recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gerry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
york
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2011

I have serious doubts over the authenticity of the good reviews.They talk about a tennis court.There is no tennis court just a net on apeice of unmowed grass.They talk about putting.There is no putting just nine holes in an unmowed peice of grass,The food is mass productiion rubbish.The fresh fruit salad is out of a tin.The mashed pototoes is Smash from the seventies.This hotel exists for one reason,the commercial link it has with the coach tours,without them the hotel would have closed years ago.Much more effort could have been made on the food .

Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank mj20009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tor_Skrede, Director of Sales at Thon Hotel Jolster, responded to this review, 1 September 2011
Dear Madam or Sir (you did not sign your review of our hotel, so I do not who you are),

It is with great sadness I have read your review of our hotel, published on TripAdvisor two days ago. I am truly sorry that you left our hotel with these impressions, and I strongly wish there were something we could have done to solve any problems you might have had or experienced during your stay in Skei.

It is also truly painful to establish that you find absolutely nothing positive to report about the hotel where I grew up and my family has invested hundreds of thousands of working hours through four generations, trying to maintain and to keep up with the best of West Norwegian hospitality traditions in step with the changing times.

Moreover, it hurts when you question the authenticity of other people’s reviews of the hotel, and more than suggest that they may have been fabricated. We certainly did not write those reviews,-nor have we ever asked others to write them for us. Maybe they simply reflect other people’s honest opinions of our hotel and the fact that things are perhaps not always as bad as you describe them?

There are also a couple of the observations or allegations in your review which I feel compelled to comment:

• Tennis court: There is a full size, double, fenced-in, tarred tennis court opposite the indoor swimming pool in the hotel gardens. “The net on a piece of unmoved grass” you refer to,
is a badminton net, which we have put on the lawn in front of the hotel for children’s and families’ use during their stay with us.

• Putting Green mini golf: This is equipment (cups, small flags, clubs and balls) purchased from a manufacturer in the UK many years ago, and the registered product name is exactly the same as what we call it: “Putting Green mini golf”. This is play golf/crazy golf equipment, which is meant for families’ and children’s use and amusement.

• Unmoved grass: We take great pride in keeping our hotel gardens in good order and have 2-3 staff members/garden keepers all summer with garden tractors, lawn mowers, trimmers and all sorts of tools and equipment to look after and maintain our gardens in a best possible way. However, longer periods of rain sometimes prevent us from mowing the lawns as frequently as we would normally do.

• Food quality: Although we do not share your views about our food quality, you can rest assured that we take all constructive critizism in all areas of what we do extremely seriously.

• Coach tourism: It is an established fact in the tourist industry that many people for various reasons choose to visit and to experience our country as part of a group or a coach tour. Of course we welcome guests travelling in groups, just as much as we welcome guests travelling independently. I know of very few hotels in Norway that actually don’t…

Although I do not expect my above comments to change very much of your utter disappointment about our hotel, I hope that I have at least been able to explain some of our thoughts, reflections and feelings about- and reactions to your review.

Yours faithfully,
Tor Skrede
Director of Marketing & Sales
(and 4th generation of the managing Skrede family)
Best Western Skei Hotel
Norway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2011

We had a great room with a large balcony, looking down the fjord. Spotlessly clean and very quiet. Good buffet at breakfast and dinner.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iandcl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend on sea
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2011

We had a wonderful large bedroom in the front of the hotel looking over Lake Joistravanet. The hotel was friendly with great PR from all the staff. "Do talk to our staff" was the first comment made to us after a warm welcome from the owner. The food, buffet style, was always fresh with plenty to full us after a day in the fjords or on the glacier. Three course measl with plenty of choice. Great desserts wetted our appetite. A great modern swimming pool,sauna, table tennis, minigolf and tennis courts were available to use free of charge. On the lake the hotel also provided free rowing boats. A wonderful time there was experienced by all.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pegler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skei
14.4 mi away
Fjaerland Fjordstue Hotell
16.5 mi away
Gloppen Hotell
Gloppen Hotell
#1 of 2 in Sandane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
22.2 mi away
Scandic Sunnfjord Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.7 mi away
Dragsvik Fjordhotell
Dragsvik Fjordhotell
#4 of 4 in Balestrand
3.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
5.3 mi away
Stardalen Hyttegrend
4.5 mi away
Jolsterlia Hyttetun
Jolsterlia Hyttetun
#1 of 3 in Skei
5.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thon Hotel Jolster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thon Hotel Jolster

Property: Thon Hotel Jolster
Address: PO Box 23, Skei 6841, Norway (Formerly Skei Hotel)
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Sogn og Fjordane > Skei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Skei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Thon Hotel Jolster 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pleasant, modern and comfortable family-run resort hotel with proud hospitality traditions since 1889. Spacious lounges and dining room overlooking Lake Jølster. Wide choice of indoor- and outdoor activities all year round. Excellent base and starting point for half- or full day excursions to some of the most interesting and well-known sights and tourist attractions in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Thon Hotel Jolster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sogn Og Fjordane
Sogn Og Fjordane Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing