We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The view is second to none”
Review of Thon Hotel Jolster

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Thon Hotel Jolster
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Skei
Fontainebleau, France
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“The view is second to none”
Reviewed 18 May 2013

Not too many hotels at Skei so if you plan staying in town this should be the hotel for you. The staff is friendly, the rooms are cozy, the hotel restaurant (we usually refrain from these) was great. But, above all else - the view of the lake from the lobby is just amazing. You can sit for hours and just gaze at the view!

Room Tip: A room with a view to the lake is nice. However as you can sit for hours either in the lobby or even...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tomermi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    77
    40
    10
    7
See reviews for
43
65
7
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
. london UK
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2013

If anyone is thinking of staying in Norway for a holiday, I consider that the Best Western SKEI HOTEL at SKEI N JOLSTER is the one for you. The owner is Jon, and has been in the same hotel for fifty years, in fact he was born there in a little house out in his garden. He uses the house to entertain selected members of his clietelle with tea and or coffee, tells stories of years ago and also plays an accordion and sings. It is a marvellous hotel with excellent food accommadation, and is situated alongside a lake./ We have been to this hotel on three seperate occasions, and have been greeted each time by Jon like we were old friends. It is a MUST for anyone touring Norway.We travelled there several years ago and it was a grand experience.

Room Tip: All rooms are good so you do not need to have a selection.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jotosid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 311 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2012

We drove from Alesund to Bergen and stop at the Best Western overnight before we continue our drive to Bergen. The hotel is at a great location, almost half way between Alesund and Bergen on E39. Very easy to find since it’s right next to the road. We didn’t have a reservation. We stopped in at 7:30 PM and there was room available for less than 1000 NOK a night. They don’t have lake view room anymore, but our room still has a nice mountain view. The room is spacious. It’s the biggest hotel room we stayed in in Norway. The hotel has a mix old and new. The room is updated and the heat works. It was cold at night even in the beginning of September. We turned on the heat and it warmed up the room comfortablely. The bathroom is also spacious and clean.

We had dinner at the hotel restaurant since there is no other restaurant near the hotel. Dinner was good and it came out fast. Service was also good, too. Breakfast served at the same dining room as dinner. The dining room is huge so it was never crowded at breakfast or dinner.

We didn’t have our Best Western frequent guest number with us. They were very willing to look up our number so that we can get credits for our stay. We saw the sign that the hotel offer day trip to the nearby glaciers and attractions. We wished we could stay longer to enjoy the scenery and the hotel pool.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DianeL_USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Excellent value for the room. Breakfast buffet is ample but not outstanding. Bagging a lunch is allowed at breakfast for ~75 Krone (~USD$12). Room 232 is spacious and is next to a large solarium parlor with seating for ~6 persons and a view of the snowcapped mountains (not the lake). The two of us enjoyed it all to ourselves.

Room Tip: If lakeview rooms are not available, Room 232 is on the mountainview side of the hotel.
See more room tips
Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Senor_Wences
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012 via mobile

The information and service you get in this hotel is excellent. I was informed that the Skei hotel has been welcomming guests since 1889. It has since been rebuilt and extended. Even so you can still feel the historical connection as you enter the reception, or enjoy the touch of the cooking of traditional norwegian food like the Jølster trout in the restaurant. The hotel has much to offer besides ordinary hotel activities. There's a tennis court, a miniature golf course and both indoor swimming pool and jacuzzi. On top of that you may enjoy the turkish steam bath or even out your tan in the solarium.
It is situated close to several well known attractions, like the Jostedal glacier, both the Hardanger- and Sognefjorden, and it has an excellent view over the Jølster lake from several of the rooms. If you like you may enjoy a helicopter ride over the glacier or a walk on it. They also arrange excursions by bus to different locations.
Nearby is also possibilities for walking or mountain hiking, with or without guides. I also found out that it has a lot of rivers and lakes nearby for fishing. My conclusion is that there was to little time to really enjoy all the posdibilities offered or made available by this hotel. I would like to stay for a much longer time, but duty calls so I'll be back...

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellekval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2012

Just come back from a week in this hotel. We had a room at the front of the hotel ovelooking the lake. The view was stunning.
The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful.
The food was good but could have been more varied.
This hotel caters for coach trips so be prepared for the dining area to be noisy and crowded. It stays open for a long time so if you do not have a timetable you can miss the crowds.
The owner is lovely and do not miss his evening invitation to the old house.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the front of the hotel on the top floor. The views are amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marybells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Spent 2 nights in Skei and this hotel has a great view on a fjord right outside the front door ! Very nice buffet breakfast and dinner. Great spot if you are interested in the nearby glaciers or just to overnight. Rooms are not fancy, but clean and well kept. Grocery store right around the corner if you need some supplies or some of the "cheap" half liter beers for around 30 Kroner or $5 each vs. the $12 ro more you'll pay for a draft beer anywhere in Norway !

Room Tip: Get a room that faces the fjord if its not more expensive, but even if you don't get one, you ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FOURteener14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skei
14.3 mi away
Fjaerland Fjordstue Hotell
22.2 mi away
Scandic Sunnfjord Hotel & Spa
16.5 mi away
Gloppen Hotell
Gloppen Hotell
#1 of 2 in Sandane
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.6 mi away
Dragsvik Fjordhotell
Dragsvik Fjordhotell
#4 of 4 in Balestrand
105 reviews
23.9 mi away
Hotel Loenfjord
Hotel Loenfjord
#2 of 3 in Loen
153 reviews
24.0 mi away
Hotel Alexandra
Hotel Alexandra
#1 of 3 in Loen
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thon Hotel Jolster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thon Hotel Jolster

Property: Thon Hotel Jolster
Address: PO Box 23, Skei 6841, Norway (Formerly Skei Hotel)
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Sogn og Fjordane > Skei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Skei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Thon Hotel Jolster 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pleasant, modern and comfortable family-run resort hotel with proud hospitality traditions since 1889. Spacious lounges and dining room overlooking Lake Jølster. Wide choice of indoor- and outdoor activities all year round. Excellent base and starting point for half- or full day excursions to some of the most interesting and well-known sights and tourist attractions in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Thon Hotel Jolster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sogn Og Fjordane
Sogn Og Fjordane Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing