We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fine hotel, great view” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thon Hotel Jolster

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Thon Hotel Jolster
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Skei
herzliya
Level Contributor
83 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fine hotel, great view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

It was a nice 1 night stay. Friendly staff, nice breakfast, nice and spacious double room (mattress a bit soft, though). Beautiful view from lobby and from the room as well (see photo attached, taken from the room). Dinner at the hotel's restaurant was good. Very easy to find, and lot of parking space.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shaulman01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    72
    37
    10
    6
See reviews for
40
60
6
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

We book this hotel as it is cheaper than the hotel in Fjaerland. It is not too far from the main attractions nearby, namely the Boyabreen, the Ice glacier museum. Our next location is Geiranger, so this hotel is still in a good middle location.

The staff is good, the rooms are OK. there is also self help laundry facilities, which we find useful for a long trip.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KokHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
110 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013

This property is right on the lake and has exceptionally great view. Location is as good as fairmount hotel on lake Louise , Canada. It is not a 4 star but basic 3 star property. The staff is very helpful. It's just that as it is touching main road there is some traffic noise. But otherwise a nice cozy hotel where you can take walks till late night and also keep gazing at lake whenever possible.

Room Tip: Select lake view room with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RekhaThaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fontainebleau, France
Level Contributor
108 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2013

Not too many hotels at Skei so if you plan staying in town this should be the hotel for you. The staff is friendly, the rooms are cozy, the hotel restaurant (we usually refrain from these) was great. But, above all else - the view of the lake from the lobby is just amazing. You can sit for hours and just gaze at the view!

Room Tip: A room with a view to the lake is nice. However as you can sit for hours either in the lobby or even...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tomermi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
. london UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2013

If anyone is thinking of staying in Norway for a holiday, I consider that the Best Western SKEI HOTEL at SKEI N JOLSTER is the one for you. The owner is Jon, and has been in the same hotel for fifty years, in fact he was born there in a little house out in his garden. He uses the house to entertain selected members of his clietelle with tea and or coffee, tells stories of years ago and also plays an accordion and sings. It is a marvellous hotel with excellent food accommadation, and is situated alongside a lake./ We have been to this hotel on three seperate occasions, and have been greeted each time by Jon like we were old friends. It is a MUST for anyone touring Norway.We travelled there several years ago and it was a grand experience.

Room Tip: All rooms are good so you do not need to have a selection.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jotosid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
162 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 310 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2012

We drove from Alesund to Bergen and stop at the Best Western overnight before we continue our drive to Bergen. The hotel is at a great location, almost half way between Alesund and Bergen on E39. Very easy to find since it’s right next to the road. We didn’t have a reservation. We stopped in at 7:30 PM and there was room available for less than 1000 NOK a night. They don’t have lake view room anymore, but our room still has a nice mountain view. The room is spacious. It’s the biggest hotel room we stayed in in Norway. The hotel has a mix old and new. The room is updated and the heat works. It was cold at night even in the beginning of September. We turned on the heat and it warmed up the room comfortablely. The bathroom is also spacious and clean.

We had dinner at the hotel restaurant since there is no other restaurant near the hotel. Dinner was good and it came out fast. Service was also good, too. Breakfast served at the same dining room as dinner. The dining room is huge so it was never crowded at breakfast or dinner.

We didn’t have our Best Western frequent guest number with us. They were very willing to look up our number so that we can get credits for our stay. We saw the sign that the hotel offer day trip to the nearby glaciers and attractions. We wished we could stay longer to enjoy the scenery and the hotel pool.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DianeL_USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

Excellent value for the room. Breakfast buffet is ample but not outstanding. Bagging a lunch is allowed at breakfast for ~75 Krone (~USD$12). Room 232 is spacious and is next to a large solarium parlor with seating for ~6 persons and a view of the snowcapped mountains (not the lake). The two of us enjoyed it all to ourselves.

Room Tip: If lakeview rooms are not available, Room 232 is on the mountainview side of the hotel.
See more room tips
Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Senor_Wences
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skei
14.4 mi away
Fjaerland Fjordstue Hotell
16.5 mi away
Gloppen Hotell
Gloppen Hotell
#1 of 2 in Sandane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
22.2 mi away
Scandic Sunnfjord Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.7 mi away
Dragsvik Fjordhotell
Dragsvik Fjordhotell
#4 of 4 in Balestrand
3.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
24.0 mi away
Stryn Hotel
Stryn Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stryn
3.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
22.4 mi away
Thon Hotel Forde
Thon Hotel Forde
#2 of 2 in Forde
3.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thon Hotel Jolster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thon Hotel Jolster

Property: Thon Hotel Jolster
Address: PO Box 23, Skei 6841, Norway (Formerly Skei Hotel)
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Sogn og Fjordane > Skei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Skei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Thon Hotel Jolster 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pleasant, modern and comfortable family-run resort hotel with proud hospitality traditions since 1889. Spacious lounges and dining room overlooking Lake Jølster. Wide choice of indoor- and outdoor activities all year round. Excellent base and starting point for half- or full day excursions to some of the most interesting and well-known sights and tourist attractions in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Thon Hotel Jolster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sogn Og Fjordane
Sogn Og Fjordane Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing