We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY Charming - a must see.”
Review of Dalen Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dalen Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Dalen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 May 2011

Very nice hotel. we had room on the ground floor with own little terrace and stairs down to the lawn.
One of the best and surley the most charming hotels I have ever seen i Norway.
You HAVE to stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank love-2-travel_2820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (235)
There are newer reviews for Dalen Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

88 - 94 of 236 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2008

We arrived wet and cold after traveliling by motorbike from Oslo to a very warm welcome at reception. We were offered hot drinks and cake as our room was not immediately ready.

The hotel building is impressive and retains its charm and historical character due to its wood panelled reception rooms, verandas and the absence of wide screen TVs and DAB radios!!!! There are photographs on the walls that chart the history of the Dalen hotel as well as paintings of it's past prestigious visitors.

Our room was tastefully decorated with an ensuite that had underfloor heating. The continental breakfast was substantilal and varied. At dinner a limited menu was available but the produce was locally sourced and delicious!!.

The Dalen hotel has extensive grounds and is in a beautiful area. It is a relaxing oasis of calm

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Lovemebed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Workington Cumbria UK
519
Reviewed 9 July 2006

This was the last hotel on our journey through Norway before going back to Oslo. When we drove up it was like something out of a fairy tale. Inside was amazing. There was a wonderful stained glass roof in the main lounge with 2 further stained glass windows over the front door. The whole building was wooden. It was very old and still had the original Ladies Lounge and Gentlemans Lounge. The dining room was magnificant all wood panels on walls and ceiling. The food was lovely with a good choice. All the staff were polite and helpful. This hotel has no mini bar or television in the bedrooms, there is only 1 television with 1 channel in the hotel.

8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
HOPEWELL, PA.
18
Reviewed 16 July 2004

May of 2002 we had the opportunity to spend the nite here. Olav and Annie Underdal are wonderful hosts. A young lady played the grand piano in the lobby. It was wonderful. The dinner buffet was
extraordinary!! Just to stand outside and stare at the building itself is wonderful.We had the chance to walk down to meet the ferry and ride back in the Dalen Hotel antique motor car. I am partial to charming old historic places. Old luxurious furniture, warm, carved dark wood. This has it all.You will not regret spending a nite there. Did you know that the King of Norway honored Olav and Annie for restoring this historic hotel? Once you visit, you will see they deserved that honor to be sure.
If you go, tell them Dennis and Denise Browell
sent you. We are counting the days til we see them again.

8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed yesterday via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Ingerk85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pero391
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malin440, General Manager at Dalen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank CF_Storm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malin440, General Manager at Dalen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dalen
19.0 mi away
Quality Straand Hotel
6.7 mi away
Rauland Hogfjellshotell
Rauland Hogfjellshotell
#1 of 2 in Rauland
66 reviews
22.0 mi away
Seljord Hotel
Seljord Hotel
#1 of 1 in Seljord Municipality
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.8 mi away
Nutheim Gjestgiveri
Nutheim Gjestgiveri
#1 of 2 in Flatdal
60 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dalen Bed and Breakfast
Dalen Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 2 in Tokke Municipality
43 reviews
22.5 mi away
Hovden Fjellstoge
Hovden Fjellstoge
#1 of 3 in Hovden
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dalen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dalen Hotel

Address: Hotellvegen 33, Dalen 3880, Norway
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Telemark > Tokke Municipality > Dalen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Dalen
Price Range: £206 - £329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Dalen Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dalen Hotel is a fairytale hotel, build in 1894 in grand romantic style with dragonheads, towers and balconys. The paper "Varden" wrote in 1894: "The new elegant furnished Hotel at Dalen, at the top of the Bandak waters, is now ready to recieve guests".After early golden days and later years of decay the hotel was in 1994, after years of restauration finished to welcome its guests again, all restored back to its original beauty. It has the same soul, calmness, peace and atmosphere as the wooden castle that opened for more than 110 years ago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dalen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dalen Hotel Telemark

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing