We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Dalen Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$174
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$218
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Seljord Hotel(Seljord Municipality)
US$174
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$157
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$248
US$149
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$174
US$146
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bo Hotell(Bo I Telemark)
US$187
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (240)
Filter reviews
240 results
Traveller rating
174
50
10
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
174
50
10
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshenrik ibsenbreadstave churchvery nice placehistoric hotelboat tripvery special placethe hotel stafflive piano musicamazing hotelservice was excellentstory tellingafternoon tea on the terracebeautiful gardenfood and wineendlake
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
85 - 90 of 240 reviews
Reviewed 30 November 2011

We had a great stay in this fantastic and historical hotel. A calm and quiet historical atmosphere in combination with a delicious dinner made our stay memorable. The piano music in the evening was also nice. Good service and breakfast.

Room Tip: We stayed in a balcony room with garden view, and recommend it. You can hear the sound from the nearby waterfall.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank OsloMrtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2011

What this Hotel has in spades is a top location, set deep in a lake at the bottom of a steep winding road. Views, nature etc. The hotel building itself is also charming. The wood panelled lounge is the original old time luxury salon which modern boutique hotels try to emulate. So far so good.
Then there are the rooms. They are quite small and poorly sound insulated. Children's voices from the next room had us awake early. Also no TV (just as well given the lack of sound insulation).
Where the hotel particularly disappointed was the service. Service in Norway is laughably poor - Norwegians do not have a history of a rich elite, so they do not know how to treat them! Most of the staff here were not Norwegian, but still did a pretty poor job. The barman disappeared often, particularly when we needed a drink. Our dinner reservation was mishandled so that we were given a completely different table to what we thought was arranged. Waiting staff walked in our way rather than around us. Staff generally had way too little training. My guess is that management is lacking.

The hotel has pictures of royalty and the rich (e.g. King Oskar of Sweden) who have stayed there in the "the old days". It sells itself by saying that you too can experience what they once had; but the fact is they never had service like this.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank barfly67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2011

One of the largest wooden structures in Norway, this classic hotel is second best to none. With atmosphere seeping from the walls, nicely styled rooms and friendly staff, very little beats a glass of old port in the lounge, accompanied by live piano music and the ghost of the English Lady lurking in the corridors...

The restaurant has high ambitions and ditto prices, but unfortunately still has some distance to go: the home made bread was fantastic, but the starters and entrees were of varying quality. They did, however, respond favourably to criticism.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank RHz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2011

Very nice hotel. we had room on the ground floor with own little terrace and stairs down to the lawn.
One of the best and surley the most charming hotels I have ever seen i Norway.
You HAVE to stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank love-2-travel_2820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2008

We arrived wet and cold after traveliling by motorbike from Oslo to a very warm welcome at reception. We were offered hot drinks and cake as our room was not immediately ready.

The hotel building is impressive and retains its charm and historical character due to its wood panelled reception rooms, verandas and the absence of wide screen TVs and DAB radios!!!! There are photographs on the walls that chart the history of the Dalen hotel as well as paintings of it's past prestigious visitors.

Our room was tastefully decorated with an ensuite that had underfloor heating. The continental breakfast was substantilal and varied. At dinner a limited menu was available but the produce was locally sourced and delicious!!.

The Dalen hotel has extensive grounds and is in a beautiful area. It is a relaxing oasis of calm

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Lovemebed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews