We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not appropriate for guests with pets”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Dalen Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dalen Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Dalen
Certificate of Excellence
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
294 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 299 helpful votes
“Not appropriate for guests with pets”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

This was our second stay at Dalen Hotel, our first being in 2007 and have always cherished the memories of that first visit. It is a truly magnificent hotel with a beautiful manicured lawn sweeping at least 150 meters down to the lake. There are huge majestic trees on the property and impressive mountains in the distance. Dalen Hotel offers quiet serenity and elegance with period antiques throughout the hotel and quite an interesting history. It has an exquisite dining room and we quite liked the idea of not having a television in our room which seemed suitable given the hotel's remote location.

Nevertheless, we were very disappointed with our visit this time and will not return. We had been looking forward to our two day stay at Dalen Hotel, this time accompanied by our small dog, a very well-mannered Cavalier King Charles Spaniel. We flew to Oslo from Paris after staying for a week at Hotel La Perle in Saint-Germain-des-Pres (a hotel in many ways far superior to Hotel Dalen) and were extremely comfortable with the way Hotel La Perle had welcomed our small dog throughout the hotel, including at breakfast. However, upon arrival at Hotel Dalen we were repeatedly told our small dog was not welcome in any of the public areas of the hotel, and never in the hotel dining room "since many people have pet allergies". What a contrast from our stay in Paris! We later learned we had been assigned one of the two designated "pet rooms" at Dalen Hotel. Our "pet room" (costing over 300 euro per night) featured several huge urine stains on the carpet which was thoroughly disgusting. Each afternoon we were asked if we planned to have dinner in the hotel restaurant that evening and when we replied "... but we have a dog" they responded "oh, that's right", and directed us to one of the two fast food restaurants in town, the only dining alternatives within 45 km of the hotel. Since we preferred not to leave our small dog alone in the room we were never able to have dinner at Hotel Dalen and each morning needed to have our breakfast "in shifts".

When we checked out of Dalen Hotel after our two night stay, I explained our disappointment to the Hotel Director saying while I respected his strict pet policy I thought it was a poor business decision. He seemed perplexed until I explained to him we would have naturally preferred to have had dinner at the hotel, if not in the hotel dining room, perhaps outside on the expansive covered porch. But this option was never extended to us; since in fact the hotel staff repeatedly directed us to the other dining alternatives in town when they learned we had a dog. Actually, I think it would make more sense to offer hotel guests with pets the option of having dinner at the hotel on the covered porch (if necessary) instead of forcing them to leave their pet in the room to stain the carpet in retribution for being left alone in a strange environment. The Hotel Director reiterated their strict pet policy is due to "hotel guests who may have pet allergies". His tone left no doubt that to him a dog is meant to be left tied up outside on a chain. I explained to him that statistics clearly show only 10% of the general population suffer from pet allergies and at least 3/4 of that number is due to allergies to cats (look it up). That leaves only 2.5% of his hotel guests who may potentially have an allergy to our small dog which is an absurd basis for the hotel's draconian pet policy. There are actually more people in the general population, 11%, who suffer from fragrance allergies. Does that mean Dalen Hotel should ban guests who use perfume from all public areas of the hotel? I think not. It's all so absurd and hypercritical. Clearly if he wants to ban dogs from the hotel because he doesn't like dogs he should just say so. But to use "pet allergy!" as a justification for his policy just doesn't make any sense and serves only as a convenient excuse. He seemed surprised when I told him of the deplorable condition of the carpet in our "pet room". He should pay it a visit sometime. Clearly Dalen Hotel has lost not only the revenue we were not allowed to spend to have a nice dinner in the hotel. They have also lost a repeat customer.

Room Tip: Do not even think of staying at Hotel Dalen if you have a dog.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mascalzone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    41
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
45
79
4
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tromsø
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

Exceptional hotel in marvelous sourroundings. Nice friendly staff and very good food with local and traditional dishes. Good wine list. Lovely rooms with beatiful view. We will definetely be back! Even a room without own bathroom work very well. Plenty of towels and other accessories:-)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PerdigonTroms_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlesheim, Switzerland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

This hotel draws its breath from its history, the location and the building itself. Dalen is a terrific little village, very peaceful... And the hotel-building is extraordinary. The rooms are ok (although they lack television), and the staff is friendly. The diner however, was a disappointment - some dishes were barely warm; it was good traditional food, but it was not... The right food at the right place... In general, the place is completely and ridicously overpriced... If sleeping in a funny building is for you, go for it, otherwise have a coffee and leave...

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Thomas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
66 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2013

I simply just loved this wonderful hotel, with all it's history and feeling of luxury. Splendid food at the restaurant. The staff was super friendly and charming. Breathtaking nature surrounds the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IdaBlomst1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
67 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2013

Was stayed in this hotel for few days in a row with my buddy during our works around there, the hotel was great, the style was wonderful, feel like has been traveled with time machine back to 18-19 century and the environment was great, peaceful and fresh air. Really great place to stay!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nohero_23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberystwyth
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013

Staying at this hotel was like taking a step back in time, no televisions, not even a radio! Rooms were a comfortable temperature, with easy to use thermostats, beds were comfy and the showers were great, especially after a day in the mountains!
Peter, the Manager - what a lovely man. His story telling was great - make sure to get the ghost story!!
We are in the hotel - Cauliflower, elk and bacon soup? Wouldn't be my first choice, but all bowls were cleared!
Health/Beauty treatments available.
Friendly, super-efficient and helpful staff made our stay perfect. Truly hope to return here one day.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Eddyj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level Contributor
96 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2013

I used to live just a few hundred meters away from the hotel as a child, but the place was not open to the public at that time. The hotel is beautifully refurbished and really worth a visit even if you are just passing through the valley Dalen (as so many people did a hundred years ago heading west or east). So when my mother turned 70 we gave her a stay here combined with a trip on the canal with "Henrik Ibsen". We were originally planning to take the boat to Dalen and then stay one night at the hotel before taking a bus back to Lunde. Due to an engine failure on the boat we were picked up in a taxi in Lunde and brought to Dalen hotel on the first day. We would then take the boat back the next day. It was quite heavy rain so we did not mind.
During a fantastic dinner in the hotel, the hotel manager came and spoke to us just to make sure we were in good hands. We were!
There are no TV in the rooms, but it's Wi-Fi all over the hotel. This is a place to relax, and in the evening you can sit back in one of the many salons and listen to the piano player playing in the main salon. She was very good.
Next morning the boat left quite early (about 8.30 am) so we arranged to have breakfast on board. Due to some communication problem the staff on the boat were not informed about that, and we said they could just make us something easy. About 30 minutes later we were served a magnificent breakfast. I can honestly say that I have never been in a hotel or on a boat and gotten a better breakfast! They even had dessert.
The weather also cleared up so this trip got truly memorable. This is a truly scenic route were you can see the heart of Telemark. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Daffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dalen
14.6 mi away
Morgedal Hotell and Guesthouse
6.7 mi away
Rauland Hogfjellshotell
Rauland Hogfjellshotell
#1 of 2 in Rauland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
19.0 mi away
Quality Straand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.8 mi away
Seljord Hotel
Seljord Hotel
#1 of 1 in Seljord Municipality
4.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
8.9 mi away
Groven Camping & Hyttegrend
Groven Camping & Hyttegrend
#1 of 11 in Vinje Municipality
4.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dalen Bed and Breakfast
Dalen Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 2 in Tokke Municipality
4.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dalen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dalen Hotel

Property: Dalen Hotel
Address: Hotellvegen 33, Dalen 3880, Norway
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Telemark > Tokke Municipality > Dalen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Dalen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Dalen Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dalen Hotel is a fairytale hotel, build in 1894 in grand romantic style with dragonheads, towers and balconys. The paper "Varden" wrote in 1894: "The new elegant furnished Hotel at Dalen, at the top of the Bandak waters, is now ready to recieve guests".After early golden days and later years of decay the hotel was in 1994, after years of restauration finished to welcome its guests again, all restored back to its original beauty. It has the same soul, calmness, peace and atmosphere as the wooden castle that opened for more than 110 years ago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dalen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dalen Hotel Telemark

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing