We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gudvangen Fjordtell
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gudvangen
Reviewed 15 February 2010

I'd say it's worth to stay in Fjordhotell-marvelous view of gorgerous mountains and Fjord-just amazing impressions! VIking camp in the summer is a nice attraction for tourists as well as for real Vikings (:

  • Stayed: July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnysiaSpb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (250)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

125 - 131 of 250 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2008

My family stayed here for one night in July 2008. The main hotel building is a very odd circular shape: the souvenir shop, hotel reception, canteen style restaurant and dining room are all in the same space, very cramped and quite hideous. Our hotel room was nothing like the picture displayed on the hotel website and we had to walk along the rows of the car park (cars parked waiting for a ferry boat) to get to our motel syle room. The motel style rooms are furnished with very basic IKEA stuff. The room was clean and basic, but the bathroom very poor: a small room, linoleum on the floor, plastic wall panels, containing a sink and toilet and shower curtain in one corner (no dedicated shower cubicle) so that when you showered the water went all over the floor of the whole bathroom. We paid 1280 NOK for a double room here, which did include breakfast, but it was one of the poorest breakfasts I have experienced. It was a self service buffet but very basic and you did everything yourself - there was a bowl of waffle mixture provided and a very old waffle machine which guests could use to make their own waffles, but having one waffle machine (which took at least 3 minutes per waffle) for all the guests meant a very long wait for a waffle.
Dinner was not good. We went for the buffet (230 NOK per person) and my husband and daughter chose some breaded stuffed fish, the inside of which was stone cold. The vegetables were tinned, and the desserts were of the "quick whisk" variety! Other than the scenery around Gudvangen, I can't think of a reason to stay there, and since there are other fjord areas with much nicer places to stay, I cannot recommend staying in Gudvangen at this hotel. Flam is much nicer, more upmarket and even prettier. The staff were pleasant, but the hotel is not looking for repeat business and from the number of tables laid out in the "dining room" we imagine they make their money from undiscerning tourist buses/groups on boats that probably lunch there. Don't stay here.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank linda009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2006

As hotels go this one is very difficult to compare with others. The hotel has a number of unique features. We were in Room 6 in a circular grass roofed building. The furnishings were basic but exemplified local craftsmenship with detailed Viking motif wood carvings. There was beautiful piped music into the room and a large skylight which gave a beautiful view of Kjelsfossen and the surrounding towering mountains. The hotel is situated at the end of Naeroyfjorden which had a lovely outlook.
However that was the end of any positive experience. The hotel was advertised to be in a quiet isolated location; alas we pulled up to find a car ferry terminal within metres of the hotel and a large crowded carpark full of tourist buses and checkin was a small counter next to a bar in a second grassed roof building dominated by a souvenir store. It turned out the hotel was as much a tourist attraction in its own right as a place to stay. Tourists were literally walking into your room to gawk, which probably helped explain why our room was missing the trademark reindeer skin on the bed.
The lack of privacy meant most rooms either looked out onto the carpark, souvenir store or the ferry terminal. We negotiated a room looking south, the only problem with this was that the hot summer sun beat down through the skylight for most of the day, and without any shutters on the skylight the room was an absolute oven and unusable. Relaxing let alone sleep was difficult to come by here.
Food was hit and miss. The breakfast buffet was a small affair. The lunch menu was cafeteria style, although our dinner was one of the best meals we had in Norway. We had pre-arranged a set three course meal. It used local produce and was worth the price as was the view from the terrace straight down the fjord. This setting was made more pleasing as it was 6.30pm and the last of the car ferries and tour buses had departed for the day. For a brief while we could enjoy the hotel in the peaceful setting we expected.

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank TassieTravellers99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2006

This hotel is situated at the end of a most beautiful fjord and can be reached by boat and road. Nearby is the longest road tunnel (over 25kms) and fjord in the world. All very picturesque but miles from anywhere. Only one restaurant and gift shop in the area.
The hotel is a single story building with a grass covered roof and amazing furniture and coverings inside each room. However, the heating system can be overpowering if a resident requests a rise in temperature. the temperature was at least 90C on the first of two nights I stayed there because a tourist insisted on a warmer room and there are only central controls. This means everyone has to suffer the extra heat!
The dinner food was mediocre and the menu very limited - I had not had reindeer burgers before, not do I wish to repeat the experience! The breakfast was much more acceptable.
If you have a choice to stay in Flam or Gudwangen in this area, I would certainly recommend the former - just visit Gudwangen.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Logmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2006

The Gudvangen Fjordtell as a structure is thoroughly well described in another review here, so I will refrain from repetition.

However, what bears repeating is that the town of Gudvangen is very remote feeling. It takes only minutes by car to get to restaurants, shopping, and entertainment, but when you are in Gudvangen, it's all about communing with nature. The Fjordtell is the one and only option for lodging, dining, and shopping (with the exception of the gas station's mini-mart across the river). It's quiet and peaceful here, and it's a perfect place to commune with the surroundings and take in the awesome wonder of it all.

What bears introducing to the previous two postings is:

The grass-roof rooms have music piped in through a universal sound system, and it's a beautiful addition to the atmosphere. Think of Enya floating across the water as low clouds drift silently between mountain peaks. Heavenly.

We loved the skylight in the room that afforded us a beautiful view of the mountain tops and a gorgeous waterfall. Until we found that there was no curtain or blind system for the giant ceiling window, which created some challenging sleeping conditions in a place where it doesn't get dark at night.

We ordered a FjordPass online, which gave us a discount at the hotel and paid for itself many times over. Reservations through Fjord-pass were easy, but be sure to print and carry your reservation confirmation and the pass itself, and show it at both check-in and check-out, or you may be glossed over and charged full price.

The dining at the hotel is a gamble. The buffet breakfast that's included with the room was good with bread, cheese, deli-style meat, cereal, fruit, and make-your-own waffles that were particularly tasty. Dinner, on the other hand, was nothing we recommend. We ate here four nights, for lack of any other options, and of 8 meals tried, only 2 surpassed the unkind definition of "cafeteria food". And the dinner prices were painfully high, even in light of the generally astronomical price of food in Norway. In neighboring towns we ate twice as good for half the price. As is often true, the very things that make a place perfect (peaceful isolation) are also what make it difficult (no other options).

Three photos of our room (#4) are attached to this review.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank sensibility
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Moscow, Russia
27
Reviewed 16 December 2005

Really, you've nothing to do there if you like night life or so. Otherwise, it's definitely a place to visit. Feel yourself a hobbit living in a room with a grass roof. We've had a room with waterfall view - absolutely marvelous. If you want to slow down life pace for a while this is the best place to do that.

Stayed: May 2004
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
weston super mare, england
113
Reviewed 1 June 2004

I went to Gudvangen in august 2003. I went on my own. The idea was to do some walking and use the hotel as a base. The hotel itself is down along a road through part of the village. The other part is on the other side of the main road and river which feeds into the fjord. The hotel is arranged into three seperate buildings, with another building housing self-catering type rooms. One building is a gift shop which is a bit pricey. building two is the main reception, restaurant, bar, and another gift shop. The third building is the rooms. This is built in a hexagon shape and has twelve rooms, all identical. All the furniture is made out of pine and is very comfy. You need to know rock climbing to get in and out of the bed though as there are four sides to it and high ones at that. but it's not a double bed, but two singles pushed together. There's plenty of room and you get a skylight in the roof. The room i had faced the river, the rest of the village, petrol station (which has a small supermarket) and mountains with several narrow waterfalls going down them. there is no tv, radio or english langauge newspapers. You are more or less cut off from everything. the restaurant sells a limited menu but you won't starve. The breakfast is lovely and you make your own waffles. You can catch a ferry from there to go to flam to go on the train that goes up the mountain. It's all timed so that when you come back down again, the ferry is waiting to take you back to gudvangen. there are several walks you can do and there's activities as well. you can, if you're lucky, see seals swimming in the water in the early evenings. so, if you're after peace, quiet, no partying, no nightlife, no entertainment of any sort, then this is the place for you. if not, you'll be bored stiiff after day one. i went for four days and i loved it. the staff were friendly and made you feel welcome. so go there if you want to recharge your batteries or use it for one night while hiking.

13  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gudvangen
11.7 mi away
Vangsgaarden
Vangsgaarden
#3 of 8 in Aurland Municipality
205 reviews
9.3 mi away
Flamsbrygga Hotell
11.8 mi away
Aurland Fjordhotel
Aurland Fjordhotel
#7 of 8 in Aurland Municipality
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Fretheim Hotel
Fretheim Hotel
#2 of 4 in Flam
870 reviews
6.2 mi away
Stalheim Hotel
Stalheim Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stalheim
375 reviews
22 mi away
Hardanger Gjestehus
Hardanger Gjestehus
#1 of 2 in Ulvik
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gudvangen Fjordtell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gudvangen Fjordtell

Address: Gudvangen Fjordtell, Gudvangen 5747, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Sogn og Fjordane > Aurland Municipality > Gudvangen
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gudvangen
Price Range: £66 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Gudvangen Fjordtell 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Gudvangen Fjordtell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gudvangen Fjordtell Hotel Gudvangen
Gudvangen Fjordtell Western Fjords

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing